We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Game Ranch in Tanzania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manyara Ranch Conservancy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manyara Ranch Conservancy
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   92 Haile Selassie Road | P.O. Box 2590, Arusha, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Amazing Game Ranch in Tanzania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I've just returned from Manyara Ranch, we weren't there nearly long enough but it was amazing and I'll definitely be back very soon. The tents were luxurious but private and in keeping with the natural surroundings, the food was amazing and the staff, particularly Chris and Jo, were wonderful and so knowledgable about the reserve. They made sure every minute was special and went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxed and wonderful time. i'll 100% be bringing people back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place is magical! It has the BEST of everything- Super luxe accommodations, amazing food, and the best game viewing in Tanzania- without the park fees!!! Jo and Chris are so passionate about the animals and share their love with you! They have created some unique experiences, such as a walking safari, a night time game drive, a horseback safari and an amazing viewing hut right on the waterhole!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Everything about Manyara Ranch was wonderful. The accommodations were lovely, the staff friendly and very helpful, and the food delicious. The two very accomplished people running the ranch, Chris and Joanna, were tireless in providing opportunities for animal viewing (and each outing was rewarding), were extremely knowledgeable, and clearly love their work. We stayed there three days and nights and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I've been on safari in Tanzania several times, but I've never stayed anywhere like Manyara Ranch! It was a real treat to be warmly and genuinely welcomed by the camp staff and shown to my tent -- what luxury! The range of activities is unusual and includes many things you can't do in national parks, like walking and horseback safaris, night drives with a spotlight, and genuine non-touristy visits to Maasai communities. I only wish I didn't fall into such a deep sleep, so that I could have stayed awake listening to the elephants, wildebeest, zebra and lions calling all night long.

If the activities, setting, and food weren't enough already, the hospitality and knowledge of the camp managers/guides put this trip into a whole new category of Superb Safari. Chris and Jo are gracious hosts, knowledgeable guides just full of interesting stories, and have a real passion for their work. We saw big game on our walking safari but it was also very special to take notice of the smaller things happening on the ground that so often go unnoticed, things like dung beetle and honey badger activity, ostrich eggs, snake skins, porcupines, and the like.

What a special place. Stay for a night, stay for a week -- you won't regret it. I can't recommend this enough!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We visited Manyara Ranch Conservancy on our honeymoon, and haven't stopped talking about it yet! We stayed at several other tented camps in Tanzania, but none compared. To be able to view the animals without 10 other vehicles looking too, was special. We had a great experience on our off road game drives, night game drive, and walking safari. The staff was welcoming and the service was great. I can't say enough about how good the food was. Our tent was cozy and met all of our needs. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have recently returned from Manyara Ranch Conservancy, Tanzania Africa. This place is heaven, solitude - exclusive - by - yourself with the animals all located on the edge of the Rift Valley & Lake Manyara.

The sunset drive through the savannah was breathtaking we did not need binoculars as the animals were right up close.

Our guide, was so knowledgeable and personable, he drove us throughout the conservation area including night drives!  There was an abundance of wild animals including elephant, giraffes, impala, wildebeest, jackals, eland, waterbuck, zebra, warthog, countless birds, and we even saw a leopard & lions!

The elegant private tents that we stayed in were beautiful. The attention to detail was 1st Class. Fluffy robes,  Egyptian cotton sheets, comfortable large beds, hot water, flushing toilets, and best - fantastic hot showers :)

The Tents had expansive private porches and screened windows overlooking the savannah; you feel as though you are outside. The sounds at night were truly amazing - the gruff low call of distant lions - and the cicadas (grasshoppers) humming. The light breeze and the aromatic herbal aroma that is only found in the wilderness of Sub- Saharan Africa ... I had such a great time.

Sundowners (evening cocktails), and conversation around the campfire were all followed by delicious food served at the grand table in the main dining tent. It was like a dream. We did not ride horses at Manyara, but that too is available if you so wish.

Thank-you Manyara Ranch & team for the wonderful experience and the memories that will last a lifetime - I will be back with company to share my experiences I had with Manyara Conservancy Ranch :)  With best regards Rosemary Hart haidahart@telus.net

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa River
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

A truly delightful 6 room camp situated on a 40,000 acre conservancy. Manyara Ranch re-captures everything that was so quintessentially East Africa and wrapped in a lovely modern context of flush loos, showers so powerful they could knock you clean through the tent walls, delightful bedding and simple but elegant furniture. The bird life around the camp is extraordinary, which added to the superb food and wonderfully attentive staff makes game drives almost superfluous. We went on a game walk with a young guide who had encyclopaedic knowledge of the flora and fauna and finished with sundowners overlooking a dam, attended by elephants walking right past us - scary but amazing.

It is also one of the few places one can do night game drives and horses are on hand for those who can ride sufficiently well to ride comfortably among lions, zebras, giraffes and of course many elephants. The area is a transit corridor for the game from Tarangire to Lake Manyara and beyond.

A lovely place and one we hope to visit many more times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manyara Ranch Conservancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyara Ranch Conservancy

Address: 92 Haile Selassie Road | P.O. Box 2590, Arusha, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manyara Ranch Conservancy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and exclusivity make this comfortable tented camp an ideal safari destination. Offering professionally guided walks, game viewing on horseback, night game drives, safaris to Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Manyara and visits to the local Maasai community, Manyara Ranch Conservancy offers a glimpse at conservation programs in action. Every visit puts substantial sums of money into conserving this critical wildlife migration corridor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manyara Ranch Conservancy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manyara Ranch Conservancy to your Saves list