We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warere Town House

Save Saved
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warere Town House
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place - highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are very glad we chose the Warere Guest House and wished we could have stayed longer than two nights. It's a really atmospheric place, in a central part of town very convenient for the ferry terminal and a short walk from the seafront and its attractions, but peaceful and quiet. There's nothing wrong with the area at all, so please disregard comments saying it isn't as safe as some other parts of the Town.
The building is full of character, but comfort hasn't been sacrificed at all. Our room had a balcony with a view over the garden and the rooftops, two very comfortable beds and a/c which was very welcome. Everything was scrupulously clean. Our only slight grumble was the shower, which although it looked stunning, had a rather poor flow of water generally and one evening dried up altogether while my husband was in it. However, the receptionist downstairs couldn't have been more apologetic and sorted the problem out quickly.
Manager Shauna was a pleasure to deal with, replying to emails with friendliness and promptness, and she coped valiantly with some confusion our end over exactly which dates we were coming.
The staff arranged for us to have a walking tour with a guide at short notice, and we were very pleased with th service.
Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and there is also an honesty bar there for drinks and snacks daytime and evening.
In terms of value for money, we thought it was a really good deal, far superior to some much more expensive places which don't have half the character or the good location.
Best of all, it was my birthday one of the days we were there, and while we were out the staff decorated the room with balloons and flower petals, and left two coconut water drinks ready for us to have a toast. We were both touched and thrilled, and when we thanked the people on reception they looked so pleased that it made things even more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Jan, thank you for writing such a lovely review, it makes all the hard work worthwhile! Sorry about the issue with the water pressure, this sometimes happens when we have no power, we are hoping to install a generator in the next few months so this doesn't happen. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    85
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
88
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here two nights after coming in from Kigali and heading out to Chumbe Island. Kenya Airways failed to deliver our luggage to Zanzibar, so my wife had no gear for a day, and I for three days. The manager and staff helped us retrieve luggage, and directed us as to where we could purchase some supplies to tide us over. In my case, I needed prescription drugs, and staff directed us to a great little pharmacy about 1 km. away that fixed me up. When we were trying to find our way out to the main streets from the hotel, staff guided us there.
We rented an air-conditioned room, and it was quite welcome because the closed windows kept out street noise, and allowed us to wash and dry overnight the only clothes we had.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stone Town.
The only down side was the slowness of breakfast staff to have food out. It seemed they only started to prepare food at the opening hour, rather than have it ready for this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi TorontoAlan, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad we could be of help with the bag issue... I will have a word with the breakfast staff regarding the timing of breakfast. Thank you for pointing this out. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenAhmed
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stone Town is hectic, however just round the corner from the hustle and bustle is this amazing little hotel.

Great room, compact, but with everything that you need, and a team of staff that were amazing! The italian manager was very kind.

We took a walking tour and then switched to a taxi tour, well worth a few dollars each, really got to see the place.

Breakfast was nice, fruit, eggs and bread. Nice coffee and tea.

Honesty bar was a great touch and the roof terrace is a lovely place to have a night cap.

If you are staying in Stone Town - Stay here!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. They were lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi BenAhmed, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our terrace and bar and the lovely view! Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Warere for one night, and had a lovely time. We were picked up from the Ferry and were expecting a car, but the two minute walk didn't really require one!
I had been in phone and email contact with the owner, Shauna, who I sadly never met but was incredibly helpful - we had to change our reservation twice, and we had trouble with ferry tickets, and she was always on the other end of the phone to help. The staff we met were kind and friendly.
The room was a bit cramped, but that's probably because the bed was huge! It took up most of the room, so we didn't have a lot of space for our bags, but the bed was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel - lots of different breads to try, as well as fruit pancakes and cafetiere coffee. And sitting up on the roof you have a view of the sea and a lovely sea breeze.
I'd definitely recommend Warere - for the price you pay you get a huge amount for your money, and you're hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town but only a two minute walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Lou, thank you for writing a review for us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help make your holiday in Zanzibar that little bit more special. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at Warere Guest House for 2 nights on arrival in Stone Town. We were a bit concerned when we pulled up at first through the back entrance in the dark, but we need not have been worried as it is a wonderful hotel and great value for money. We stayed in a 'deluxe' balcony room which had a huge comfortable bed with a mosquito net, fan and air con. The balcony was lovely.

The decor is quite simple and authentic (nothing fancy, but just right!) and the terrace views are fantastic. There is a fridge where you can help yourself to drinks and breakfast is simple, but nice.

It is about a 10 minute walk to Stone Town and Forodhani Gardens (it is safe, just a bit dark!) and the hotel is conveniently located right by the ferry terminal. If you don't want to walk all the way into Stown Town for dinner, Mercury's is very close and is very nice. We didn't eat there but the menu looked good and drinks on the beach terrace were very nice.

So all in all a lovely place and great value for money! Don't expect luxury, but I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Amelie,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I only stayed here one night but would liked to have stayed more. The staff made you feel welcome form the moment you arrived, and were only to happy to offer advice and guidance on things to do and see when asked.
The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. The place felt like it had some character. The roof terrace has lovely views over the north part of Stone town with the sea clearly visible.
Breakfast was great. They made fresh pancakes and omelettes for you along with fresh fruit and tea/coffee. They also have a fridge you can grab a cold beer or drink from anytime (added to your room when you check out).
The only unfortunate thing was that for the first 12 hours they had no electricity and no generator, but this was beyond their control.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Loz-Jones, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Warere. Sorry about the power issues, but as you say this is beyond our control. We are now working on installing emergency lighting for when this happens. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Brilliant place to stay en route to the beaches of Zanzibar. The staff are extremely helpful and were a fantastic help to me and my friend whilst we stayed there. The hotel is reasonably priced and a breakfast of fresh fruit, bread, eggs and crepes is included and served on the roof top terrace providing a great view of Stone Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi Chiara, thank you for reviewing us! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Warere and hope to see you again. Karibuni tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over thirty years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself in making your stay on our spice island memorable.The Warere has been newly renovated to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Come relax with a cold drink on our rooftop after taking in the sites of Stone Town. Enjoy the comfort of your traditionally decorated room while using our free wi-fi connection. Let our exclusive Town House be your home away from home in this exotic spice island, Karibu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warere Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.