We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's all the fuss about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Zanzibar, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Mnemba Island Lodge for 2 nights in early March. The scenery is spectacular, the water crystal clear and the "pampering" is well done. But there are other places that offer similar benefits at a more affordable price with less "hassle". To get there requires a drive through destitute parts of Zanzibar (quite a contrast to the luxury of the lodge) and a bumpy 30 minute trek down what is little better than a trail, then a motor boat trip. Also, check out is early in the morning. Had our 's delayed but only after a major hassle with the company. Booked the Crater Lodge and Serengeti Under Canvas with &Beyond---both well worth it---would have skipped Mnemba---better options available in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We came to the Island from Lake Manyara Lake Tree Lodge.

We spent three relaxing nights here. The seafood meals were simple but fantastic. Dining on the beach every evening is fun. Everyone gathered at the bar before dinner and the atmosphere and conversation were great.

I did four dives on the reefs to the north east of the Island. Our dive masters kept us away from the mainland dive boats on the morning dive and in the afternoon they weren't there. I can only rate the reefs as good. The best dive site I dived was a combined Grouper/Wall Dive Site. We kept above 20 metres at all times. Dive durations limited to 50 minutes. There is a ladder for old guys to climb back onto the boat.

Had a lifer experience with wild "untrained" dolphins. Total water depth 8 metres on a sandy bottom. Six of them vertical in the water pirouetting around us. Truely amazing!

All the staff were great.

I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 6 (kids from 13-20) stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our safari. What an incredible experience! Ditch your shoes--you will literally walk barefoot for your entire stay--and enjoy the incredible luxury! Open air rooms, outdoor showers (as well as in room ones), "sundowner" cocktails delivered to your beach, gourmet meals under the stars and incredible snorkeling and/or scuba diving await you. Our hosts, Mike and Ruth, even put together a family treasure hunt one day that gave us an even better appreciation for the uniqueness of this place! And, it really is fit for Royalty---ask Mike which famous newlyweds requested to stay on the Island, but couldn't because it was closed for the rainy season. It was a once in a lifetime experience...that we would love to repeat some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What's not to like? Beach is pristine. Rooms are stunning. Pretty much private. Food was excellent if you like fish and pasta. I also had one of my top dives in my life with just the dive master and my wife. We were surrounded by a school of Rays, saw some octopus... all good. Easy flight in from Arusha and simple transport onto the island. Great stop after an exhausting safari. I went over a decade ago but it looks like things have not changed. If it ain't broken, don't fix it. 4 days were enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Mnemba island,exclusively reserved for 10 couples,is a 10 star Robinson Crusoe experience and easily qualifies as not only the most romantic island in the world,but also offers world class diving and dining.My wife Anna ,and I have been very regular visitors since 1994,spending our birthday and Anniversary celebrations here. I have completed more than 400 dives in this marine wonderland ,and still,every time ,I see something new.Management and staff are our friends,and the service levels are faultless.Each morning at the 1st ray of light,I spend some 90 minutes practicing my karate...the privacy and silence allows for Zazen wind down...then breakfast..followed by the 1st dive...often on a one to one ,which is unheard of in this over crowded and rushed world.....the afternoon all third part dive boats have left,allowing us the luxury of exploring this marine wonderland on our own....Cocktail hour from 18:00 is an elegant and very relaxed event,which then translates into dinner under the stars on the beach,with a billion sparkling stars,the only unobtrusive entertainment on offer..retiring to our Banda amongst the whispering pines remains an unforgettable ending to a day of wonder

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the warm welcoming waves to the last goodbyes, we experienced impeccable service. This place can hardly be put into words, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. Ditch your shoes and enjoy true barefoot luxury, you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had an amazing time staying at this private island, the service was great, we had our own butler, a chef made to order what we asked for, we had privacy, internet was running faster than back home (they got their own satellite). I had massage on the beach, we dinned in front of our cabana, had drinks with other guests by the open bar and we did some snorkeling with dolphins.
Truly unforgettable, wish we had stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba
Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Mnemba
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver’s delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. • 10 beachside bandas• PADI dive school• Beach Shop• Wifi in guest areas and library• Private island• Swimming with dolphins, snorkelling and diving on pristine coral reed ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge to your Saves list