We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious - the best prawn madras i have ever tasted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silk Route

The Silk Route
Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
+255 78 687 9696
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious - the best prawn madras i have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent service, divine food and lovely setting.

We thoroughly enjoyed the tandori chicken to start. we then had lamb and spinach curry, byrani, raita, garlic naan and prawn madras - all outstanding in every respect. Especially the prawn madras -it sounds silly but the onions were just so delicious.

i wish we could go back to africa just eat there!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    127
    40
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spice Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had dinner at this wonderful restuarant yesterday. We sampled items from their appetizer to teas. Everything was wonderful and flavorful. We could taste all the spices that were blended into each dish. The service was excellent as the server was always checking on us and available to help. The decor of the restuarant was very tastefully done. We are very happy to have discovered this restuarant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent indian food, nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Stone Town.
The staff was very friendly and the place is clean.

Food was nice but we expected more after reading the reviews here. Frankly, we found it a bit dull. Portions weren't very big but not very small either. It's a bit pricey (around 16,000 shilings for an average main course).

It's open on Sundays, which is a plus.

I don't think I would recommend the place to friends going to Stone Town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate as a group of 10 and were all impressed. The food was good with an array of flavours on offer. The meal prices were fair and the whole experience was more than up to standard.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this place. I would say this was easily the best Indian food I ever had... simples. Excellent service, with quite a few fancy bits you wouldn't expect having been to other local places. Cheesy Indian music played is top stuff. It is slightly more pricey than other places, but soooo much worth it and still less than going out for an Indian meal in Tooting, London. Food was absolutely class. I suppose it was bit unusual seeing African looking people wearing Indian traditional dresses, but there you, that's Zanzibar for you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silk Route also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to The Silk Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silk Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.