We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic tented camp in a nice, but swampy and bug-infested, area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Migunga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Migunga Tented Camp
Save
You added Migunga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Basic tented camp in a nice, but swampy and bug-infested, area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Migunga Tented Camp for 1 night on a recent safari in Tanzania. There were lots of monkeys, bush babies and other small animals around the camp which was lovely, and the large migunga trees throughout the camp were nice. However the camp is situated in a rather swampy area near the Lake Manyara National Park, which was very convenient for game drives through the park but also meant there were a lot of mosquitos and bugs around the camp and even inside our tent. We had a few very large spiders in our tent which made us feel uncomfortable about sleeping there, despite the tent being quite nice. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and courteous and the food was great, it was just the setting and number of insects around that we really did not like. The camp may be alright in the dry season when there is less water (and therefore fewer bugs) around, but during the rainy season it was not that pleasant. Overall the camp is not bad for the price, just come prepared with your insect repellant or spend a bit more and stay somewhere nicer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Roeby93,

Thank you for posting this nice review on Trip Advisor.

Isn't it lovely to be so close to nature? We are very pleased that you enjoyed the meals, staff and general environment of the camp.

Karibu Tena Migunga Camp.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were a group of 3 and wanted camping with the perks of beds, toilet and shower. Our tour with local tour company - Pristinetrails - booked us at Migunga (meaning: Acacia) Tented camp for 2 nights and it was just great for a safari trip! The permanent tents were more like cabins with the thatched roofs and wooden floors and it was nice that the tents were well separated from one another (we had one twin and one double room for the 3 of us). The toilet-shower facilities were nice and bottled water was provided for brushing. There was a mosquito net and incense coils to keep mosquitoes away. The meals were served in their restaurant which was warmly decorated and service was friendly and great. The forest environment comes alive at night with the owls, bush babies, insects and is all part of the wonderful experience :).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Roeby93,

Thank you for posting this nice review on Trip Advisor.

Isn't it lovely to be so close to nature? We are very pleased that you enjoyed the meals, staff and general environment of the camp.

Karibu Tena Migunga Camp.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Situated among tall trees, the raised tents , the main lodge with dining room, the grounds , everything is bathed in a lovely green light, with soft rustling sounds overhead- refreshing after a hot day in Lake Manyara National Park in the dry season!Staff was friendly, service was great, food delicious, tents roomy, beds comfy - overall an excellent place to stay on Safari - we were sorry to have had only one night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Petra,

Thanks for your great review of Migunga Tented Camp.

We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us as we strive for our guests to receive excellent service with nice rooms, nice service and excellent food.

Hoping that when you have more time you will come relax for a longer period at the Migunga Tented Camp.

Karibu Sana!

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here one night and were very pleased with our stay. Our tent was past the bridge so it was secluded. As we were being guided to our room on arrival, there was a monkey on our porch. The grounds are lush and beautiful, at night you can hear the sounds of nature and animals. It is very peaceful, even if you are a light sleeper.

The tents are spread our so you don't ever feel crowded. The tents themselves are very comfortable with king sized beds and large bathrooms. The shower was large and had plenty of hot water. I love the fact that you can look out your mesh windows and see beauty all around you.

The food here is very good. Our first night we had the choice of lamb or vegetable stew. We don't like lamb so opted for the vegetable which was quite good and surprisingly filling. Upon arriving we were asked if we had any food restrictions, which we said we had none. If you really don't like something-tell them at that time as by dinner time it is usually too late.

I would love to stay here again. It was very serene and beautiful, the staff was also very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Migunga Tented Camp, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Migunga Tented Camp.

We are very happy to know that you were pleased with our services, staff and amenities.

We also appreciate you sharing this on Trip Advisor and we would love to welcome you back sometime soon.

Thanks & Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to be near Lake Manyara and the Ngorongoro Crater.
The staff and management are excellent and all go out of their way to make this a nice place to stay.
However, some of the rooms are very far from the main lodge and the camp itself is quite a drive from most places.
One night here is probably sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main lodge building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed at Migunga Tented camp for one night. The tents are large, on raised staging and are clean enough with bathroom. Entry to the tents involves unzipping the front flap which is not too easy in the dark. The food was passable and the setting in dry woodland was interesting because of the birds etc. You are escorted back to your tent at night which is reassuring fro the nervous but there are no dangerous animals here.

Room Tip: All the tents are well spaced but try to get one not too far from the restaurant and don't tread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I should say now that we were on our honeymoon and neither of us are avid campers and Migunger was just a little bit too much like a camp site as it was the only place we stayed at where we felt like we were actually unzipping and zipping a tent to get in and out at night.

The food was good but I wouldn't say it was as good as other places we stayed, we arrived late and it was all darkness and insects (it is in a forest!) and then left early so I'm basing my review on that more than anything else and the fact that it wasn't quite right for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Migunga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.