We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Save Saved
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Warere was fantastic, the staff are really helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the upstairs balcony is great for kicking off with brekky or finishing with a couple of beers. The location is right near the port so is great if you want easy access to/from the ferry. I would've preferred somewhere a little further south, around Baghani, and we flew in so no real advantage for us, but that's about the only downside to this place (and isn't one if you want to be close to the port), and the rest of town is only a few minutes walk, 5min maybe to Forodhani Gardens, so it's no big deal really. Couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Trevor,

Thank you for reviewing us! Karibuni tena next time you are in Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    81
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
84
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This guesthouse is very lovely and the staff are helpful and friendly. We organised a few different tours through the front desk and found them to be excellent. Our room was wonderful and had a little balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast up on the roof terrace and the omelettes are very tasty. This hotel is very handy and is right across from the ferry terminal and just down the road from the Freddie Mercury Restaurant. It is about a 10 minute walk right into the heart of stone town so it is in a very quiet location, out of the hustle and bustle of the main town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of coming to Stone Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Apatosaurus,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere and for your positive comments. karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Warere for one night.
Booking by email was fast and easy
The staff were super friendly and helpful, and gave us good recommendations
The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable (we stayed at the double room with the small terrace at the third floor) and there is a small rooftop terrace, good for having a beer at the evening or for the nice breakfast in the morning.
The hotel is located near the port, a short 5 min walk from the market and the allies of stone town
Great value for money in this area, recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Dana_te,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms are small and basic, but the guest house provides excellent value for money for a few nights' stay. The location is good for the port, and it's only a ten minute walk to the attractions of Stone Town. Breakfast is limited in its choices, but more than adequate. The manager was really kind in allowing us to return over a week later to leave our luggage whilst we spent our last few hours in the town; he even provided towels for us to shower and refresh before out flight.

Room Tip: A great place to stay for a few nights, but it might be cramped for longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tom L L,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time book a balcony room, spacious and sunny and decidedly not cramped!

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booking by email was efficient and helpful, as were Georgio and all the other staff whilst we were there. It was very clean, everything works, including the quiet fan and A/C. Fully support all other positive comments and definitely reccomend Warere. We stayed one night in a large room (Room 18) and 2 in a smaller room; both were excellentg, but I'd definitely recommend paying the extra for the larger room if you can as that gave us a fridge, safe and balcony, as well as much more space. Both the rooms were quiet at night. Staff were great at helping to organise trips and were genuinely helpful - we got stuck in Zanzibar when JKIA Nairobi caught fire and although Warere was full so couln't accommodate us, they allowed us to store our luggage there whilst we found accommodation and Georgio even helped carry our bags to the other place - that's how helpful they are.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi alantheyorkie

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we really appreciate them! Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this hotel! From the time we reserved (I simply sent an email) we felt we were in safe hands - as our questions were answered immediately. We were met at the airport and transferred for free to the hotel to be greeted with cold towels and a fresh fruit drink. The lovely manager, Giorgio, was very anxious when we arrived as we had booked 2 rooms but only 1 was available as there had been a plumbing problem which could not be fixed during Eid. The 4 of us ended up in the family room at a discounted price which suited us just fine - it had large, comfortable beds and a tiny but lovely balcony, a great big shower, a safe, cold water bottles for us all and a great rooftop area for breakfast or evening drinks (there is an honesty bar so you just help yourself and mark it off in the book). Breakfast is basic but we wanted to head off into town every morning to a coffee house for drinks and snacks anyway.
Giorgio organised a tour guide to collect us at a time of our choosing and I would highly recommend this as a way of really getting some understanding of Stone Town - the guide was great and happily took us to the food market and places of worship.
All of the staff were delightful - Giorgio in particular - looking after our luggage until we were ready to leave, organising our onward taxi (at a discounted rate!) - what a great place. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: If you are a group of 4 the family room is great and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi squashballs,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Apologies again for the inconvenience with the plumbing, but I am glad it all worked out in the end. Good to know you enjoyed your Stone Town Tour and like the guide, it is always nice to get feedback like this for external operators.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'd only been in Warere for about 5 minutes when I began mentally reorganizing my trip so I could come back for another night (unfortunately I never did because they were deservedly fully booked).

It's a lovely little building with red polished concrete floors, really nice local style furnishings (especially the use of typical Swahili fabric prints) and an excellent welcome in the form of a cool damp washcloth and glass of juice. I was surprised by this given it's such a reasonably priced hotel but in every respect Warere exceeds expectations. The staff, especially the manager Giorgio, were extremely helpful - providing a very useful map and information on
Stone Town which was particularly reassuring for me as a lone female traveller. There are also some handy tips provided in the room. Other things that I didn't expect but which made things so much better were a safe in the room, good free wifi and a shuttle to my next destination in Kendwa for $10 (a taxi would be $40).

Others have said they found the rooms a little small - I had a double (Room 20, for $50) which was certainly spacious enough for one with a big bed (firm but comfortable) and should be fine for a couple too. I really liked its quirky semi-open bathroom and the lovely balcony overlooking the front garden. There's also a rooftop where breakfast is served and you can have a drink at night (also good if you're a woman by yourself and don't want to be out after dark but don't want to be stuck in your room either!). Finally, this hotel is particularly convenient if you arrive by ferry as it's less than 5 minutes walk away - just turn left out of the terminal and head straight down the road until you see a roundabout. Warere is down the turning marked for Bandari Inn (wind round to your right and then left up the side of the Princess Salme Inn).

Room Tip: Room 20 is a lovely double room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Pgnacht,

Thank you for your lovely review! I just want to point out that room 20 is one of our balcony rooms, and the price is $50 for single occupancy, it is a bit more expensive for double occupancy ($65 for 2013). I am glad you enjoyed our rooftop breakfast and that you found our room packet handy. Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.