We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camp in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemala Manyara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lemala Manyara to your Saves list
Lemala Manyara
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Manyara National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great camp in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This camp is in a great location within the park and has nice visibility of the lake. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The tents were in great condition, with wooden floors, comfortable beds, shower, flush toilet and sink. Bottled water is provided for brushing teeth. Showers were hot and available on request. The tents are lit with solar-powered lights that are charged during the day. They bring the hot water to fill the shower bag and hoist it above the tent to provide the shower water. You let them know if the temperature is good and if you need more water. Food was excellent. Great quality and variety, served in a very nice dining/lounge tent. Evening snacks and drinks were served while sitting around the fire. Overall, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Stevein CH

Thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at our camp on the lake shore of Lake Manyara National Park. Lake Manyara National Park is one of the gems of the northern circuit with incredible game viewing opportunities, exquisite panaramic views of the Great Rift Valley and of course the lake itself. It offers very diverse ecosystems as you drive through ground water forest, open and closed woodland, lake shore, escarpment and lake shore. When the weather is good, guests at Lemala Manyara enjoy breakfast under a tree overlooking the sunrise over the lake. Is there a better way to start the day?

Thanks again for posting and I wish you safe and happy travels.


Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The evening started with a sunset cocktail hour set up near the lake. This was followed by Bush TV (camp fire) and more drinks. Finally dinner was served and was lamb chops with mint sauce which was excellent. A representative of the owners was staying the night and we were entertained with some amazing stories from his experiences in Africa. Great Time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear TN-Worm.
Lemala Manyara must be one of the best kept secrets on the northern circuit in Tanzania. The location of the camp lends to a totally exclusive experience with uninterrupted views of the lake and the dramatic back drop of the Great Rift Valley wall which towers up just behind the camp. Guests love the meals which are served outside where they can take in the views whilst enjoying mouthwatering meals and sipping sun downers. I am so happy that you had a great time with us and I wish you safe and happy travels.

Best wishes

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this property in September, when the lake is practically dry, and NO one around. So, we had the place all to ourselves!! Peter and Dale from the camp bent over backwards for us and we simply have nothing but the very best to say about them. This is a typical tented camp but of course very clean and well maintained but the service and staff elevated this rating to an excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Carrie L
Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and appreciate the time that you took to write to Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our staff and they will be most pleased to receive your feedback.

Best wishes

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Lemala Camp has a great location for exploring Lake Manyara, and a beautiful setting. Tents are wonderfully maintained and the service is impeccable. Probably the friendliest camp I stayed in while in Tanzania. The food was excellent as well. I really don't have a single complaint. If you're going to stay overnight at Manyara (which I recommend), the Lemala Camp is hard ti beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear nycWinston

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about our camp and the staff. At Lemala Camps, we recognise our staff as being our biggest asset and we truly appreciate you taking the time in writing your review on Trip Advisor. We also recognise that it is the guests' experience which makes for a memorable stay and I am very happy that you had just that.
I wish you safe travels and happy journeys.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at 2 Lemala camps during our safari, and they were both great. Lemala Manyara was our first location and we were totally thrilled with the location, the tented accommodation and the entire experience.
The staff at the Lemala camps are extraordinarily customer focused. The moment we arrived, the entire staff came to welcome us with smiles, "jambo", damp cloths and cold juice. They quickly wisked away our bags and gave us an orientation to the camp.

They are attentive, eager to please, and easy to talk with. We spoke about their lives in Tanzania, politics, native vegetation and animals, about our home, Canada and they were totally engaging. Every night we had bush TV, both before and after dinner, where we would sit and have a drink before the fire pit, and chat with other campers and some of the staff.

Masaii warriors patrolled the camp all night, and there was no fear that unwanted animals would intrude on our stay. In the middle of the night, our daughters awoke to a loud flapping noise in the tent at around 3am, and were totally freaked out, so they called on the walkie talkies and 5 staff came running to help them. It was only a large flying beetle but at 3am it could have been anything to them.

The food was absolutely delicious. We had vegetarian, and meat eaters, but everything was so delicious and beautifully presented. We also asked for and had Tanzanian food, (ugali and beef stew) which was very tasty.

We missed the staff from the camp when we left, as they made us feel so welcome. If we were ever to visit Tanzaina in the future, we would return to Lemala Manyara and highly recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Penny275
It is extremely important for us to know that we are delivering a quality and personalised guest experience which you evidently got at our camp. Thanks very much for the wonderful review about our camp and staff. I will be sure to be passing this on to them and they will be so happy to receive it. We have now introduced new mouth watering menus for veg and non veg tastes which I am sure our guests are going to be raving about.
Safe travels and best wishes.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Unlike the other tented camps we stayed in, the grounds were less developed and much more natural. The tents were also more "tent-like" - we actually found them to be quite nice and comfortable. Lots of birds around. The staff member who was assigned to our tent was exceptionally nice and helpful. He not only made sure we had everything we need, but also took us on a short bird walk in the morning. Great place if you are a birder -

The staff at this camp were amazing - always available to help and very friendly.

We would recommend this tented camp with hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sirijay
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. This is much appreciated and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being a small camp on the lake shore, guests are able to enjoy a personalised and intimate experience away from the crowds. Lemala Manyara is indeed ideally located to offer incredible views of the lake and the wall of the great Rift Valley escarpment as well as offering fantastic birding and game viewing experiences.
Best wishes and safe journeys.

Tom Yule
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed At this camp for only one night during our safari. It was great.mwe went on a night time game drive, which was one of the more fun things that we did. Michael, the camp manager, was our guide for the night drive. He and the other employee who guided us(can't remember his name, he was slightly hearing impaired) were by far and way the most knowledgeable people we met regarding African wildlife. The game drive was nice as the park ranger allowed for us to go off road into the bush. The food was great at the camp. The attendant Kibe was also very nice. The tent was very nice. I wasn't expecting the four seasons in the middle of Africa as it looks like some people did. Very clean, comfortable and great service. Would recommend highly and would return if I ever get the chance with my wife.ntqhese guys were great.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Manyara, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Josh H

Thank you for the great review. It is nice to be compared to a four seasons. Night drives are fun if one has the opportunity to do them as you can see the nocturnal animals which are not normally seen in the day time.
Best wishes

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemala Manyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Manyara

Address: Manyara National Park, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Manyara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep inside the park and far from the crowds, LEMALA MANYARA is a traditional safari camp with an incredibly beautiful lake-facing location at the edge of an acacia woodland. Guests who stay here love the isolation and the scenery that it offers, that it lends itself to a two night stay with the walking safaris and night game drives that are available. As all tents face the lake, guests are often treated to beautiful sunrises. Each tent is spacious and has 2 large 3/4-size beds with warm duvets. In addition, there is wooden flooring with rugs, 24-hour solar lighting, and en-suite bathrooms with a dressing area, flush toilet and a great safari shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Lemala Manyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemala Manyara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.