We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally a good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Migunga Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Manyara National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Migunga Tented Camp
Save
You added Migunga Tented Camp to your Saves list
Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Europe
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Generally a good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great midway location between Serengeti and Arusha. Rooms are adequate and the grounds are pretty and visited by many monkeys. Nice area to hang out by the restaurant and bar. Bring mosquito spray and wear long sleeves and pants as there can be a lot of mosquitos here.

The female staff, especially Rosa, was great. The guys had difficulty if things didn't follow the script-- they told the same joke to every table about karibu sana even if the guests already showed they understood that it's not a food item but the phrase "you're very welcome" or when they served a beer that was flat, couldn't understand that it wasn't good.

They have a pretty good cook here for breakfast and evening meals. The curry they serve is delicious and if you get a chance to try their cooked banana as a side, go for it, sooooooooooo divine. The boxed lunches are very average. As apres-safari they serve lovely popcorn.

Lake Manyara area is more of a transit point, but it is definitely a good option if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    62
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We drove from Arusha to Migunga at the end of the working week and received a warm welcome and a cool drink. The tents are spread out over a large area so, even if there were a lot of guests, it would still feel secluded. The service was very good with attentive but not obtrusive staff. The meals were tasty and the self serve tea/coffee a nice touch.
Only two points- an umbrella at reception would be great as we were taken to our tent as it started to pour, by the time we got there our gear was quite damp; the lighting at the dining/lounge area isn't bright enough to read by.
Would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Located in an acacia forest, with resident monkeys and banded mongooses, Migunga is a very comfortable, laid-back place, with good, ensuite tents, good food and bar, personable staff, and a welcoming fire circle for hanging out in the evening. Good location -- you feel like you are in the national park, even though you're not. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay when visiting Lake Manyara national park. It is quite close to the park itself which is convenient and the camp can have monkey's and other wildlife wandering around which just adds to the atmosphere. The tents are very nice, the food delicious and the campfire at night a nice added touch. There is friendly staff that are always wandering around and available to escort you to and from the tents after dark in case or wildlife on the grounds. I really enjoyed this tented camp and would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This accommodation was ok, but nothing special. The bed was very uncomfortable and too small (we had two single beds). The food was acceptable, but nothing special. The "Nature Walk" was awful, not to mention overpriced. It consisted of walking in very hot weather in a field of cow manure, with the lake in the distant background. Due to time constraints, we actually never reached the Lake. It is very noisy at night, although the experience of trying to sleep while wild animals hunt and mate almost outside your tent is interesting and almost worth the loss of sleep! Lots of "camp" animals to watch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this camp through internet and not through a safari company. When we arrived there was complete confusion about our stay. The place is nice, good tents, good shower. although we didn't understand why our tent had a very ugly carton-board door.... The staff is really friendly and cheerful. The food is served in a nice restaurant, although dinner and breakfast are not top-notch.
One advise: don't take a bird-watching safari. It costs $20 dollars each and the only thing you do is walk to the lakeshore in the heat and back. You can also do this without any guide (out of the camp to your right and then straight forward) and the information the 'experienced' guide gives about the birds is absolutely nothing. Sit at the balcony of the tent and you see even more species!
Besides that the staff was not flexible about checkout time, and we needed to put a lot of effort in getting a shower after the walk as they wanted us to check out before the early birdwalk. No swimmingpool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night, and we had a tent right near the entrance - it was very basic but clean. I think some of the newer tents were further away and didn't get to see inside those. What I loved about this place was the staff!!!... They were all so friendly, welcoming and quick to help out ! The food was very impressive even went back for seconds!... Just a lovely quiet place with staff with big smiles, could you ask for anymore?????

Room Tip: I believe the newer tents were further back in the trees, while the older tents that needed a makeov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Migunga Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migunga Tented Camp

Address: Migunga Village, Lake Manyara National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Lake Manyara National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Lake Manyara National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migunga Tented Camp is nestled in a quiet corner on the northwest ofLake Manyara. The camp is ideally situated in shade of a yellow barkedacacia forest, only 5 minutes from the entrance of Lake Manyara National Park. The national park spreads out across the Great East African Rift Valley and is often called Tanzania's water wonderland due to the large number of birds and animals the lake supports. This is also the only area where lions climb trees..Migunga Tented Camp is nestled away in a quiet corner of 35 acres of acacia forest and consists of 21 semi-luxury permanent tents on raised platforms with en-suite bathrooms and a private veranda overlooking the lush forest. All the tents are discreetly placed around a central glade, offering shade and privacy but still only a short walk to the restaurant and bar.At Migunga you wake up in the morning to the sound of the forest, with the beams of the sun finding their way through our the tall trees. In the afternoon you can enjoy our mountain bike ride trail through Lake Manyara’s backyard or enjoy watching our vervet monkeys muck about on the central field. The evenings are resonating with the typical sounds of forest creatures, making you fairytale complete. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migunga Forest Camp Hotel Lake Manyara National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Migunga Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.