We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Luxury Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Save
You added Escarpment Luxury Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Escarpment Lodge is an unexpected paradise in the Lake Manyara National Park area. The facility is absolutely beautiful. The staff is among the best that we experienced on our safari in Tanzania. Our butler Agatha anticipated our every need. French press coffee was delivered to our room with our wake up call. The fòod is delicious. The managers Zane and Jo are exceptional They both make their guests feel welcome, comfortable and special. Zane went the extra mile and helped resolve our departing flight seat assignments. We will definitely recommend this resort to our friends

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Visited in February, first 2 days of 9 safari days. Escarpment Lodge is in a great spot, up a jeep trail from a village in very nicely laid out grounds. The lodge rooms are distributed throughout the grounds and staff in Masai tribal wear accompany you to and from your lodge. The lodges are absolutely great, massive beds, panoramic views, rolltop bath looking over wilderness, outdoor shower as well as indoor shower. The host was very friendly and took time to ensure we were happy. The only area for improvement was the food, which was fine but not spectacular. 2 evenings spent there, and the desert, peanut butter with cream on top, was served both evenings. Still worth a visit :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a wonderful start to our safari! We arrived at this gorgeous lodge after a full day game drive in Lake Manyara and had about 30 minutes left of pool time before dark. Was really wonderful to cool off in the pool with a glass of wine after the long, dusty day.
The rooms are really quite large and beautiful, with very comfortable beds, big bathroom areas, gorgeous views and, my favourite, fabulous outdoor showers.
While the GM was very knowledgable and customer service oriented the service was lacking. Certainly not for lack of trying, everyone was trying to be very customer service oriented but just didn't quite have the skill set yet to know how to do things very well.
Was really wonderful to eat dinner outdoors and again breakfast in the morning overlooking Manyara. Food, as in most of our other luxury lodges, was ok but not fantastic. Pain au chocolat in the morning was the exception and was awesome!
Really enjoyed the lodge and would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Lodge is quite new and a little oasis and in a lovely location overlooking Lake Manyara and the National Park. The villas are very spacious, comfortable and well designed, nice verandah, outdoor shower, appealling luxury interior and very comfortable. Every guest has their private butler and after dark a guard escorts you from your villa to the main building with the bar, restaurant and large swmming pool. It's a very relaxing place to stay, food is good and the terrace of the restaurant and pool area overlooks the lake which is lovely. Some staff were super and very friendly, service in some areas needs a bit more coordination. Picnic lunches were in a cardboard box and nothing to write about. Like in all the resorts the staff take good care of your transport arrangements to airport and other destinations. Can highly recommend the villas and recommend the resort as a place to rest

Room Tip: They are all similar, I think my no was 6 and I had a great view over the lake. By fitness centre I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaZane, Manager at Escarpment Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Dagma2011

Many thanks for your lovely and detailed revue. Given your position as head of arguably one of the best hotels in the world we are very happy to have received your seal of approval and to have you recommend us as a place to stay.
I would just like to mention that I have gone through our records and noted that the person who served you was a high season temp who is no longer with us. Also you had received a lunch pack as booked from us and not the picnic lunch as stated which is vastly different. We have taken your comments on board and although we are inclined to keep using the square cardboard lunchboxes for packing convenience in the Safari vehicles we will certainly review their contents and see if we can make them a little more memorable!
We hope you had a wonderful time on the remainder of your safari and hope to see you back in Africa again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
The Escarpment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my husband have traveled the world a lot. This lodge stands out as one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed.

The Escarpment lodge was the first place me and my husband stayed on our 6 day honeymoon safari. The huts you stay in are absolutely beautiful. They each have so much detail and tons of space. The bathroom is huge and has a shower, tub and outdoor shower. The view is equally as incredible with full windows facing the beautiful views.

The food was also amazing. The chef does a great job of providing a variety of food and making each dish delicious. Our waiter was fabulous and made sure every detail was correct.

We loved every minute here. I would suggest planning an early morning safari so you can take advantage of the pool in the afternoon because the view is incredible. We wish we had more time at the lodge!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaZane, Manager at Escarpment Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Beth

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our lodge. We hope you had an amazing honeymoon! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you both back in Africa again soon.

Kind regards
The Escarpment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our 5th of 6 hotels we were staying in during our honeymoon in Africa.

All of which were at the top end of the star ratings to put the 3 * rating in context which is the lowest rating we have given during the trip.

The hotel has great potential. On a positive side

- pool was the best we'd seen in Tanzania lodges
- food was fresh & absolutely delicious
- views over Lake Manyara were stunning
- a great location for visiting both Lake Manyara & Ngorangora Crater
- close to Manyara airport to fly up to the serengetti
- Lounge area is very atmospheric

However some improvements are needed, and I hope the new manager (she had been there 2 months when we stayed there) will remedy these in due course

- Mosquito nets had holes in them
- Bedrooms were cluttered, no free surfaces to put your belongings
- Staff didn't understand the difference between red & white wine
- No umbrellas by the pool
- Room wasn't checked over before our arrival, we had to call the staff to remedy a complaint
- Toiletries were not topped up daily

My personal niggle, our booking was spattered with the word honeymoon & this was the only hotel that didn't congratulate us and/or give us a small favour, other hotels gave us a free drink, upgraded room, card, roses on the bed etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeltaZane, Manager at Escarpment Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Michelle Y

Thank you so much for your review which is greatly appreciated in order for us to improve on our product and do our utmost to make the experience that much better for our future guests. We are terribly sorry that your status as honeymooners seems to have been overlooked during your stay with us. We endeavor to make all our guests stay an extra special experience with us and more so for honeymooners.
Your comments regarding the rooms have been noted and we are rectifying the issues.
The Butlers have been receiving intensive training and are now certainly aware of the difference between a red and white wine.
We hope the remainder of your honeymoon was as wonderful as the rest of your safari and should you ever wish to return to Africa on holiday or maybe to celebrate a special anniversary please do come back and let us make it up to you!

Kind regards
Zane Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is absolutely deluxe, right down to the claw-footed bathtubs! We were greeted by the staff who sang a welcome and offered us juice and towels. We ate outside and were entertained by a trio singing African music. First time we'd heard any! The pool on the edge of the cliff is unbelievable!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Address: 1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Escarpment Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its wraparound decking affording breath-taking views from high over Lake Manyara, Sanctuary Escarpment Luxury Lodge feels every inch the explorer's outpost. The lodge offers 16 private chalets, with single, double or triple occupancy. Each has a private deck with views of the lake and wildlife wandering through the grounds, large beds, leather sofas, a freestanding bathtub, as well as an indoor and an outdoor shower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Luxury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.