We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, okay location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, okay location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Warere is a truly lovely place to stay. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable, and staff are very welcoming upon arrival (including welcome drink). Breakfast is offered on the roof which is very nice. Warere is a 5-10 minute walk outside of the central part of Stone Town, and the walk at night can be a bit dark, but we didn't have any problems. Overall, a really excellent accomodation

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    87
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
94
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our family stayed here for just one night but we found it to be a wonderful accommodation for us. Upon arrival and throughout our stay the receptionist was especially friendly and welcoming-exceeding our expectations. All of the staff proved to be very helpful and nice. For the price, the hotel proved to be excellent. With a clean room and bathroom, relatively good location and a nice breakfast with a beautiful view of the city and harbour. The location was nice because it right near the ferry and quite close to the airport. At the same time, it was also near to nice dinner options and only a short walk from the city. With luggage the hotel was extremely easy to access because it was almost right off the main road. I would highly recommend staying at this location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room on the third floor which had a double bed and two singles, a small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My friend, her mother and I stayed at the guest house for 2 nights on our way back from Jambiani and found it to be a pleasant place to stay. The rooms were quite small for 3 people and the ensuite 'bathroom' had no door, it was just behind a curtain. I would have been happier not having the ensuite and using a bathroom down the hall.

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and everyone we met there had a smile and a nice word for us. We didn't have a problem with anyone in the area per se but the dock area isn't the most comfortable area to be walking around at night. This was a small thing though that didn't spoil our stay at all.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite narrow and the beds are quite high. This may come into consideration for larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Richard K,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere.

I wish the person who made your reservation had taken the time to explain that it was two friends travelling with an older person as I would have certainly made sure you had the larger room on the lower floor with three separate beds. These rooms do have bathrooms with doors (only 2 rooms don't have doors).

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and hospitable.

Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have stayed at Warere twice now, in June 2013 for a few nights and in June 2014 for two nights. In 2013 we got a room with a balcony, and in 2014 we opted for the more basic economy room. The balcony room was very spacious with a lovely bathroom and of course the balcony. The economy room was quite small, but the bed was very comfortable, so we didn't mind the size at all. We like Warere because it is affordable, clean, comfortable, feels typically Zanzibari, the staff are delightful, and breakfast on the roof terrace is yummy. The location near the port feels a bit sketchy at night, but it is still close to everything and peaceful at all hours. If we're ever in Stonetown again, we will choose to stay again at Warere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of the best feelings of my life will forever be the cold wet cloth on my face that greeted us along with cold drinks when we arrived at Warere Townhouse. After the long hot grimy trip to get to Stone Town, it was truly bliss.
Warere was quite good for the price, with clean rooms and good service. We were met and picked up at the ferry terminal and walked 5 minutes (through dense traffic at Molindi circle) to the hotel. After the aforementioned cold cloth and drinks we had to wait an hour or so before grtting into our room at 10:30am, but spent the time on the lovely rooftop (with excellent views of Stone Town) where a quite nice breakfast is provided each morning.
Our room had functioning A/C and an electronic safe; the wifi worked but was at times spotty in the room and best accessed in the hallway or on the roof. Mosquito nets and furniture in good condition, though our room was a bit tight on space. Bathroom was fine (scented soap provided but don't expect any other toiletries), hot water has to be turned on well in advance of use to last a whole shower.
The front desk was extremely helpful, booking dinner reservations in advance for us as well as a large variety of Zanzibar activities on arrival (well priced, I should add). We had a nice tour of Stone Town one morning, and a Spice Tour the next day (beware of being asked by the tour guides to pay twice however!), left us wishing we had more time to do more.

Only a couple negatives keeping from 5 stars; located on the main road from the harbor and ferry terminal, Warere is about two or three blocks outside of the standard limits of touristy Stone Town. At night those two extra blocks make a big difference, as the easy 10 minute walk back from the Forodhani Gardens night market passes through some poorly lit sections of seedy territory around the ferry terminal that can make one nervous. Almost all restaurants will offer you a guide to accompany you home however, should you feel nervous walking or navigating the confusing streets at night, and that can make the extra distance manageable.

I also have to take off half a star because when we arranged a car to our next hotel through Warere, their driver hit a bicycle in the middle of the road on the way (the rider escaped unscathed)!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi CGreen_rugger, thank you for your detailed review of the Warere!

We are glad you enjoyed our cool face clothes at reception, just what is needed after traipsing through the streets of Stone Town! We are also glad you enjoyed our free breakfast on the rooftop!

Indeed, wifi internet at the Warere is a free service, but it is best accessed in the public areas, although it does work in some rooms.

We are sorry you found the the location a bit far from the city centre. The walk back is very easy, so one doesn't get lost in the alleys as can happen with more central hotels. We can easily send a taxi to meet guests if they give us a call, and the ride is only $2

I have had a word with the driver who was driving during the incident you mentioned. We do apologise for any distress this may have caused.

We hope you had an enjoyable holiday on Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Warere Town House
I spent 4 nights here & found it charming & pleasant. Being a female on my own, initially I was concerned about the 10 minute walk from Stone Town at night along the waterfront but I soon realized that was not a problem. Warere House is very clean, has extremely pleasant staff & I felt very much at home. The only negative was that World Cup is on and they didn't have a TV, although they do have wi-fi. I soon found many great eating venues with large flat screen TVs.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi JRogers70,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere! Apologies for there being no tv during the world cup, but I am glad this offered the opportunity to sample some lovely Zanzibari restaurants with the excuse of watching the matches!

Thank you fro your kind words towards our staff, they always appreciate it.

We are particularly glad you didn't find the location problematic as a single woman.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

2 nights at warere, friendly and helpful staff, rooms comfortable although the beds were a little high for me, then again I am quite short, showers could be better. Excellent wi fi Breakfast superb, sets you up for the day, the first place that I'd had avocado mixed into a fruit juice, delicious. Location is great, Stonetown is small,most places are less than a 15 minute walk away.recommended for a short stay in Stonetown, good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Susan J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Thank you for your comment about the showers, we have just changed them all this week, so that problem is sorted!

We are glad you enjoyed our hearty breakfast and that you found the location of the Warere ideal.

Karibuni tena when you are next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.