We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Save Saved
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Magdeburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Warere Town House for one night and I gotta say you get a lot of value for little money compared to many other places we’ve been to. The staff is helpful and friendly; the rooms look really neat, are clean and have air conditioning which is a good thing to have in Stonetown. The breakfast is basic but tasty. They have an honour/self service bar and reasonable prices. Furthermore, you will find a “public” shower/ toilet within the Hotel, so if you check out, but want to stay in town for the afternoon and leave your luggage, you can do this and even take a shover before going to the airport.

100% recommendable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Matthias, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found we offered good value for money. Thank you for mentioning the public shower/toilet where guests who have checked out can freshen up before catching their onward evening flight. Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
78
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at Warere for 3 nights whilst visiting Zanzibar. The rooms are clean, spacious and very charming. Compared to alot of the other hotels its exceptionally good value. The staff are friendly, accomodating and very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending us JimmyJ! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at Warere four night during my two weeks trip to Zanzibar at the beginning, in the middle and at The end o my travel.

I have only positive things to say about the place. Prices are great ($35 for single, $65 for a large double). Staff friendly and helpful eager to help with everything and make all the arrangements requested. There was an initial problem with AC in our room which was fixed immediately. The place is clean, the beds comfortable and the rooms spacious. Cute locally made clove-soaps in the bathroom. Nice breakfast served on the roof-top terrace.

There was no problem with us storing some of our luggage and winter clothes in their office for many days while we were travelling around the island. They accept credit cards which is not standard in Zanzibar. WiFi works great.

Only downside is the entrance (don’t be intimidated) as there is no gate nor pathway leading to the hotel and you have to squeeze between the other buildings fences to get in. Once you enter the hotel – everything is great.

The Malindi district of Stone Town where the place is located is only about 10 minutes walk to the very centre of Stone Town. It’s harbor area populated mostly by locals and can seem a bit shaggy in the beginning, but we felt safe and comfortable walking to the centre even at night. I will recommend the place to my friends and would definitely stay there again while traveling to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Redsnapper, I am so glad you had a perfect stay at the Warere! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Warere Town House was a wonderful place to stay for the three nights we were in Stonetown! The rooms are stylishly decorated with traditional finishes, especially the more spacious balcony rooms, and absolute value for money. I commend the friendly and organised staff, who arranged a Spice Tour and transfers for us at very good prices. The breakfast of bread, fruit and eggs was a great way to start the day, and the restaurant area on the top of the building was perfect to escape from the heat every now and again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
HI CourtneyB,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Karibuni tena when you are next in Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Spacious and stylish rooms. We had a balcony room and I would reccomend this option. The bathroom was very nice and included a lovely shower with seating area. Effective mosquito net - unlike some places we stayed! Fans are very efficient and room was a good temperature. Lovely touches around the place such as local art and wooden carvings.
Breakfasts were lovely and so nice to have them on the roof terrace which had great views. Reception staff were very helpful and so friendly. Trips offered by the hotel were the best value we saw of anywhere we stayed on the island. We went to turtle island with the hotel and it was a great day out - our guide was super.
Location wise it is a few minutes walk from the very centre but Stone Town is a very small place and you are at all the key sites in less than 5 minutes. It also has the added bonus of being only a minute or two from the ferry port - but is just off the main street so feels quiet and calm.
Best of all it is excellent value for money. Very good price. I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I were to return to Stonetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Hcb81, good to hear we are stylish ;) thank you for the great review. Reception staff work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable, I'm glad they could help you organise your trips on the island. Karibuni Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Warere Town House was an excellent place to stay. In the middle of Stown Town, within 5 minutes from the ferry and with an exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful staff. I stayed there for 5 days around Christmas 2012 and I felt looked after and not at all lonely as I was there by myself.
The breakfast served on the terrace were nice, the reception staff were beyond being helpful and after those few days I did feel like I stayed with a good friend or a family there.
I will certainly stay there again if I'm ever in Zanzibar and I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Kat, thank you for writing such a lovely review! We are glad you felt at home and enjoyed your Christmas holidays with us. We hope to see you again, Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It has taken me awhile to write this review. I stay often at the Warere and it has truly become a home away from home. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful without being invasive. Although it is off the beaten path, once you get in to the grounds you feel as if you are in a world apart. There is a feeling of freedom and the staff does everything possible to make sure have everything you need to make yourself feel at home. The rooftop has self-serve chips, nuts, icy cold beers, soda and water and a great atmosphere for lounging. They even have options for gluten free snacks which is not often seen in Tanzania!

The overall price can't be beat! We often travel with children so that is important. Moreover, the staff clearly love children. Our little ones can roam free (with extra supervision on the stairs) and we know that any member of the staff will be on the lookout to make sure they are safe. We are always sad when we plan a trip to Zanzibar and the Warere is full since the service elsewhere just can't compare to the warmth and flexibility of the Warere staff.

Room Tip: Room advice- request any of the front rooms on either the 1st or 2nd floors. They have a small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi 616rpm!, thank you for reviewing the Warere! You are right our staff love children and are always on hand to keep an eye out or play reception! We are glad you found our little garden an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the town and trust we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Hotel
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town
Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.