We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures don't do it justice! Stylish spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pictures don't do it justice! Stylish spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. Spacious and stylish rooms. We had a balcony room and I would reccomend this option. The bathroom was very nice and included a lovely shower with seating area. Effective mosquito net - unlike some places we stayed! Fans are very efficient and room was a good temperature. Lovely touches around the place such as local art and wooden carvings.
Breakfasts were lovely and so nice to have them on the roof terrace which had great views. Reception staff were very helpful and so friendly. Trips offered by the hotel were the best value we saw of anywhere we stayed on the island. We went to turtle island with the hotel and it was a great day out - our guide was super.
Location wise it is a few minutes walk from the very centre but Stone Town is a very small place and you are at all the key sites in less than 5 minutes. It also has the added bonus of being only a minute or two from the ferry port - but is just off the main street so feels quiet and calm.
Best of all it is excellent value for money. Very good price. I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I were to return to Stonetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Hcb81, good to hear we are stylish ;) thank you for the great review. Reception staff work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable, I'm glad they could help you organise your trips on the island. Karibuni Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    86
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
91
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Warere Town House was an excellent place to stay. In the middle of Stown Town, within 5 minutes from the ferry and with an exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful staff. I stayed there for 5 days around Christmas 2012 and I felt looked after and not at all lonely as I was there by myself.
The breakfast served on the terrace were nice, the reception staff were beyond being helpful and after those few days I did feel like I stayed with a good friend or a family there.
I will certainly stay there again if I'm ever in Zanzibar and I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Kat, thank you for writing such a lovely review! We are glad you felt at home and enjoyed your Christmas holidays with us. We hope to see you again, Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It has taken me awhile to write this review. I stay often at the Warere and it has truly become a home away from home. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful without being invasive. Although it is off the beaten path, once you get in to the grounds you feel as if you are in a world apart. There is a feeling of freedom and the staff does everything possible to make sure have everything you need to make yourself feel at home. The rooftop has self-serve chips, nuts, icy cold beers, soda and water and a great atmosphere for lounging. They even have options for gluten free snacks which is not often seen in Tanzania!

The overall price can't be beat! We often travel with children so that is important. Moreover, the staff clearly love children. Our little ones can roam free (with extra supervision on the stairs) and we know that any member of the staff will be on the lookout to make sure they are safe. We are always sad when we plan a trip to Zanzibar and the Warere is full since the service elsewhere just can't compare to the warmth and flexibility of the Warere staff.

Room Tip: Room advice- request any of the front rooms on either the 1st or 2nd floors. They have a small balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi 616rpm!, thank you for reviewing the Warere! You are right our staff love children and are always on hand to keep an eye out or play reception! We are glad you found our little garden an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the town and trust we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms are beautiful and very clean. Try and get a room with a balcony. Their free breakfast is also some of the best we had anywhere in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Vinet, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our breakfast! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having stayed in and around Stonetown a few times I did find Warere House a little bit away from the acion. But this can be a good thing, and its definately walking distance. The price is really god and the rooms are spacious and neat. Breakfast was lovely and is served on top in the terrace. The staff are really helpful, we really enjoyed our stay and will return!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get the a room with a balcony, its stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Maryannejane! I am glad you find that the Warere offers great value for money, and that you especially enjoyed one of our four balcony rooms. We do hope to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The path leading to Warere Town House is not the nicest, however when you come out from it it reveals a pretty town house and some friendly staff. Rooms are not incredibly spacious but are big enough and have bathrooms with hot showers. Mosquito nets on all beds and in one of our rooms we had a fridge. The air con and fan kept the rooms nice and cool.

Breakfast consisting of your choice of eggs, bread, pancakes, fruit juice, tea, coffee and fruit is included in the price and served on the roof top terrace with great views of Stone Town and the surrounding area.

The staff were really helpful - they bought our ferry tickets for us to save the hassle of mazungus in the ferry port!!!

I would recommend Warere to anyone looking to stay in Stone town. It is not right in the centre, but about a 10/15 minute walk to the main shops/outdoor food night market. The road is quite dark in places on the walk back so I'd recommend bringing a torch, but it did not feel too unsafe. It is very near the ferry port and so is ideal for anyone coming from the ferry - I'd recommend getting the Kilimanjaro ferry which goes to Dar es salaam and is 1.5 hours if you are looking to get a ferry.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Loretta11 thank you for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the view from our rooftop terrace. Our staff do go out of their way to be as helpful as possible, I'm glad they could save you from the hassles of being a mzungu in Stone Town ;) We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a night here and would highly recommend to everyone.

The place is styled brilliantly with attention to detail being second to none. We were welcomed into our room earlier than check in time and given all necessary information to get the most out of our day in stone town.

Staff are great and I highly recommend eating here. You can order before 2pm and they source the ingredients from the market and then prepare your dinner, which was the best local food we have eaten in Tanzania.

If you stay here do yourself a favour and eat here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you MeanderingMoose for such a great review! I am especially happy you enjoyed our dinner as this is a new service and we have only done it a few times, so I will pass your feedback to the cooking staff for a little encouragement. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.