We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Royalty...or a family after a safari!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Zanzibar, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fit for Royalty...or a family after a safari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 6 (kids from 13-20) stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our safari. What an incredible experience! Ditch your shoes--you will literally walk barefoot for your entire stay--and enjoy the incredible luxury! Open air rooms, outdoor showers (as well as in room ones), "sundowner" cocktails delivered to your beach, gourmet meals under the stars and incredible snorkeling and/or scuba diving await you. Our hosts, Mike and Ruth, even put together a family treasure hunt one day that gave us an even better appreciation for the uniqueness of this place! And, it really is fit for Royalty---ask Mike which famous newlyweds requested to stay on the Island, but couldn't because it was closed for the rainy season. It was a once in a lifetime experience...that we would love to repeat some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What's not to like? Beach is pristine. Rooms are stunning. Pretty much private. Food was excellent if you like fish and pasta. I also had one of my top dives in my life with just the dive master and my wife. We were surrounded by a school of Rays, saw some octopus... all good. Easy flight in from Arusha and simple transport onto the island. Great stop after an exhausting safari. I went over a decade ago but it looks like things have not changed. If it ain't broken, don't fix it. 4 days were enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Mnemba island,exclusively reserved for 10 couples,is a 10 star Robinson Crusoe experience and easily qualifies as not only the most romantic island in the world,but also offers world class diving and dining.My wife Anna ,and I have been very regular visitors since 1994,spending our birthday and Anniversary celebrations here. I have completed more than 400 dives in this marine wonderland ,and still,every time ,I see something new.Management and staff are our friends,and the service levels are faultless.Each morning at the 1st ray of light,I spend some 90 minutes practicing my karate...the privacy and silence allows for Zazen wind down...then breakfast..followed by the 1st dive...often on a one to one ,which is unheard of in this over crowded and rushed world.....the afternoon all third part dive boats have left,allowing us the luxury of exploring this marine wonderland on our own....Cocktail hour from 18:00 is an elegant and very relaxed event,which then translates into dinner under the stars on the beach,with a billion sparkling stars,the only unobtrusive entertainment on offer..retiring to our Banda amongst the whispering pines remains an unforgettable ending to a day of wonder

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the warm welcoming waves to the last goodbyes, we experienced impeccable service. This place can hardly be put into words, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. Ditch your shoes and enjoy true barefoot luxury, you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had an amazing time staying at this private island, the service was great, we had our own butler, a chef made to order what we asked for, we had privacy, internet was running faster than back home (they got their own satellite). I had massage on the beach, we dinned in front of our cabana, had drinks with other guests by the open bar and we did some snorkeling with dolphins.
Truly unforgettable, wish we had stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mnemba Island Lodge represents the ultimate get-away where every aspect of a truly memorable holiday experience is rated 5*. Between the warm welcome upon arrival on this tiny island and the sad send-off from the beach on our last day, we enjoyed the discrete privacy of our own chalet, food prepared for the most discerning palette, daily walks around the island, snorkelling over many of the reefs that surround the island, exploring the surrounding waters in a canoe, sundowners on the beach, watched silently as a greenback turtle lay a batch of 110 eggs at 11.30 one night and also watched as 7 late-hatched baby turtles scrambled from their nest to an uncertain future in the big ocean. The personal attention to detail was evident not only during our stay on the island, but also off the island where andBeyond representatives were at hand at Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam airports.

Room Tip: North East in February and North facing in Jun/Jul due to the prevailing winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on Mnemba for five nights following a week long, spectacular -- but draining -- safari. Arriving at Mnemba was just what we needed to rejuvenate ourselves before heading back home.

From the moment we got to the Mnemba crossing point we were excited and the giddiness never wore off. We were warmly welcomed by the manager Mike and our butler, Roja. We settled in, briefed the very talented chef Simon on my wife's dietary restrictions, and then started enjoying superb food, drink, service, snorkeling, people and weather. There was simply no aspect of our stay that was less than perfect and we consider ourselves pretty tough customers.

In our opinion, Mnemba is unequivocally the most beautiful island in the world and all of the staff do it justice. I can't recommend it any more highly or strongly and would urge any person interested in going to reach out to me directly so that I can answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba
Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Mnemba
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver’s delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. • 10 beachside bandas• PADI dive school• Beach Shop• Wifi in guest areas and library• Private island• Swimming with dolphins, snorkelling and diving on pristine coral reed ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge to your Saves list