We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Lodge which is well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ol Mesera Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol Mesera Safari Camp
Save
You added Ol Mesera Safari Camp to your Saves list
Ngorongoro, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a Lodge which is well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Ol Mesera Safari Camp. The hospitality, food and accommodation were great and the trip to meet the local Maasai people was fascinating. We would certainly recommend the camp to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Safari Camp, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Nick and Lesley, thank you very much for your kind words! It is always a pleasure to show some real Africa to our guests. Good luck with your house and B&B and hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed the quiet and 'bush' feel of this lodge a bit off the main road by Manyara NP. The location was peaceful and even quieter than the tent lodges we stayed at in the Serengeti. As others have said, the owner Barbara is a wonderful host. The meals were fresh and home cooked with plenty of veggies, which we appreciated. A particular highlight was the guided hike we took with one of the lodge's Maasai employees (and resident of a nearby boma). He took us up to a beautiful hill overlooking the valley where we ran into his brother's herding goats. It was fun to interact with his family and get to know a bit about the community. We definitely recommend doing a guided hike while staying at Ol Mesera.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Safari Camp, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Come back soon for more fresh vegetables from our own veggie-patch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stay at Barbara's Ol Mesera (= Baobab) Lodge whenever I can. Even though it's 14km off the main road that runs between Kilimanjaro Airport / Arusha city and the nature-lovers "Crown Jewels" of Ngorongoro and the immense Serengeti 'wildebeest park'.

It's always very good for my primary interest - birding. Yet it is also one of the best places for seeing some of the smaller mammals - as different from one another as Aardwolf and African Dormouse - both of which can be downright tricky to find anywhere "even in the Parks".

I would say that if you are a bit short of cash and/or time it's probably THE VERY BEST way to sample the safari experience in a short visit to Northern Tanzania.

Hire a vehicle and driver in Arusha and then stay THREE nights at Ol Mesera.

This enables you to visit Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara for a full day each, and thereby to get a realy good taste of what the Tanzanian Northern Safari Circuit has to offer.

Book it today, see it this year!

Room Tip: Ask Barbara for your preference of tent - each with a wonderful view of the mighty wall of The Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Safari Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words James; you are always welcome! Many guests who spend more than 2 nights find it worthwhile because of the proximity to national parks, or just to relax and unwind after a (dusty) safari. Take your time, pole pole is definitely the way to sample Northern Tanzania! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The owner Barbara and her team (all locals from the surrounding villages) will make you feel at home. Perfect place to relax before or after a safari, with possibility to meet the local Maasai community, do walking tours, watch the wild life running through the garden of the camp.... There is a very genuine feeling to the place, it's simple with high-quality service. We're vegetarian and the chef cooked us an abundance of delicious vegetarian dishes every day -- some of the best food we had during our 4wks in Africa (e.g. eggplants cooked in ginger and garlic). Every morning you wake up to an unforgettable view of baobab trees and the Ngorongoro escarpement.
Two more things worth noting:
- The owner is a caring and extremely helpful person. The day of our departure she drove us to the nearest village (Mto Wa Mbu), waited for over 1 hour with us and helped finding a reliable means of transport to Arusha. She also served as translator with the local Maasai people. It all made us feel as if we were staying with extended family, not just at a camp as tourists. Thank you Barbara and team!
- The camp is not so well indicated on the road from Mto Wa Mbu. But keep driving... you'll be rewarded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Safari Camp, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! It is always a pleasure to hear our guests enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A little bit offf the beaten track, Ol Mesera's usassuming set-up gives the traveller a truly out-of-Africa experience that is not so easy to find in Tanzania's increasingly congested northern tourist circuit. We had a few peaceful days all by ourselves in this private camp while recovering from our trip to Arusha and Tarangire, and preparing for the hectic travel through the Ngorongoro and Serengeti. For such a stop-over, Ol Mesera's is perfectly located: two hours from Arusha, one hour form Tarangire, and one hour to the Ngorongoro.
While not posh, Ol Mesara has everything we longed for: a comfortable, spacious and self-contained safari tent with hot running water, good meals, a cold beer, personal service, spectacular views in the western rift, and all that for a very reasonable price. Just do it.

Room Tip: All the tents are placed on the escarpment with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArjanTiessen, General Manager at Ol Mesera Safari Camp, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here in April when it was very quiet, we were the only guests. Barbara, the owner is lovely and very friendly and always keen to make sure you have everything you need. The rooms (tents) are in good condition and have a rustic feel to them. There is a small bar and restaurant area. Meals were all cooked just for us and were served at the table. The food was all really nice and there was loads of it. The staff, who were lovely, are all local Massai with only fairly limited English which did make communication interesting at times. Our guide was welcome to join us for any meals he wanted. In the end he didn't have dinner but did join us for breakfast. If you are looking for somewhere a little different with a lovely rural feel then I would definately recommend OL Mesera.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It's a small camp, six big tents with a magnificent view at the valley to the Ngorogoro hills.
Each tent has a lot of privacy (big plots), toilet and shower facilities and a nice terrace.
It's amazing that you can be in the middle of nowhere and drink a cold bear and have a hot shower.
At night you'll hear zebras, hyenas and other wildlife. Don't worry, you'll be save, because there is always a maasai guard around.
We have been to Gibbs Farm, Serena and Seronera etc. and those places maybe more luxurious, but the experience of Ol Mesera is the best ! It is sober, but everything what you need is there. It's clean and has a super atmosphere, hard to explain in a review, it feels good … peaceful … holiday !
So plan it on your trip, it's a perfect spot between Tarangire and Ngorogoro (just 65km), it's different, the food is good, the personal is great, you will not regret a visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol Mesera Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Mesera Safari Camp

Address: Ngorongoro, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a true African bush environment, our camp is between the major National Parks in the Northern circuit of Tanzania. The Ngorongoro conservation area, Lake Manyara, Tarangire and the famous Serengeti are nearby.The perfect place to relax after a day of game viewing in a stunning surrounding of valleys and the Ngorongoro escarpment.Five comfortable safari tents provide serenity and exclusivity.The tents have private bathrooms with hot/cold showers and flush toilets. A mix of European and African dishes is served in the dining area shaded by two baobas. Room rates include full board. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol Mesera Safari Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.