We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming rooms. Friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zenji Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zenji Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zenji Hotel
Malawi St, opp Cine Afrique | P.O. Box 661, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WIFI
Ranked #3 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming rooms. Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and would have stayed longer but they were booked up the next 2 nights. We stayed in the Treasure Chamber room which has a shared bath. The room has beautiful traditional furniture, a good bug net, and a good air conditioner. There was some road noise at night although it didn't really bother us -- I finally realized that what we were hearing was the trucks carrying cargo containers past our window as they unloaded a container ship in the harbor nearby.
The rooftop cafe is a comfortable place to hang out. We didn't try the downstairs cafe. Breakfast was good with excellent spice tea. We couldn't get wi fi in the room but it's available at the roof top.
The staff is friendly and helpful. We booked the sunset cultural tour through the hotel and had an amazing experience -- our young guide took us through the streets of old town and through the market. Then we watched the sunset from the roof of a high rise apartment building. Then he took us by dala dala to his home neighborhood where we had dinner cooked by his family in his traditional stone house. Finally, we went to his mosque and joined in with their dancing and drumming. Definitely not your typical touristy tour.

Room Tip: We saved quite a bit of money by opting for the shared bathroom. It was close by and we never had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    100
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
142
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The rooms here are comfortable, charming amd clean. They all have a different name (I believe ours was treasure chamber) and cute balconies. Ours had a common bathroom and it was fine.
The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast buffet was good (typical with fruit, eggs, bread, juice).
Overall we had a great 2 night stay. I will say, however, that I disliked the fact you had to walk down a dark very shady looking street to get to the pier area, but this is only at night. During the day the street is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really superb room. It was spacious and well appointed. Very clean and the bathroom was quite nice as well. The help was great and the cafe downstairs was awesome. The rooftop dining area was quite nice as well. The location was great for getting around Stone Town and the tours they offered were well done (did the spice tour package).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is located far from the center of Stone Town's tourist life, so you usually end up walking along dark streets next to the port of Stone Town, an area famous for crime. Streets are filled with shady-looking characters so you're in for a bit of a scare in the evening.

Rooms are small, lacking enough furniture. Bathrooms don't have separate doors. Ceilings are ridiculously low, fans are even lower so bring enough bandages to wrap up your fingers when you get cut by the blades (you will, eventually forget about them).

Breakfasts are ok, up on the terrace, and the staff is really friendly. These two must be pretty much the only good things about this place. I'd skip this one next time. You can find a better place easily with a little more money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZenjiHotel, Owner at Zenji Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review. I feel however, I would really like to comment on your story as it seems like you did not stay at Zenji at all? Zenji Hotel is only a 5 to 7 minutes walk to Forodhani Gardens, which is the central place in Stone Town. The main road to Zenji is very safe as you can not get lost in the small narrow streets of Stone Town and there is streetlight. We did not hear of anyone got problems when walking back to Zenji!

Our ceilings are high and besides air conditioning we have ceiling fans, but you will never be able to touch them…..

It is a shame to read this kind of comment as it is not the truth and we honestly do not understand why you should write something like this. I’m very happy we have many many other guests who think differently about it!

Best wishes,
Anneloes and the Zenji Team
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January over our birthday weekend.

We stayed in the jasmine room after reviews here said it was quiter. Def agree that quite it is to the back and was never woken by noise on any night.

Room facilities where great. Mosie nets where excellent and better than we saw in other places. Air on worked perfectly and room cooled very quickly and it was fairly quite in operation. Lots of hot water and this room has a large shower area. Had not been aware there where safes in the room till our arrival that was a bonus.

Breakfast on the rood was lovely and there was a nice selection.

As it was our birthday the hotel receptionist was so kind and gave me a gift of a necklace which she had made. It was a really nice touch. We also where able to chill a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate with later on the roof all be it out off tumblers!

Wifi was a bit on off but it seemed to be like that all over just the joys of Africa.

Would recommend this as a place to stay in stown town ferry close to the ferry we walked in less than five minuets and very easy to find. We ate at the gardens at night and walked home. It is dark on the walk but zanzibar feels safer than other parts I have travelled.

Room Tip: Sent of jasmine was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersfoort
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Friendly and helpfull staff, a small but clean room with good matrass and good location in the city. That was all I needed for my first two nights on Zanzibar. And good coffee at the cafe downstairs! Wifi didn't work that well, but thats quit normal for Zanzibar. I was not really keen on the breakfast, but overal it was really good and would stay there again if I ever go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed at Zenji and felt very welcome and home. The rooms are nicely decorated, simple but clean with small little details. The tours are well organized and the staff very friendly. The breakfast on the rooftop is delicious. Overall: perfect place to stay while in Stone Town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zenji Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenji Hotel

Address: Malawi St, opp Cine Afrique | P.O. Box 661, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened, in the middle of bustling StoneTown, ZenjiHotel welcomes guests for a relaxing stay on the rooftop or in one of the 9 authentic rooms (all with fan and a.c., some with balcony). All rooms have a different atmosphere referring to the rich Zanzibar heritage and culture. The breakfast, including homemade bread and jams, fruit juice, fresh fruit, different types of tea and real espresso coffee, is served on the rooftop from which you have a beautiful view over Stone Town and the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Zenji Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenji Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zenji Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.