We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zenji Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zenji Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zenji Hotel
Malawi St, opp Cine Afrique | P.O. Box 661, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WIFI
Ranked #3 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Kinshasa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked for 3 nights and atayed here in Zenji Hotel in Stone Town and I found the place very good. The staff were very helpful and ready to help about any thing. Chris, Alex and Irene were always attentive to listen and get feed back from us. I was very happy, there is nothing requested that we were not given or helped to. The rooms are large, clean all with A/C working at all time. All the beds with mosquitos nets. If I am to go back in Zanzibar as it is the case in September I will not hesitate to go back and stay in Zenji Hotel. I could walk on foot up to the FOROZANI, the food market, BOWANI dancing club and big market DARAJANI where We could find every thing we wanted. I mean the Hotel is at a very good location. I would like to point 3 things that Iwas not happy for:

- There was no T.V in all the rooms we occupied as It is the case a some other Hotels I stayed in IN OTHER CITIES Iwasw coming from,
- They could put a telephone line in the rooms the conatc the reception at any time. It could help not taking stairs every time there is need.
- The Hotel Boutique is very poor. No T-Shirt, cape, clothes or any thing with Zanzibar mention on it or in Tanzania country colors to keep and show the souvenir from Zanzibar.

In over all Zenji Hotel is agood place to stay in Zanzibar Stone town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    100
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
142
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHERRY HILL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Zenji provides very clean rooms with creative touches such as towel artwork and hibiscus flowers. The staff are very friendly and welcome guests with hibiscus drinks. The breakfast is delicious and cheerfully served. It offers good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights and enjoyed my stay. Excellent value compared to what you get elsewhere in Stone town for that price. Rooms spotless, adequately-sized and have a bit of character. Really tasty coffee with your breakfast and the cafe next door isn't bad either. Staff are all really accommodating/cheery and when I left my Kindle they called the taxi driver to come back. Highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
台灣台北
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

裝潢很有特色,1001 nights 的房間寬敞舒適乾淨,有空調;陽台可以欣賞街景。飯店位置不是 Stone Town 的飯店區,觀光客比較少,有機會體驗當地生活,但要小心安全。

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Super friendly staff and owner. Great location, even though you can walk across Stonetowne in less 30 minutes so it is very easy to get around. Beautiful rooms, very clean. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay attention that some rooms share a common bathroom. But even those were very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2012. It was our first hotel on our first trip to Zanzibar and we were made to feel most welcome. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rooms beautifully decorated. The hotel is an easy walk to the port and the market. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely sitting on the front terrace watching the world go by.

Room Tip: It's on a busy road, so upper floors or side rooms probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've spent over 30 nights at Zenji spanning two trips. It is an excellent hotel for those not wanting to pay over the odds. Quirky while feeling very much Zanzibari, there is so much to admire about this place. Friendly and helpful staff, good clean rooms, fast internet which was very recently upgraded and a nice cafe (with their famous chocolate brownies!) to watch the world go by on the busy Malindi street. Perhaps that is the one downside - it is a busy area so you can hear quite a bit of noise first thing in the morning. Small price to pay and it adds to the atmosphere. Breakfasts are delicious and almost everyone I met at breakfast had a comment about the superb pineapple and vanilla jam. If you want a good, affordable Stone Town experience then do Zenji.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zenji Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenji Hotel

Address: Malawi St, opp Cine Afrique | P.O. Box 661, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened, in the middle of bustling StoneTown, ZenjiHotel welcomes guests for a relaxing stay on the rooftop or in one of the 9 authentic rooms (all with fan and a.c., some with balcony). All rooms have a different atmosphere referring to the rich Zanzibar heritage and culture. The breakfast, including homemade bread and jams, fruit juice, fresh fruit, different types of tea and real espresso coffee, is served on the rooftop from which you have a beautiful view over Stone Town and the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Zenji Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenji Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zenji Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.