We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Basic Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Migunga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Migunga Tented Camp
Save
You added Migunga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Better than Basic Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed at Migunga Tented camp for one night. The tents are large, on raised staging and are clean enough with bathroom. Entry to the tents involves unzipping the front flap which is not too easy in the dark. The food was passable and the setting in dry woodland was interesting because of the birds etc. You are escorted back to your tent at night which is reassuring fro the nervous but there are no dangerous animals here.

Room Tip: All the tents are well spaced but try to get one not too far from the restaurant and don't tread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I should say now that we were on our honeymoon and neither of us are avid campers and Migunger was just a little bit too much like a camp site as it was the only place we stayed at where we felt like we were actually unzipping and zipping a tent to get in and out at night.

The food was good but I wouldn't say it was as good as other places we stayed, we arrived late and it was all darkness and insects (it is in a forest!) and then left early so I'm basing my review on that more than anything else and the fact that it wasn't quite right for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

At Migunga tented Camp, I enjoyed my conversations at the fire place and biking around Lake Manyara and the nature walks.
I stayed here for two days, and I must say I enjoyed myself really well. The tents are clean, though very basic.
The staffs at Migunga are very polite. They were awesome and always helpful. The chef cooks good meals, and I hope you will enjoy as I did, and so have others from past reviews.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our fews days here at Migunga camp. The tents were really well appointed with decent showers and comfortable beds, a big plus. The staff were very helpful and the food excellent. The log fire every night to gather round before and after dinner was great for meeting people and the resident animals added to the whole experience. I would also like to make a special mention of the four guys with the makeshift shop just outside the camp entrance - please pay them a visit they have some great paintings and artefacts.

Room Tip: All the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Migunga Tented Camp was the first nights accommodation on our safari, and both my wife and I where pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was. The setting is fantastic - our lodge was in the forest, and the vervet monkeys came up close during the evening. The food was good, and we would stay longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drenthe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. The tents were nice and clean. The yellow fever trees, the monkeys and mongooses really added to the idyllic feeling we had while staying here. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. It was only a short drive to Manyara National Park. We also took a walking tour through the village and the fields surrounding it, which was great. The walk was organised by the Tanzania Wellness Society' Taweso'. Our guide Michael was very enthusiastic and told us a lot about the people and plants we saw on our way.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugumu Serengeti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Avery nice place situated in Lake Manyara National Park. View more Banded mongoose while taking a rest after your long Journey from Arusha or Ngorongoro, also i viewed vervet monkeys which come close while searching their food in tall migunga forest which depicts the lodge name. Wonderfull place, excellent service & professional staff. "wow cool & nice place to be"

Room Tip: Rooms on far North are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Migunga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.