We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without hesitations, the best experience on Zanzibar!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kisiwa House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kisiwa House to your Saves list
Kisiwa House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Without hesitations, the best experience on Zanzibar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

amazing arabic style hotel, 170 years old in a pure zanzibari style, tastefully furnished, very clean and tidy, very professional and helpfull staff, great roof restaurant under stars, super good food!!! I recommend it without any hesitations!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    59
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
128
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Kisiwa house for two nights at the end of our honeymoon. We loved it, our room was huge and looked out onto stone town. The bathroom was really nice and the bed was the most comfortable we slept on in our two weeks in Tanzania. The hotel staff were nice and helpful and the Internet was fast and included with the room for free. We found the building amazing, built in 1830 and renovated in recent years you could really feel the history in the architecture.

Kisiwa hotel is located close to the Africa house hotel, try going over for a cocktail at sunset! Really beautiful

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights on business and was a great place for business when on Zanzibar as close to all the companies based there. I was recommened by a business associate in Kenya and the GM o fthe highest rated hotel on Zanibar - Essque Zalu, which was a great recommendation.

The rooms are in a local style and with 11 rooms it was more of a family feel, with all the staff bieng very friendly and helpful.

If your staying in Stone Town this is your best option as others are very highly priced, though at high season rates this hotel is not cheap.

Roof top restuarant a nice place and the food was good.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room, but be wary of some of the steps ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Kisiwa House after a five camp 14 day trip in Kenya and Tanzania. This was the perfect place to wind down after two weeks in the bush. We generally prefer boutique hotels. This was the perfect size. The decor and furnishings in the common areas and the rooms are first quality. Zanzibar is pretty hot and humid so the air conditioner was very welcome during mid day. The food at the roof top restaurant was very good and,compared to some of the other places we ate, very reasonably priced. Be sure to get the grilled lobster. The staff was very friendly and gave us great service. My only complaint (and to some this might be a plus) was that the WIFI was anemic at times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had a choice of a few hotels around Stone Town and after much contemplation I elected to stay at Kisiwa house, and I am really glad I did. Since then I have been back another time, and on both occasions, I felt very well looked after. This charming boutique hotel, conveniently located in the heart of stone town, would make a lovely setting for a honeymoon stay, if that's what you're looking for.
I went here on holiday(s) and stayed for about a week, all the food at the hotel was fantastic with a fine selection of local food too (breakfast, lunch and dinner). The rooms are a good size and very clean. The staff was exceptional, not only very welcoming but would go out of their way to assist you and make you feel comfortable.
I recommended it to a friend and they had a very similar experience, so I would definitely recommend it to anyone again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the best hotels in Zanzibar. Excellent food, excellent staffs and superb location right in the historic world heritage city of stone town.

I was lucky to spend my honeymoon in this beautiful boutique hotel with a five star services especially from the most helpful members of staffs. Amazing rooms with scenic veiws over the narrow streets of stone town, cosy with all the comfy of modern technology, the real experience of dozing off the sumer in the heart of Zanzibar.

My favourite part of this extraordinary hotel is the roof top restaurant, it felt like standing on top of a mountain overlooking the beautifull stone town, magnificent sunset and the tranquil indian ocean.

It is the place to be and would definetely be back. Thank you Kisiwa House.

Room Tip: The Malkia suits number 10, highly recomended with its standing bath and luxury bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and I honestly had one of the most memorable times in Zanzibar. The Staff and management where amazing and the food and accomodations were spot on. We and my wife came here on our honeymoon and its something that will stay with us for the rest of our lives. Thank you Kisiwa House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kisiwa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kisiwa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.