We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Manyara Serena Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was the first lodge we stayed at during our 5 day safari in Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngoronoro national parks.

We got a room with 3 single beds - it was one of those rooms that could be used by a family i.e. there was a door between 2 rooms side by each. Housekeeping promptly came by and made up a double bed for us. The lodge was full, so they were unable exchange the room to a double. Not a problem. We appreciated the mosquito net too.

The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The meals were very good with good choices to appeal to every palate.

The walkway to and from the main building and room are not fully lit at night; thus making difficult to see one's way to the rooms - that was the only issue we had.

Unfortunately, we couldn't use the infinity pool, which was most inviting overlooking the Lake.

I would recommend this lodge to anyone considering a safari trip to this amazing part of world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    233
    64
    12
    6
See reviews for
125
242
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
breckenridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The pool area had wonderful views, we even watched a native dancing show around it. The individual "lodging huts" are nice and each have a view also. The food was excellent and the service personnel very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Couldn't fault this lodge. Amazing location and setting, gorgeous pool and bar. Impeccable staff. Great food.

Rooms were beautiful with great showers, beds. Turndown service. Fast Internet access in public areas.

Pricey but well worth the extra cash after a long day on safari.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spectacular views over the Nation Park. The Lodge has interesting architecture there out the resort and rooms. The Internet at the time of our stay was very slow. Our room was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the Buffet Dinner was fabulous with a lot of variety to choose from and plentiful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in December during our safari for only 1 night. However, what a night. The rooms are interesting and cute - like walking up to a Hobbit house. Dinner was fantastic - with a buffet of foods from different cultures. The infinity pool overlooks the Serengeti - how many times might you say that to friends and family?! It was cold, but invigorating. Great gift shop.

The rooms were spacious and bed was comfy.

Now for the best part: Just after dark we cracked open the window in our room with the lights out and, perfectly still, we listened. For more than three hours we heard at least 2 lions grunting right outside our room. This was an experience to be savored - provided we were safely in room! They seemed perfectly content, with a an occasional low roar. Obviously, you do not walk around this place at night, which made it even more exciting.

If we can get back to Tanzania, I will make sure we're here for more than 1 night.

Room Tip: If you're interested in hearing the wildlife at night, ask for a room farthest out. Just make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms and main lodge have some of the most amazing architecture in the country. Unfortunately, the walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear your neighbor think. The view from each room over looks the distant, but nearly dry Manyara Lake. The Associated park is small and better know for its birds than lots of wild animals. It is one park you can skip and not have missed much. The lodge food is good and provides free champagne for breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was with a group that stayed only one night and one of our members has already given a positive review of the amenities. I would like to add my experience with the staff.

This was my first opportunity to use the wifi in Africa. The lodge has a room with computers plus you can use your own via wifi if you are close by. There was an employee to guide me into logging on. (The service is pay per hour.) this was very helpful.

While our group was being checked in I inadvertently left a few items on the floor by my bag and then went off and forgot them when I picked up the bag. They found their way back to me the next day before I had missed them! I was impressed because there are groups coming and going all the time.

Overall a good impression even though we were not there long.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Manyara Serena Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.