We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good honest food”
Review of Archipelago

Stone Town, Tanzania
255 77 746 2311
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 54 restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
20 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    76
    80
    33
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Archipelago
See the most recent reviews
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value, good honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited on three occasions on our recent stay in Stone Town. The staff are very friendly and the service speedy. The views and ambience are very pleasant with a cooling breeze overlooking the beach. On our first visit my husband and I both had fish. I had the perch in chilli and lime served with salad and pilau rice. My husband had the grilled swordfish with the same. Both dishes were beautiful and the fish perfectly cooked. The dishes cost approx £5 each. Being a Muslim population in Stone Town many restaurants and cafes do not serve alcohol. This being one of them although on another visit I noticed diners with bottles of beer! We would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great location but very mediocre fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Archipelago is on the seafront and the restaurant is reached by a very steep stone staircase (definitely not suitable for people with mobility problems). The large 'open' dining area has great views of the seafront and in the evening the sea breezes are most refreshing. The staff are friendly and the dining experience is unpretentious.
We ordered Zanzibari dishes and this took a very long time to arrive at the table. My beef and plantain dish was almost inedible. The plantains were undercooked and the beef was very tough. The plate was swimming in a very watery sauce. My partner's fish curry in coconut with rice was bland and unappetising. The two dishes cost 10 pounds. Only soft drinks available.
The restaurant is very popular and most diners had ordered beef burghers. Perhaps we made the wrong choice.... However, the views and the ambiance is truly to be appreciated.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very good solution in Stone Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

visited Archipelago twice during our 9 day visit in Zanzibar.
Very good and professional service, great views to the ocean, decent food and honest prices.
The Swahili chicken with fried plantains was a very tasty and generous dish.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Completely average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Busy restaurant with quick service. Tables by the open bay windows are quickly snapped up but nab one if you can!
Menu was a bit boring and limited and my partner suffered a dodgy tummy after eating the fish so although we are not pointing any fingers we are left unimpressed. Very popular with westerners and prices are reasonable although not competitive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“does not live up to its location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have visited this restaurant twice in the last two weeks and both times, the service was very slow and inaccurate. the food so so...or hamsiini hamsini and the cost quite high for value received. The ambience being close to the beach and on the top floor of a building does not make up for the lack of service and good food.....sorry, but there are a lot of other place in the local area that provide better allround return on the investment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelago also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Archipelago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archipelago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.