We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Migunga forest, one of the favourite Lodge embodied in Acacia trees known in Swahili "Migunga"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Migunga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Migunga Tented Camp
Save
You added Migunga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Mugumu Serengeti
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Migunga forest, one of the favourite Lodge embodied in Acacia trees known in Swahili "Migunga"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Avery nice place situated in Lake Manyara National Park. View more Banded mongoose while taking a rest after your long Journey from Arusha or Ngorongoro, also i viewed vervet monkeys which come close while searching their food in tall migunga forest which depicts the lodge name. Wonderfull place, excellent service & professional staff. "wow cool & nice place to be"

Room Tip: Rooms on far North are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Lima, MG
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Clean room, nice shower, comfortable bed and pillow.
Dinner and breakfast was very good. Friendly staff.
This tented camp is near Lake Manyara National Park. Only worth staying there if you are going to that Park.
It's a nice place. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This camp is the perfect place you would want to spend your evening and night in after the safari. Very close to Lake Manyara, but equally accessible from Tarangire and Serengeti, this camp is nicely hidden among migunga trees. The rooms are clean, have hot water all day and the staff is superb! They pay personal interest and attention to each guest. A very interesting thing that I found about this place, is at the restaurant they have a readers exchange corner near the fireplace, where travelers can just pick a book and leave their finished book behind. Very interesting and unique. Among all the camps I stayed in during the 7 day safari tours, this one was the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed one night in Migunga Forest Camp and I wish we could have stayed longer. The tents are lovely, well made with great big windows for ventilation and large wood decks in front. The common area is also lovely with a fire pit to relax around at night. The camp itself has resident mongoos running around. The landscaping is very pretty, it's only slightly modified from it's nature beauty. The food was fairly typical safari fare, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this camp in transit to the Serengeti from Arusha. I was not initially expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The setting of the place is just beautiful...you pass through the cute village of Migunga and all of a sudden, upon arrival, you feel that you have just been transplanted somewhere totally different. The cabins are set far enough apart so that you feel comfortably secluded, which I liked. The grounds are impeccably maintained...and I loved the cute little bridge along the path.

The tents are just lovely...the bed was comfortable and there was hot water. There are many 'windows', which allows much natural light if desired. There are also electrical sockets in the tent. I loved hearing all the noises of the critters through the evening and night...it was really wonderful and I felt extremely removed from everything else.

The restaurant was a great spot! I loved the decor and setting. Tanzanians being the kind people that they are, ALL of the employees provided nice service. I especially liked Rosa. The food was really good!! For dinner they serve a starter, soup, main and dessert. Alcohol is reasonably priced. Breakfast was also delicious...mainly eggs, vegetables, fruit and toast. I really enjoyed the food.

Only one small thing...being that we are in the forest, it is only natural that little critters will occasionally make their way into the tent. I totally understand that. The camp takes pains to spray, it is obvious, so the little critters are usually dead. However, perhaps it would be a good idea to sweep the unused rooms a little more regularly, to get rid of them.

Thank you again for a wonderful stay and thank you to the employees!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed for three nights over new years and found it a very nice, relaxing peaceful place to stay. We were on safari in the daytime so would come back, pick up a few Savanna ciders on the way home and relax on the porch watching all the monkeys and meerkats...The food at dinner was nice usually four courses. The staff were lovely, but as another review points out, not obtrusive!

The location of the camp is nice and out of the way, the room was lovely we had a double room, bathroom facilities were good and there was hot water!

Would definitely recommend.

We booked this through Wayo Africa who were extremely helpful with organising pick up/transfers/safaris etc....very good company, very good camp.

Room Tip: We booked a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great midway location between Serengeti and Arusha. Rooms are adequate and the grounds are pretty and visited by many monkeys. Nice area to hang out by the restaurant and bar. Bring mosquito spray and wear long sleeves and pants as there can be a lot of mosquitos here.

The female staff, especially Rosa, was great. The guys had difficulty if things didn't follow the script-- they told the same joke to every table about karibu sana even if the guests already showed they understood that it's not a food item but the phrase "you're very welcome" or when they served a beer that was flat, couldn't understand that it wasn't good.

They have a pretty good cook here for breakfast and evening meals. The curry they serve is delicious and if you get a chance to try their cooked banana as a side, go for it, sooooooooooo divine. The boxed lunches are very average. As apres-safari they serve lovely popcorn.

Lake Manyara area is more of a transit point, but it is definitely a good option if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Migunga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.