We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy dining at Beyt al Chai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam Restaurant

Beyt al Salaam Restaurant
Kelele square | Shangani, Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3120, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
+255 24 223 2592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dining at the Beyt Al Salaam resort is to experience Zanzibar. The restaurant is unobtrusively located on the ground floor, away from the rooms. Since its opening it is considered the finest dining establishment within Zanzibar's Stone Town.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always enjoy dining at Beyt al Chai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Pleasant atmosphere, tasty food, convenient location, nice A/C inside, and a lovely dining experience- happy to recommend Beyt al Chai.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ont.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Have the Seafood Platter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I liked this restaurant so much we went two nights in a row! The Seafood Platter is amazing, but be warned that if you have starters that its enough to share. Also, they have a liquor license - unlike some other restaurants!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great seafood platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We wanted a seafood blow-out on our last night and went to look at the menu (we saw the TA reviews on the door which said how good it was).
We had a platter for two to share and there were three lobsters, several tiger prawns and lots of other goodies including several varieties of grilled fish.
The whole meal was really good and exceptional value for money considering what we ate and drank.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Would recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great choice for good food and nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent Restaurant! Wonderful fish. Each of our four main fish courses was excellent-spice was very subtle and enhanced the tastes, rather than mask them. The day we were there there was no bread because the oven was broken...I'm sure they could have run to a bakery for some. That being said, this is a lovely, well decorated restaurant for lunch or dinner with very good, very fresh food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We came across this place completely by accident when in search of restaurant that served more than soft drinks! Beautifully decorated, it had an excellent menu selection, wine list and very attentive service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyt al Salaam Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Beyt al Salaam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.