We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelele Quality and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam
Kelele square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
+255 24 223 2592
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 54 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kelele Quality and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent European style and quality of food. Best place for steak in Stonetown but the seafood casserole is the best meal on the menu (IMHO). Prices are comparable to lower quality venues, much more affordable than Serena across the road in Kelele Square.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    41
    22
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had dinner here and it was the best meal we had during our week in Zanzibar. Excellent seafood and a great restaurant. Probably would have come back the next day we hadn't departed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had lunch at this restaurant in December and have a feeling I'm going to dream about my starter for years to come. It was a crab soup served in a half coconut that was just exceptional - a little bit spicy, but tempered by the coconut. Fantastic - if you get the chance, try it!

We were a big group (8), which put a little pressure on the staff to get dishes out together, but they were very kind. The ambiance was very nice - and the cushioned seats were comfy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very tasty food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had dinner at Beyt Al Chai during our stay in Stone Town and we had a very good experience at this restaurant.
The fish was excellent. My husband had a seafood platter which was a huge portion of lobster, cigale, white fillet fish, squid, prawns and other seafood which was excellent value for money. A big platter for one person!
The food was all very tasty and well prepared. The service was great: with a smile and at normal speed (which is quite something for Africa!).
I would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is excellent, specially the red snapper. For special occations the staff and the staff gives you a memorable moment together with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyt al Salaam also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Beyt al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.