We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Al Johari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Johari to your Saves list
Al Johari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Forced to pay in advance @ $100 per night and on arrival was placed in a dungeon styled, dingy room next to reception with a window that opened directly into the street. The room had no lock. Was promised a rebate and upgrade of room early next morning but was not moved until 17.00. Then no rebate was offered and to make matters worse funds were withdrawn from my credit card for food and drinks without my signature. My friends fared slightly better but were still dissapointed with the qulaity, service and hoesty of this hotel. There are several great places to stay in Stone Town and this was by far the worst and most expensive and dishonest

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    8
    4
    11
See reviews for
8
28
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in Al Johari as a solo traveler for six nights in February 2013; my reservation was made through a local travel agency, Suntours.

Good aspects: the location is very convenient to visit Stone Town and to go to the boat port, and not too far from the ferry port; the staff members are kind and quite efficient, in particular the young man in the reception in the evening; the beds are comfortable and my sheets were clean. I had dinner the first night; the food was tasty and I wasn't sick afterwards. Although the common areas are very small, the roof terrace has an acceptable view over the roofs of the town.

Bad aspects: the hotel is in the middle of very narrow streets full of garbage and has no central patio as other hotels in Stone Town do, therefore it is impossible to air the rooms properly; the two windows of my room opened to one of those narrow passages, so the sight was awful and there was very little natural light; the building is very shabby and dirty, paint is peeling off in many places, the staircase has become unvarnished, the walls are stained, the furniture in the very limited common areas is tired, the curtains look like rags, the tiles in my bathroom were crumbling down, the shower was flooding the floor of the bathroom every time I used it; it was impossible for me to open the door of the first room I received, so after some negotiations they agreed to give me another room where I had problems with the air conditioner almost every day; the two rooms I went into were dirty and I had to clean the dust on the furniture and in the wardrobe with toilet paper; I also had to clean the wash basin and the shower with soap and one of the towels, and I found hair from previous guests in both; there was no lamp on the bed table, although they did give me one and even agreed to take off the screen so that I could read in bed; the upper part of the mosquito net over my bed was full of dead insects and there was a spiderweb near my bed. After the first night I never had meals apart from breakfast in the hotel, and it was extremely limited although I am used to eat little in the morning. I noticed there was a very low occupancy; in fact, i was always alone on the terrace during the first dinner and at breakfast.

This hotel would be considered a bad two star hotel in Europe but its prices are those of a good four star; there are many cheaper and much better hotels in Stone Town, so do avoid getting trapped into Al Johari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days and had the best experience, Salom who is one of the front desk managers is very kind hearted and helpful, the fact that he speaks proper english was a cherry on top. he went out of his way to welcome us and made sure we had all we need. the kitchen stuff needs to learn customer service and they need to oder food more often. before going there we read about the faulty showers and to our suprise they where still faulty... other than that i would go back to al Johari.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

3am it wake me up because water in bathroom cant stop.
stuff came to repair at 4am to 5am.
I could not sleep.
finally no creaning.
no apologize.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was a very nice and reasonably priced place to stay in the heart of stone town, a very traditional type house, with lots of traditional yet functional furniture, a lovely roof top bar and restaurant, with great views over the town especially at breakfast.
Which was a good breakfast and the service was overall friendly and relatively efficient.
Only thing that let it down was the bathroom... both in cleanliness and the fact I had to use my luggage tag to stick the shower head up and together so I could shower and the shower cubicle was broken so it flooded the floor......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Al Johari 4 years ago and it was delightful, however on our return to Zanzibar last year it was not that great as we had issues with the service etc, however we have just been there last week and found that the management has changed and the Hotel has its delightful homely charm back ! We will be back for Christmas for sure.

Christian

Room Tip: try the rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

When I decided to visity Stone Town, I wanted to stay in a smaller boutique hotel that represented the culture and style of Zanzibar. The Al Johari exceeded my hopes and expectations in every way. There was ample space in my Jr. Suite room. There was also a decent amount of hand-crafted (yet highly functional) Zanzibari furniture, including a beautiful wooden bed. The room was both clean and comfortable. One of my favorite features of the Al Johari was the restaurant on the roof. The bartender must be a mind-reader, because every time he brought me a drink or suggested a meal, it was exactly what I wanted. The breakfasts were also quite good. The hotel's location is very convenient--just a few minutes walk to House of Wonders, Slave Market, ferry terminal, and Sultan's Palace. It takes less than a minute to get to shops and post office on Kenyatta, too. The Al Johari is the only property that I will consider when I return to Zanzibar next year!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suite had ample room for a couple to stay for an extended period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Johari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Johari

Address: 116 Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Johari 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Johari means the Jewel in certain translations of Kiswahili and Arabic, and we invite you to experience the Jewel of Stone Town, Zanzibar. Al Johari is a small 15 room Boutique Hotel in the Stone Town area of Zanzibar, and was the result of a careful refurbishment combining two ancient buildings in Stone Town to produce an exceptional hotel property while keeping within the Architecture and dimensions of Stone Town history with an emphasis on modern state of the art amenities as well as the opulent luxuries of the Omani, Persian, Indian and Swahili influences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Al Johari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Johari Stone Town
Al Johari Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Johari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.