We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional rooms but service didn't match quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Luxury Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Save
You added Escarpment Luxury Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional rooms but service didn't match quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The view & quality of rooms are exceptional, but more contemporary African design than traditional safari lodges so not everyone's taste in our group. The service was poor even taking into account 'Africa time'. This was particularly an issue when breakfast takes over an hour and we wanted to start our game drive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent service, meals, privacy in brand new luxury facility. Wood floors are freshly waxed-be careful walking on them they are so freshly waxed! The pool provides a nice view of the lake. Dining on the deck provides similar views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Escarpment as part of a safari tour. It was by far the best place we stayed in the entire safari. Lodge opened less than 2 years ago, everything is brand new. The room was spotless clean (I am a clean freak), the service was fantastic, food was exquisite. The waiter picked up on our preferences immediately (example, after finding that we're not coffee drinkers, he didn't keep asking us if we wanted coffee every day). The manager greeted us personally every day and wanted to know how he could make our experience unforgettable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms and location of this hotel are PHENOMINAL. But the service is sub par, primarily because of the uneducated staff. Electrical service was out when we arrived and their generator broke for several hours. Limited selection and slow service at breakfast. Many times it seemed the staff while being very nice just didn't understand simple requests like adding ice for a cold drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EddySseb, General Manager at Escarpment Luxury Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Frank A,

We thank you for choosing this lovely gem overlooking the lake Manyara as one of your accomodations on your safari in tanzania and also for taking time to post your constructive review.

We trust that your stay at Escarpment was enjoyable and memorable one. At Escarpment Luxury lodge we are committed to providing each of our guests with a personalised exceptional service, It is from this aspect, that we highly regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your constructive feedback has been passed on to all my team members and we are making every effort to ensure that this shortcomings are addressed, so that we can maintain the exceptional standards that are expected of us.

Once again i would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Edwin Ssebunya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is really an oasis after you have had your fill of tented camps, or just because it is where it is. It has a fabulous location, truly gorgeous views and what makes it outstanding is the combination of friendly service and great accomodations. Just as Ellen G. previously remarked, we had the same experience with a fellow named Ezekiel of the bible, a traveler prophet who went out of his way to without a word make our trip memorable on every occasion he possibly could. He made sure we were served breakfast on the porch, with a view, with the table turned just right, our coffee cups were always filled, the smile on his face always was there and his warmth just lit up the place. It goes to show you how one person can make such a difference in a trip.
Lake Manyara was definitely worth visiting, and all of the advice of skipping this place is misplaced. The wildlife viewing here is stupendous, the scenery not to be missed, and the lodge a real find. Wonderful place. Period.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We loved this lodge! The rooms are huge and beautiful with a free-standing bathtub, indoor and outdoor showers, chandeliers, wifi, air-conditioning, comfortable beds, great views, beautiful dining area, very good food, hair dryers, and a friendly and helpful staff. Our butler, Ezekiel, went to great effort to make our experience outstanding. We were traveling with friends and he moved our table to the outside balcony where we had wonderful views while eating and he made sure we had everything we wanted.
Definitely luxury in Africa and highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Of all the places that we stayed in Tanzania, the Escarpment Luxury Lodge had the most spectacular room by far. In addition to a regular shower, it had an outdoor shower and a deep old-fashioned footed tub. Appointments were chosen for beauty and luxury. The view from the room's balcony was spectacular.( My friends spotted a green mamba on the balcony and got so freaked out that they locked themselves out of the room.) Despite the beauty of the surroundings, I suggest that the management needs to pay more attention to training of the staff. Our 'butler' had mediocre English and was very softspoken and shy -- when I asked him about one of the items on the menu, he ended up looking it up on the internet rather than asking the chef about the ingredients. Turns out that I, a strict vegetarian, took a bite and almost swallowed a piece of sausage. Also, although the room had the luxury of air conditioning -- a rarity in Tanzania -- they had run out of fuel to run it, so the room was really stuffy at night. No windows with screens to open. Assuming that they work on these types of issues, this place is likely to become an A-1 luxury resort in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Address: 1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Escarpment Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its wraparound decking affording breath-taking views from high over Lake Manyara, Sanctuary Escarpment Luxury Lodge feels every inch the explorer's outpost. The lodge offers 16 private chalets, with single, double or triple occupancy. Each has a private deck with views of the lake and wildlife wandering through the grounds, large beds, leather sofas, a freestanding bathtub, as well as an indoor and an outdoor shower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Luxury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.