We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selous Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve
Save
You added Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve to your Saves list
P O box 3052 | Dar es Salaam, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Lonely Plants guidebook described the Lake Manze Tented Camp as 'quite plain, but does the trick'. It did more than 'just the trick', and was a fabulous start to a safari holiday.

We had extremely comfortable tents (with solar powered fans for those hot nights) and an en-suite outdoor bathroom, where you would wash and shower outside at night with a star filled sky and a cacophony of natures sounds as a backdrop. Each tent had a verandah so that you could looked out on to the lake and watch elephants, impala and baboons roam unrestricted from the comfort of deck chairs. For those who might be put off by the thought of mosquitoes, the tents are equipped with heavy duty high quality netting at all entrances that can be zipped up whilst allowing for plenty of airflow.

The staff were warm, welcoming and extremely helpful, always seeking to ensure that their guests were happy. The evenings were particularly enjoyable, being a shared long table with other guests, where we ate by candlelight and an accompanying fire, and afterwards being accompanied back to your tents by the Masai guards. The food was varied, plentiful and of good quality, with a special thank you going out to the kitchen staff who served up fish that our children had caught earlier in the day on a river safari.

Finally, a special mention has to go to the drivers and guides - in our case Abuu, Victor and Elton, all of whom brought us closer than we ever thought possible to the wonderful wildlife that is so abundant at Selous, filling our shared time with so many interesting facts and stories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    27
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
110
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We feel that although there are more luxurious camps available than here that this is in keeping with the bush and nature. The different activities, walks, boat trips & drives, were excellent and gave varying views of the wildlife and surroundings. 3 nights, 4 days was an ideal amount of time to stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was good. As it was our birthdays we had a private meal on our verandah one night and a birthday cake on the other. The tents had everything you needed.

We saw all the wildlife we wanted to see including wild dogs, which was one of the reasons we choose to come here, and the elusive leopard.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Elephants at dawn, dusk and pretty much any time between wandering through the camp with the baboons, impala and many birds all around. The Masai who escort you to the tents are not just for show! The river trips are great for not only the many hippos and crocs but also the bird life, which is of great variety and beauty. You are in the heart of the tourist part of the reserve and your chances of spotting lions, elephants, buffalo and all kinds of prey are very high indeed. Leopards and hunting dogs are also around but more elusive and you need a bit of luck to see them. The guides are fantastic and this seemed to be one of the few lodges that had drivers and guides in every jeep so they could spot more game for you to marvel at. The bandas are more basic than at some other camps but have everything you need and you really only go there to sleep anyway. We had 4 nights there and found that about the right amount of time. Food is fine and eaten outside under the stars, which is magical. Very highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lake Manze Camp is the best safari experience I have ever had. The camp does not have any boundaries as such so you are sharing the environment with the wildlife which gives you an authentic experience that is simply unforgettable. The tents are lovely and provide you with plenty of comfort cleverly created using natural resources. As soon as you arrive and throughout your stay you feel totally connected to the natural environment; we both felt it was a very spiritual experience. We saw hippos, buffalo, impala, baboon, elephants etc.. Whilst sitting under our tent
awning or walking to and from the main camp area. When walking around the camp you are escorted by a Masai employee of the camp so you always feel safe.

The staff and facilities at the camp are fantastic. Everything is rustic and sympathetic to its surroundings. The meal times are great as you sit on shared tables and get to meet other guests. We found this to be great fun and really interesting. Although we were on honeymoon it was wonderful to spend some of our holiday in a more 'social' dinner party style setting.

As for the actual safari, the area is very diverse so you are able to see different Eco systems and the wildlife they support. The lake is full of hippos, crocs and bird life; we took 2 evening boat safaris and saw all the lake had to offer including a herd of giraffe crossing the lake at sunset. The driving safaris were wonderful. Our guide (Emmanuel) was really knowledgable and made the safaris varied and memorable. We saw loads of lions in different settings, wild dogs with four pups, a herd of about 50 elephants and lots of smaller groups, hyena, giraffe, buffalo - the list goes on! We also went on a walking safari which we both loved. Although you don't get as close to the animals on foot - for obvious reasons- you learn more about the animals behaviour and their relationship to the plants and each other. The park is not over crowded which was really important to me and considering we visited in August I was expecting the usual school holiday crowds but thankfully my concerns were unfounded.

We stayed for 3 nights, on reflection I would have liked an additional night there but we saw a great deal and loved every second of our stay. I definitely intend to go back to lake manze camp and would recommend it to anyone seeking a rustic, authentic safari experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I only had the choice of a weekend to go to the famous Selous Game Reserve, and stayed one night in this Tented Camp. The moment we were picked at the landing strip, in the morning, went straight to a game drive. It was an amazing experience, with twelve lions sleeping after a big feast on a buffalo, and saw many other animals. Our guide, Davies, is very knowlegeable on birds and that was exactment what I wanted. We did check in to the camp at lunch time. In the afternoon, went to a boat "drive" in the Lake, up to where it meets the mighty Rufiji River, meandring between hippos and flush vegetation, and a gorgeous sun set over the water. At night, our Masai guards helped us to walk between the tent and the dining room, cause there was an elephant in the way, who, of course, had the right of pass! The camp is simply marvelous, simple and surrounded by palm trees, which is wath attracts elephants and baboons. Next morning went for a game drive very early, and spent hours around the Lakes and in the Selous planes, with breakfast in the bush, again seeing a wide variety of wildlife, plant species, birds. All the game drives are in good, large vehicles, with a maximum of 4 people. After lunch, I was transported to the landing strip and the one-hour trip was a journey through wildlerness again. The service, the staff, the ambience, everything was top quality! Recommend!

Room Tip: The "rooms" are tents with private shower - with hot water - and toilet. They look all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went to Lake Manze for 3 days in July. First safari, and its set a really high standard.
We had Bakari and Victor as our tour guides and they looked after us really well. Even though we were in the middle of the wild we felt safe at all times.
The accommodation was really nice. Big tents with showers, toilets and fans. Ours looked over the water so could see hippos and giraffe's. Elephants were also around our tent but we never saw them.
Dinner under the stars and the performances from the Massai tribe were amazing.
Just had a great time, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 3 days at Lake Manze in July 2012 for the beginning of our honeymoon and were absolutely spoilt.
I could write for pages on how amazing the safari was, but will keep it short and just mention that we saw everything we ever wanted and it far surpassed all expectations. Highlights for us being seeing 2 separate lion hunts, 1 resulting in a kill and watching them eat and elephants just metres away shaking trees to make the fruit fall for their baby to eat.

The accommodation is fairly basic, but the tents are realy nice and comfortable and having a shower under the stars is amazing. We believe that the true experience of a safari isn't having a luxury room with a pool, but being fairly rough/rustic and being in amongst the animals at all times. This was another highlight, as the camp isnt fenced off we shared breakfast with elephants and watched as elephants and a hippo wandered by our tent on 2 separate nights. Despite this we felt completely safe at all times, thanks in part to the Masai.

The staff were all very kind and friendly. Our guide and driver for the 3 days (Giovanni and Daniel) were brilliant and got us right into the middle of the action.

The food was also amazing, we loved every course of every meal.

We couldnt recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve

Address: P O box 3052 | Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Selous Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Selous Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve Hotel Selous Game Reserve
Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Manze Tented Camp, Selous Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.