We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kisiwa House to your Saves list
Kisiwa House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Kisiwa House is a beautiful little boutique hotel in a central location in StoneTown. We spent only 1 night at the hotel, but we would have gladly stayed longer if we had the time. The staff is very friendly and courteous. We were greeted with a mango/kiwi milk drink while we checked in. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The decor is beautiful and calming. The dining area is on the top floor, both indoor and outdoor. We had three meals at this hotel and we enjoyed each one. The hotel was not very busy when we travelled (during off season) and so we received very personal service. The hotel is an old house and so it does not have an elevator. This was not a problem for us however, could be a problem for those unable to climb several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    61
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
132
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed three nights. The staff was fantastic and gave us recommendations and made us feel very comfortable. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was fantastic and filling. The view from the restaurant is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities we needed. We always felt safe and never had problems with the street touts. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed two nights on way back from beach holiday at Sunshine Hotel, Mtemwe (also recommended). A friendly reception... staff and manager, Cheherazadhe, very helpful.
Beautiful big room and large bathroom with free standing bath and separate shower. Good free internet.
Really well laid out floors... between stairs large lounge areas with two/three rooms on each leading to restaurant/breakfast room on roof. All in dark wood and beautifully decorated... coffee lounge on ground floor with peaceful trickling fountain. Lovely.
Hotel perfectly situated for best restaurants, Secure ATM round the corner and best placed for sunset views nearby.
Booked Kisiwa when Zanzibar Coffee House full. Walked across to Coffee House to check it out. In a rougher part of the town and not the quality of Kisiwa... a cheaper hotel so possibly ok for the price... coffee great but lots of flies. Best, cheaper alternative I would suggest Temba House Hotel.... HOWEVER for a relaxing, quality stay you can't beat the KISIWA.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

An absolute amazing hotel!! The service, location and comfort were beyond my highest expectations. I truly perfect place that is centrally located, walking distance, to venture out into Stonetown. A cozy, warm and simply delightful hotel. The rooms were large with a big bed, super comfortable pillows which ensured us a very restful sleep. The morning breakfast was wonderful with nice view of the ocean. A must consider place, if your lucky to get a room as this hotel will surely be one of the finest most sought after hotels in Stonetown. We will definitely return!! The staff and manager are professional and very accommodating. I cannot give this place any higher recommendation then simply PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kisiwa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.