We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical ,Romantic Mnemba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge
Save
You added andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Zanzibar, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magical ,Romantic Mnemba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Mnemba island,exclusively reserved for 10 couples,is a 10 star Robinson Crusoe experience and easily qualifies as not only the most romantic island in the world,but also offers world class diving and dining.My wife Anna ,and I have been very regular visitors since 1994,spending our birthday and Anniversary celebrations here. I have completed more than 400 dives in this marine wonderland ,and still,every time ,I see something new.Management and staff are our friends,and the service levels are faultless.Each morning at the 1st ray of light,I spend some 90 minutes practicing my karate...the privacy and silence allows for Zazen wind down...then breakfast..followed by the 1st dive...often on a one to one ,which is unheard of in this over crowded and rushed world.....the afternoon all third part dive boats have left,allowing us the luxury of exploring this marine wonderland on our own....Cocktail hour from 18:00 is an elegant and very relaxed event,which then translates into dinner under the stars on the beach,with a billion sparkling stars,the only unobtrusive entertainment on offer..retiring to our Banda amongst the whispering pines remains an unforgettable ending to a day of wonder

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
77
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the warm welcoming waves to the last goodbyes, we experienced impeccable service. This place can hardly be put into words, the rooms, the food, the staff, everything was perfect. Ditch your shoes and enjoy true barefoot luxury, you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had an amazing time staying at this private island, the service was great, we had our own butler, a chef made to order what we asked for, we had privacy, internet was running faster than back home (they got their own satellite). I had massage on the beach, we dinned in front of our cabana, had drinks with other guests by the open bar and we did some snorkeling with dolphins.
Truly unforgettable, wish we had stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mnemba Island Lodge represents the ultimate get-away where every aspect of a truly memorable holiday experience is rated 5*. Between the warm welcome upon arrival on this tiny island and the sad send-off from the beach on our last day, we enjoyed the discrete privacy of our own chalet, food prepared for the most discerning palette, daily walks around the island, snorkelling over many of the reefs that surround the island, exploring the surrounding waters in a canoe, sundowners on the beach, watched silently as a greenback turtle lay a batch of 110 eggs at 11.30 one night and also watched as 7 late-hatched baby turtles scrambled from their nest to an uncertain future in the big ocean. The personal attention to detail was evident not only during our stay on the island, but also off the island where andBeyond representatives were at hand at Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam airports.

Room Tip: North East in February and North facing in Jun/Jul due to the prevailing winds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed on Mnemba for five nights following a week long, spectacular -- but draining -- safari. Arriving at Mnemba was just what we needed to rejuvenate ourselves before heading back home.

From the moment we got to the Mnemba crossing point we were excited and the giddiness never wore off. We were warmly welcomed by the manager Mike and our butler, Roja. We settled in, briefed the very talented chef Simon on my wife's dietary restrictions, and then started enjoying superb food, drink, service, snorkeling, people and weather. There was simply no aspect of our stay that was less than perfect and we consider ourselves pretty tough customers.

In our opinion, Mnemba is unequivocally the most beautiful island in the world and all of the staff do it justice. I can't recommend it any more highly or strongly and would urge any person interested in going to reach out to me directly so that I can answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakkalsfontein, west coast. south africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a wonderful week of relaxation, swimming, snorkeling, eating exceptional food, drinking really good wines and cocktails and above all, making new friends. We were last there in Jan 2005 and I think June is a better time to go. Warm but more moderate. The House Reef is close and coral and fish are abundant. The service by the butlers is excellent yet discreet. Thank you Mnemba team we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9 and 10 are right opposite the House Reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Mnemba Island. Collected at Zanzibar airport by Abbas who took us on a short tour of Stone Town before the long but interesting drive to the shore to be picked up by a boat and taken to the island. He was very pleasant and we were delighted that he was there at the end of our stay to transfer us back to the airport. Fantastic that once on the island shoes are not necessary. We liked the laid back feel of the Island and the serving staff went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable, serve dinners in different locations and provide killer cocktails on request! We enjoyed the sea food - and it was great that we could request changes to the menu when introduced by Simon each morning. The only negative on the food, and i see it was made in a previous review as well, was the pattern of cold soup and either sorbet or ice cream each lunch and dinner. A bit more innovation and variation with starters and desserts would have been welcomed. Main courses were great.Breakfasts were good and varied and there was no problem to ask for food not on the menu. The rooms, called Bandas, were large and had that perfect mix of informality but with all the creature comforts. Wifi in the camp was fast and available in the rooms.The doves - it is a breeding place for the doves - are a bit eerie at first but we soon got used to them. The managers were happy to attend to our requests. We would have liked a bit more interaction with management at meals particularly at dinner times but noted that we were left mostly in the care of the serving staff who were very attentive. Temaini and Christopher were stars. At meals you sit at your own table but there were wonderful other guests and we soon asked the staff to combine some of our tables. Interacting with the other guests was the highlight of our stay. We did not make much use of the diving - but enjoyed our snorkeling and our limited interaction with Matt who runs the diving operation was enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 which we enjoyed because of its proximity to the lounge and dining areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mnemba
8.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
9.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
20.2 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#2 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge

Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mnemba
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver's delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.