We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY VIEWS SHAME ABOUT THE DINING ROOM MANAGER” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Manyara Serena Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WORCESTERSHIRE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“LOVELY VIEWS SHAME ABOUT THE DINING ROOM MANAGER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here at the end of May during our safari. We arrived just before lunch. Check in was a bit "messy" with people who arrived after us being checked right in whilst we had to wait.We just assumed it was one of those things but subsequent happenings proved otherwise. We went for lunch and there were tables on the outside verandah but we were told we could not have one even though there were no reserved notices, but we could wait until one of the occupied tables became free which we chose to do. However we then saw the same group who were checked in before us come to the restaurant and be immediately seated at one of the vacant tables we couldn't have.There were 6 in our group so we sat patiently only to see another group be seated on the table we were supposed to be having. As the only male member of the party I went to find out what was happening only to be told that we had to eat inside !!! I did not accept this and after another wait and a group leaving we did end up on an outside table but it did leave a sour taste. Worse was to come at Dinner when it became even more obvious that there were "favourite" tourists as again tables were free outside with only one having a reserved label but we ended up inside... Then the evening did take an even worse turn as our waiter was obviously "bullied" into rushing us by the Dining room manager who virtually stood over him (we wondered if this was because we complained at Lunchtime) We refused to accept this and told the waiter to slow down which appeared to scare him so my wife called the Dining room manager over and all of us told him that we were not happy with his behaviour and his apparent bullying. He said it was training !!!!!! but as it was only our waiter and us being treated like this we were of course sceptical..... When we left the dining room the Dining room Manager must have realised how unhappy we were and came and offered us a free drink which we declined and again let him know how we felt... The resort manager also came and apologised but we said the damage had been done !!!!
Now the positives, lovely resort, beautiful views, nice room, staff (apart from above) absolutely fine, food excellent. However we were glared at next morning at breakfast so i have to say this was the only real uncomfortable experience we had at any of the Serena lodges we stayed at on our 9 day safari.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    233
    64
    12
    6
See reviews for
125
242
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed one night here as part of our safari and the service is second to none. the staff were sooooo friendly and went out of there way to make our stay amazing even though the place was packed. The food was brilliant and they even let us take a big box of pastries on our safari the next day. The rooms were very nice, really clean and had a great view.

Room Tip: Choose room 21!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at Serena for 1 night in July 2012. I really loved the breakfast and dinner. I was on a 1 week safari and dinner at Serena was the best. There is a chef on the spot to make your pasta of choice. Servers were very attentive, many of which provide much better service compared to back home in Canada. One thing I didn't like is that they charge $5usd/1hour to use the internet even though our tour operator confirmed with me that there is free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here on our safari trip and the view from the infinity pool was definitely worth it. The staff were really good and I think the rooms on balance were better than the Sopa Lodge. The gardens were well maintained, probably to keep up with what was around them! A very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This Serena property might actually qualify as a "lodge" but only as a high quality one. Situated on the edge of the Valley the view down is spectacular. The pool is of the type where you can swim to the valley side and look down into it and someone would get a spectacular photo of you looking like your about to tumble into it. Food and staff like all the Serena properties I stayed in were well above average for a safari "lodge" and like its sister properties the rooms were clean, spacious and way above acceptable to put it mildly. Again, I would recommend all the Serena properties in Tanzania

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

A beautiful lodge with pretty grounds and superb views across the rift valley and Lake Manyara. The food was excellent, although the starter and desert courses were buffet. We seemed to arrive just as a new staff team was being trained and although they were always helpful they were not always effective. Be sure to take the bird walk with Yotham the lodge naturalist. He is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and makes a two hour walk seem far too brief.
Although the lodge is perched some 200 metres above the National Park Bushbuck roam the ground freely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at this lodge for 1 night in May 2012 during our safari. The room was clean, and adequate. The meals were good as well. The best thing of all was that we had left the lodge in our safari van and had gone about 4 miles down the road when a man on a motorcycle caught up with us and told us someone had left their camera bag at the lodge. We turned around and retrieved my husband's camera and bag back at the lodge that he had inadvertently left there. How thoughtful to send someone to chase us down and return the property--made our trip even more special!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Manyara Serena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manyara Serena Lodge

Address: Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Manyara Serena Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking as its muse the glorious bird life of the fabulously soda-encrusted and pink flamingo-fringed...Lake Manyara, the swooping curves of this elegantly evocative lodge defy description. As do the soaring views over the Great Rift Valley, the rose-gold sunsets over the Mto Wa Mbu escarpment and the utterly unique tree climbing Lake Manyara lions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Manyara Serena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Manyara Serena Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Manyara Serena Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.