We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience of our lives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beho Beho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beho Beho
Save
You added Beho Beho to your Saves list
Selous, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Experience of our lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first Safari and we went straight to the top.
Everything was first class! We were given a warm welcome and all throughout our stay the warmness and consideration to our needs never faltered.
The guides knowledge was amazing.
We couldn't fault a thing and think that Beho Beho deserve a Six Paw rating!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad , India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Me and my wife and my friends stayed here for 4 nights

Selous Game Reserve , Beho Beho:- Its Haven on earth , unbelievably picture perfect , The movement our plane landed very close to our Lodge (10 mins by car) , It has little of Tsetse Fly. Roads at Selous is really bed , worst road you have traveled on , and no way comparable with any other parks in any african country.Far better then Ruaha and Katavi which has a lot, we Stayed at Bailey’s Banda , it’s a private house with two bedrooms and kitchen , it has his own cook and servant , Private Game viewing Vehicle , its very Luxuries and have wifi , its not great speed but good for emails,
It has pool also and very good view of park ,

Location:- its on hill over looking Dry River bed in Sept it was dry with some water hole , animals would come and drink , all Genral game would come and drink , we had one hippo also in that small pool , though you can see them its quite far , so the feeling on living with them is not there ,

Guiding and Driver: - The Guiding is superior, very good , What I did not like is the Lodge policy to Rotate the guides and vehicles , I have never seen this before in any lodge in any African country , its so difficult to make driver guide understand what you want and what is your interest and which part of park you want to go and you do this again and again on all your drives , as you will get new driver and guide every time you are in bush , the animals in Selous are quite shy of us , as it was hunting area and still they have hunting surrounding the Game reserve , the quantity of animals is great , though as waster was far from lodge lions and most general game have moved quite far from lodge , here night drive is not possible , morning drive is the main drive where you can go far and try for lions , but in evening it would be able to see General game only ,

Service and Staff : The service level by the manager and staff were excellent. They were also super flexible on our food request. Service was very good , staff very friendly and people very nice


Selous Game Reserve , Beho Beho:- Pure Luxury camp, Phone signals are not there from room but from airstrip about 10 mins drive you can , but all rooms have wifi , The view from all rooms is super , best is from Dinning area , all General Game Monkeys , Impalas , Elephants , would pass by the room, Elephants want to drink water from our water hole , and we could hear lions in night roaring , The rooms at Baileys banda designed so well that its completely open in night and you can hear all African sounds in night which is the best part staying in this lodge ,

Its so close to Dar E Salam and very scenic , you have areas of open land and you have area where lots of trees are there ,

Room Tip: Bailey's Banda is best if you are 4 adults , or try Room 2 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is almost unbelievable that such a luxurious safari venue could exist in such a remote location and provide the high standards of service we experienced at Beho Beho.

The location on a hillside overlooking Selous gives constant interest from the passing game and the advantage of the breeze to cool the high tempreatures.

Guiding is of outstanding quality and so is the range of birds and animals that can be seen. We learnt so much during our stay. The real sense of being in the wild can be judged by our only seeing one other vehicle on safaris during our 5 night stay.

The tracks in the area are rough so you will be bumped around from time to time.

Do take the all-day trip to Tagalalla Lake if you get the chance and be surprised by the whole experience.

Food is of a standard that surpasses many leading restaurants - you won't be any lighter on your return.

Endless care and attention has gone into every aspect, from ironwood trees to hold up the roof to table decorations that change with every meal and a different setting for each dinner. It is that depth of thought and individuality that sets Beho Beho apart.

In many decades of holidays we have only ever been back to the same location again once. Beho Beho could well turn out to be the second.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diablo CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My daughter Madeline and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Beho Beho over the past 5 nights. This was my 14th trip to Africa and I would place Beho Beho in the top tier of properties that I have visited.

Walter and Karin do an amazing job managing this property for Charlie Bailey. We had the pleasure of meeting Charlie and his family over two nights during our stay. We really learned a lot of the history of the many characters that been a part of Beho Beho history.

We were able to enjoy a lot of time in the bush with 4 different professional guides. It was a treat to be able to learn from all four. We really liked the 'rotation' of the guides. We took a walk with Walter and learned a lot about all the decisions that he has to make as he is walking in the bush with clients. It was a very rewarding experience.

The food is simply amazing! Karin is a trained chef and the food is creative as well as delicious.
Dietary and vegetarian concerns were handled perfectly.

The wild life in the area was superb. We saw a Leopard in a tree very close to Camp. We saw lions attempt to ambush wildebeest as well as a beautful aaray of plains game and birds.

Mike Maloon

The lodge and bandas are well appointed and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

There are few places that I've visited and wanted to return to, places so spectacularly perfect that to visit just once would not do them justice. Beho Beho is one of those special locations.

My husband and I first visited in late July 2012, and fell in love with the lodge and the Selous. We returned in June 2013, and were blown over that Walter, Karin and their team could still surprise us every day! In July 12 we stayed for five nights, but in 2013 we stayed for seven nights - which still wasn't too much for us, and we went out twice a day every day.

Accommodation:
The bandas are very spacious, with beautiful open fronts that are perfect for whiling away the hottest hours of the day, watching impala, elephant, giraffe, and so on, attempting to find precious shade under the trees on the plains opposite the lodge.

Food:
Karin and the kitchen team produce wonderful goodies that never fail to taste as good as they look. Breakfast is usually packed up and taken on a game drive (think mini egg and bacon quiches, muffins, and granola bars); lunch and dinner are served in different places every day, so there's always a nice surprise! One day one might dine outside under the stars, another day in the Eagle's Nest overlooking the watering hole. There is also, of course, the decadent afternoon tea with a different iced tea each day and different cakes and biscuits. Goddy's chocolate 'family cake' being the most special, the carrot cake a very close second! All meals are communal, which can be daunting at first if you're shy, but you soon start talking with others, sharing the day's adventures.

Guiding and Hosting:
The main thing that drew us back was the quality of the guiding team, and whilst there have been a few changes over the past year, it has remained at an extremely high level. Every member of the team can talk at length on the animals, insects, and plants in the Selous, and all have personal interests they're only too keen to share (Werner's knowledge of lion behaviour, for example, and Walter's encyclopaedic knowledge of bird calls). Guides allow time for guests to sit and watch the animals, even when they are doing little except quietly meandering the plains. The guides enjoy all meals with the guests as well, giving time to get to know them and ask questions. Beho Beho offers walks as well as drives, which are wonderful - even if you don't see any game (and that can happen - the Selous is not a 'tick box checklist' safari zoo), there is the gentle bubbling of adrenaline and excitement that you could see something just around the corner, and the beautiful scenery and birds.

Karin and Walter are excellent hosts, always welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. They bring together the family of guides and staff, and this creates a wonderful atmosphere at the lodge.

The Tree 'House':
So special it deserves a review section all of its own! I use the term 'house' loosely, since this is more a luxurious palace in the middle of the bush. It's hard to describe the optional one night experience without giving away too much of the surprises that are in store, but think beautiful hurricane lamps, warm showers, a real loo, and all in all accommodation that Livingstone would have been proud to call his own! Animals can walk right past where you're sleeping... Safe in the knowledge that your guides are close by for any unwanted encounters (which are unlikely given that the treehouse is up a lead wood.

The Selous:
A note on the Selous is probably worthy of mention here... It is not - as mentioned above - somewhere that can guarantee a spotting. However, we have seen lion, buffalo, elephant, hippo, giraffe, hyena, and plains animals on both visits. In 2012, we had several leopard sightings (including a kill), and in 2013 we saw wild dogs on our final drive! Rhino tracks and midden were also seen, so they are obviously around too, just extremely rare, given their shyness.

There's nothing about Beho Beho that can be improved upon, yet I know that when we go next year they will have raised the bar even higher. Both of our visits have been perfect, yet this great team constantly strive to bring new surprises and excitement. We can't wait to return!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

There are probably a handful of places that you visit which leave such an impression on you, that in some small part, you consider it has added something to your character. And this, for me, was one of those places - quite impressive for someone who was a little reluctant about safari and opted to go as a compromise to keep my husband happy!.

Equally, if you want to see a top performing team in action, then Walter, Karin & the whole team at Beho Beho would be a fine example. As a guest, you feel like their whole raison d'être is about ensuring that you have the most fantastic experience. They all demonstrate such passion in their area of expertise, be that the bush and the animals, the food, the presentation of everything, down to how beautifully your laundry is folded & returned to you. When staying at Beho Beho, there is a sense that all is well with the world and that everything will be seamlessly taken care of.
We particularly loved the way in which each guide provides a slightly different flavour in the way that they connect with the wildlife and beautiful surroundings - this really helps to develop some depth & breadth in understanding the environment. Equally, they manage to effortlessly blend the guests who are more experienced safari goers with novices, like ourselves.

Be sure to take plenty of advantage of the walking safaris - as well as being very interesting and giving a new perspective on the landscape - they are also an excellent opportunity to build up an appetite for all the outstanding food that is served.

We would unreservedly recommend this property & experience - it is simply amazing and each day the team work hard to bring you a new 'special' experience, be that the guides on safari or Karin & the culinary team bringing new delicious foods or eating experiences.

A heartfelt 'thank you' to the Beho Beho team - keep doing what you are doing!

Room Tip: Try & time the early morning coffee & nibble that is delivered to your room pre-safari, to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent five amazing days at Beho Beho. Walter the manager was incredibly knowledable and was constantly telling us interesting facts about the wildlife. corrine was an excellant host and ensured the food was supurb at every meal. I had the best samosas I have ever eaten. The best scotch eggs I have ever eaten. I have never had them before but the egg and bacon cup cakes, eaten for breakfast on the Little Serengeti surrounded by wilderbeast, impalas and zebras were amazing.
Most of our safaris were with Salum. He had an incredibly infectious smile and was so enthusiastic. Whilst following the three musketeers (three male lions) he got the jeep stuck in a ditch. When I say a ditch it swallowed the whole vehicle. He did after some time call for back up on the radio but continued to persevere and managed to drive out to the other side so that we could continue to follow. An amazing vehicle but also amazing driving. The reason he got stuck was because the three male lions were going towards a kill where there were over a hundred vultures, female lions and hyena. It was a risk and egged on by my wife he didn't have much choice. We did eventually catch up with the male lions, two of whom had scratches on their face and were cleaning blood off their paws. The lions were captivating although the one with really yellow eyes that looks right through you does make you wish the vehicle had doors.
We woke one night to the sound of grass being munched right outside our room. About two feet from the side of the bed is the external stone wall. It has a mesh covered "window" opening covered by a venetian blind. I pulled open the blind to find a very large grey head less than two feet away from me. Its very difficult to sleep with an elephant eating grass less than four feet from your bed but not a bad way to be kept awake.
We saw a huge amount and variety of animals from the vehicles and it was always exciting driving around wondering what would be around the next corner. We did go on a walk with Walter which had a totally different feel. You were aware that you really were in these animals domain and it definately heightened the senses. Walter's senses were definately heightened when we walked around a bush to find a hippo right in front of us. As hippos are enormous I do not think they jump back in surprise but I think he was as surprised as we were. Walter played to the tourists by momentarily raising his rifle. Luckily we went our separate ways.
The Selous is an amazing place and teaming with life both big and small. Thank you to Walter, Corrine, Heribert, Salum and everyone else who looked after us. We had an amazing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beho Beho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beho Beho

Address: Selous, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beho Beho was the first camp to be sited in The Selous, not on the banks, or the flood plains of the mighty Rufiji River, but in the cooler highlands so as to enjoy the 'cooling breezes' from which its name derives. Always designated as a 'private camp' it has fiercely protected its individuality and privileged location as one of the most 'magical' places it is possible to visit in safari Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beho Beho Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Beho Beho Tanzania/Selous Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beho Beho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.