We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Stone Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Save Saved
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Stone Town
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Stone Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pro:
- Room was spotlessly clean
- Shower had hot water
- Clean fluffy towels provided
- Good mosquito net (though there were no mozzies in my room)
- Nice soap provided
- Fan and air conditioning in the room
- Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, they speak excellent English and can help with taxis/ tours etc
- Hotel arranged for me to be picked up at the airport, this was seamless and not expensive ($10)
- Credit card payment available with 5% charge, this was handy as I was nearly out of cash

Con:
- Whatever way the plumbing/ walls are done, you can hear your neighbours when they're in the loo. Not very pleasant when your neighbour has diarrhoea.
- There are signs up saying you can have dinner in the hotel if you order in the afternoon, however they wouldn't cook for me as I was the only one who wanted dinner. As a female travelling on my own I would have preferred to eat in the hotel at night rather than walk to a restaurant on my own in the dark.
- Apparently you are not allowed smoke on the roof terrace - even though it's on the roof!
- Rooms are fairly small but the price makes it okay

Overall I enjoyed staying here and I would consider it next time I go back to Stone Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Holidayfan2010, thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you appreciated the little touches such as our lovely soaps in the bathroom and our new fluffy towels! I wanted to address your concerns:

1) We are aware of the problem with the plumbing in the bathroom and we will be fixing this in May when we undergo minor renovations.
2) We offer an affordable dinner option ($10 for a main, dessert and a drink), but unfortunately we have found that cooking for only one person ends up costing us more than the price of dinner, so we have had to put a minimum 2 person limit on dinner.
3) Smoking on the terrace is allowed, this must have been a misunderstanding!
4) We also have large rooms with balcony which are slightly more expensive but are much more spacious!

Karibu tena when you are next in Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    83
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
86
37
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for couple of nights before heading to the east of Zanzibar. The room was great (room 15), but be aware that you can hear your neighbours when they're in the bathroom.
It is well located close to the harbour and the old town. The night food market is just 5min walk.
The staff is helpful and very nice. They can easily arrange for your transfers or transport needs.
And the rooftop terrace seals the deal. Great to have breakfast and great to relax in the evening having a cold beer in your hand.
Worth staying in, great value, recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Wand1981! Thank you for reviewing the Warere! We are aware of the issue with the bathroom sounds and we will be fixing this during the month of May when we will be carrying out minor renovations. Otherwise I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Karibuni Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and would heartily recommend it. The hotel is handily placed for the ferry terminal (make sure you get instructions for the short walk, though!). It has a lot of character and though the rooms are small, a good deal of effort has gone into making them comfortable and clean. The staff are very helpful, there is a nice eating area on the roof of the hotel, and it is very reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Frank, thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spend six nights at Warere Town House, and it was all I hoped for. Perfectly situated right next to the harbour, and still a little off the beaten track. The staff was very welcoming and I felt safe and comfortable at once.
I very much enjoyed having a small balcony, facing the yard with palms, flowers, and people passing by. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a nice and affordable accommodation in Stone Town.

Room Tip: There is reduced prices, for doubles used as singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Harderpix, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, our in room balcony, although it doesn't have a sea view, is a perfect place to chill and watch island life go by! Indeed we offer a single rate for our balcony rooms, but only on direct email bookings. Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was really the perfect choice to pick this hotel in Stone town.
I was there with the entire family (parents and my 2 brothers) .
We booked 3 rooms one close to the other.
The location is great (5 min walk from the ferry,10 min from town center). Ropm clean, service perfect, all so friendly. I strongly reccomand the place. Pick a room with balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Aurdipas, thank you for reviewing us! I am glad you enjoyed the balcony room. I am sure we will be seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days at the start of our Zanzibar trip and another night at the end. We were very happy with the great value. We had a triple room with a balcony and the beds were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful, arranging a city tour, spice tour and snorkeling excursion for us, as well as airport transfers at very reasonable prices. Breakfast was basic, but sufficient. We thought the location worked really well. Recommend this place if you want a comfortable and affordable option in Stone Town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Lovemusic, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Warere safe, clean and ideally located. We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Warere Town House for one night and I gotta say you get a lot of value for little money compared to many other places we’ve been to. The staff is helpful and friendly; the rooms look really neat, are clean and have air conditioning which is a good thing to have in Stonetown. The breakfast is basic but tasty. They have an honour/self service bar and reasonable prices. Furthermore, you will find a “public” shower/ toilet within the Hotel, so if you check out, but want to stay in town for the afternoon and leave your luggage, you can do this and even take a shover before going to the airport.

100% recommendable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Matthias, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found we offered good value for money. Thank you for mentioning the public shower/toilet where guests who have checked out can freshen up before catching their onward evening flight. Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.