We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Luxury Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escarpment Luxury Lodge
Save
You added Escarpment Luxury Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Telluride
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed her only one night on September 5, 2012. We had just completed a climb of Kilimanjaro and were looking for a luxury getaway. We were blown away by Escarpment! From the minute we arrived we were greeted by the GM and our butler who made sure that every aspect of our stay was perfect. The views were stunning overlooking Lake Manyara, our room/cabin is what my dream bedroom would look like, and the service was stunning. We had a private dinner table setup overlooking the Lake and even had a band play during our meal. My wife is a vegetarian and the chef was very accommodating and the food/wine was delicious. My wife and I both agreed that this was the most luxurious hotel we have every stayed at anywhere in the world including Europe and the US. Next time we go back to Tanzania we will only stay here while on Safari. The pool is the perfect place to relax after a dusty day on Safari. We stayed at Lemala Tented Camp and Tarangire Treetops and they were great and I would also recommend them, nothing compared to Escarpment. Thank you Escarpment for the one of the most luxurious experience of my life!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Escarpment lodge is absolutely beautiful in stunning surroundings with exceptional staff and attention to detail. The moment we arrived we were greeted by Edwin the General Manager and Mohammed our butler and were made to feel very welcome. Mohammed was very attentive throughout our stay, be it bringing us coffee in the morning, preparing a hot bubble bath for our return from a day exploring, ensuring we had a drink in our hands at all times, to talking to us about the local surroundings and culture. The view over Lake Manyara is breathtaking and the pool and outside areas frame the scenery beautifully. The rooms are amazing with everything you could possibly need and more. The food was also amazing and expertly prepared by Chef Michael and his team.

We went on a walk with the local Masai guide which was very interesting and we learnt about how the Masai live, their traditions and in particular the herbal medicines that they continue to prepare from the local plants and trees.

We could not have asked for more and felt thoroughly relaxed and pampered by the time we came to say goodbye. We highly recommend Escarpment Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Escarpment Luxury Lodge was pretty much perfect in all aspects.

Service - Unparalleled. Edwin, the hotel manager made us feel comfortable from the first second we stepped out of our car to the second we left, answering all of our questions and making sure we were always taken care of. Can't say enough about Tummaini, our butler, who was there every step of the way to make sure we were pampered beyond belief. The entire staff top to bottom made sure that not a second went by when we didn't have everything we needed, whether it be a drink in our hand, escorting us to our rooms at night, or bringing fresh coffee to wake us up in the morning.

Food- Chef Michael put together some phenomenal meals for us, and gave us a wide range of experiences from 7-course marathon tasting menu dinners to a stir fry barbecue cook-out on the lawn overlooking the lake. Breakfast and lunch were solid, but dinner was definitely the main event.

Rooms- Beautiful decor, comfortable beds, indoor and outdoor showers, and a patio with a view over Lake Manyara. As good as it gets.

Entertainment- Every night there was some form of entertainment, whether it be a band to play during dinner or tribal dance and singing shows. All out on the lawn over looking Lake Manyara.

Overall, I'd be shocked if there was a better place to stay around Lake Manyara/Ngorongoro Crater. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone who can afford. Everything about this place is top-notch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here for a night the last week of June. I wish I had stayed longer. Beautiful lodge, great food and the staff is amazing!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a wonderful time with my family, very luxurious, you appreciate the wonderful grounds and experience especially if you go to a tent afterwards. We missed this place the rest of our trip. The rooms are wonderful, the shower, and bath tub and outdoor shower is very cool. The beds so comfortable, the food was great (would say they need to learn how to cook pasta a little better, say use, garlic and butter, and not so over cooked), coffee was great, and french press to the room was a pleasure. The Masai guard taking us to our room and back was wonderful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Spent two nights at the Escarpment Luxury Lodge as part of a safari with Masai Wanderings. Only a small number of rooms were open because of renovations, so we practically had the entire hotel to ourselves.

The rooms and common areas are absolutely beautiful and the staff terrific. Having a Masai stand guard against animals every night was neat. My entire family, including kids ages 12 and 15, wants to return to the Escarpment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just returned from photo safari to Tanzania.
I had great luck to be able to spend 1 night at this magnificant lodge.
Ideally situated on a hill overlooking both Lake Manyara and the surrounding rain forest.
You will really feel "Out of Africa" as you relax in the enormous bathtub, which is raised on wood blocks to enable a bath time view of the lake and surroundings.
Or take an outdoor shower under the African sky, all in your own wood enclosure.
The concept and decor is truly outstanding, African woods, carvings, leather, original African art work.
Needles to say, the food is also outstanding, the chef a master.
So do yourself a favor - do not miss out on visiting Edwin at Escarpments as part of your safari experience.

Room Tip: take any one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Luxury Lodge

Address: 1, Chem Chem, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary Escarpment Lodge)
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Escarpment Luxury Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its wraparound decking affording breath-taking views from high over Lake Manyara, Sanctuary Escarpment Luxury Lodge feels every inch the explorer's outpost. The lodge offers 16 private chalets, with single, double or triple occupancy. Each has a private deck with views of the lake and wildlife wandering through the grounds, large beds, leather sofas, a freestanding bathtub, as well as an indoor and an outdoor shower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Luxury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.