We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad of Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Johari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Al Johari to your Saves list
Al Johari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Riad of Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

its a really beautiful small boutique Hotel in stone town which reminds you of Riad in Marakech..even the stone town reminds you a lot of old medina of Marakech.. the seafood stalls in the evening near House of wonder is a must visit.. i loved my stay with my friends in this world Heritage site of stone town...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
27
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had an ok time here, not so bad, clean, but we'll used. The day before we were to leave, we had all of our cash taken from the room. Over $1000 in three different currencies from two different places, well hidden too. We told the manager and needed to fill out Alice report and wait for them to investigate before they would do anything. As it went on they more and more gave hints to it is not possible, but we will wait for the police who asked us if we had taken it and lost it elsewhere. Do not leave money or valuables in room!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just arrived in Zanzibar a few hours ago! Its hot!!! But its okay compared to the -17 temp in Toronto!! This hotel is in a heritage hotel but it has not been kept up to date. We just found out that the building is not to be tampered with and this coming from the government. It sounds stupid to me but I would not return to this place again!! Just to keep the roaches away they're spraying DDT. Spend the extra money and get a better well recognized hotel. We just changed rooms! No better! just a little bit bigger but no space to keep you toiletries in the bathroom. This hotel bites!!!:-(

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms... That's about it. The highlight is probably breakfast on the roof top, which is pretty good. Perhaps best suits a single night before heading to Nungwi or the East Coast. My bathroom was pretty much falling apart - even by local standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights after a 2 week safari in Kenya and mainland Tanzania. It was a little out of my budget as a solo traveller (around $110 a night) however was well worth it. The building is full of charm and Zanzibar character. The room had a king size four poster bed, heavy ornate wooden door and a huge modern and clean mosaic tiled bathroom. A small flat screen TV with loads of channels was nice as I wasnt brave to venture out at night alone. free wifi was excellent in both the room and roof top terrace (ask the waitress for the password) The staff were beyond friendly and helpful.

As I was there during Ramadan so I ate all my meals on the roof top restaurant and it was absolutely fantastic. The best meals I have had through all my stay in Africa, and wouldnt be out of place in my hometown of Sydney. Super modern menu with loads of beautiful seafood dishes with Swahiili influences. The prices for the quality of dishes was also amazing. For around $20US I had 2 glasses of wine and 2 courses. Gorgeous staff and view.

In the very heart of the winding alleyways of Stone Town, I highly recommend this place and would have stayed longer if it were closer to Zanzibar's more beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good food, nice and clean rooms, a wonderful rooftop restaurant with an amazing view to indian ocean. Breakfast on the roof is like moonwalk where heritage stone town can be seen with history. Nice clean Beach is just 100 steps next to Al Johari and location is right in the centre of town where one can walk at night and have lovely view of stone town. where most such category hotels are above 200$ per night, one can get 130$ a double room, superb value for money in zanzibar.

Room Tip: all rooms are good..a perfect sense of old stone town of zanzibar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed just two nights at the Al Johari but would definitely return. It is a beautiful old building with lots of character but the rooms are comfortable with modern fixtures. Staff were all welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is served on the rooftop with views overlooking the sea and the food was lovely. Also a great location for exploring Stone Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Johari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Johari

Address: 116 Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Johari 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Johari means the Jewel in certain translations of Kiswahili and Arabic, and we invite you to experience the Jewel of Stone Town, Zanzibar. Al Johari is a small 15 room Boutique Hotel in the Stone Town area of Zanzibar, and was the result of a careful refurbishment combining two ancient buildings in Stone Town to produce an exceptional hotel property while keeping within the Architecture and dimensions of Stone Town history with an emphasis on modern state of the art amenities as well as the opulent luxuries of the Omani, Persian, Indian and Swahili influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Al Johari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Johari Stone Town
Al Johari Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Johari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.