We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the Seafood Platter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam
Kelele square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
+255 24 223 2592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 57 restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Ont.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Have the Seafood Platter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I liked this restaurant so much we went two nights in a row! The Seafood Platter is amazing, but be warned that if you have starters that its enough to share. Also, they have a liquor license - unlike some other restaurants!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    44
    23
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great seafood platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We wanted a seafood blow-out on our last night and went to look at the menu (we saw the TA reviews on the door which said how good it was).
We had a platter for two to share and there were three lobsters, several tiger prawns and lots of other goodies including several varieties of grilled fish.
The whole meal was really good and exceptional value for money considering what we ate and drank.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Would recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great choice for good food and nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent Restaurant! Wonderful fish. Each of our four main fish courses was excellent-spice was very subtle and enhanced the tastes, rather than mask them. The day we were there there was no bread because the oven was broken...I'm sure they could have run to a bakery for some. That being said, this is a lovely, well decorated restaurant for lunch or dinner with very good, very fresh food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We came across this place completely by accident when in search of restaurant that served more than soft drinks! Beautifully decorated, it had an excellent menu selection, wine list and very attentive service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ate here for lunch. The seafood tapas was beautifully presented and a perfect sharing dish, consisting of raw tuna, crab, prawn and calamari, cooked to perfection. The seafood casserole in coconut broth was a joy to both look at and eat! Truly excellent food but you do pay for it (and the wine list was erring towards the very expensive). Overall though one of the best meals I have had in Africa. 5* restaurant with 5* service at 5* prices!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beyt al Salaam also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Beyt al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.