We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spice Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silk Route

The Silk Route
Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
255 682613533
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Town
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, WA, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spice Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had dinner at this wonderful restuarant yesterday. We sampled items from their appetizer to teas. Everything was wonderful and flavorful. We could taste all the spices that were blended into each dish. The service was excellent as the server was always checking on us and available to help. The decor of the restuarant was very tastefully done. We are very happy to have discovered this restuarant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    97
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent indian food, nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Stone Town.
The staff was very friendly and the place is clean.

Food was nice but we expected more after reading the reviews here. Frankly, we found it a bit dull. Portions weren't very big but not very small either. It's a bit pricey (around 16,000 shilings for an average main course).

It's open on Sundays, which is a plus.

I don't think I would recommend the place to friends going to Stone Town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ate as a group of 10 and were all impressed. The food was good with an array of flavours on offer. The meal prices were fair and the whole experience was more than up to standard.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this place. I would say this was easily the best Indian food I ever had... simples. Excellent service, with quite a few fancy bits you wouldn't expect having been to other local places. Cheesy Indian music played is top stuff. It is slightly more pricey than other places, but soooo much worth it and still less than going out for an Indian meal in Tooting, London. Food was absolutely class. I suppose it was bit unusual seeing African looking people wearing Indian traditional dresses, but there you, that's Zanzibar for you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food was delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

the roof top restaurant with a wiew. service was very cordial. after you have finished eating, they give you a mixture of spices to chew on as a breath freshener. one thing I must objectz to are greasy, unclean table cloths wich have no place in such a restaurant

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silk Route also viewed

 

Been to The Silk Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silk Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.