We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Seafood & Grill

The Boathouse Seafood & Grill
Harbour Road, Kleinmond 7195, South Africa
+27 28 271 3048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Kleinmond
Restaurant details
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Splendid value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We dined here during our month long vacation in South Africa and found that although the restaurant does not look very appealing or welcoming, and the decor is somewhat drab this was more than made up for by gorgeous food that was served at a very reasonable price. I ordered a rack of ribs whilst my wife had a local fish dish. The service was rather slow but the food was delicious and well worth the wait at an unbelievably low price!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We recently visited The Boathouse at lunchtime and it really wasn't the greatest experience ever. After ordering our drinks, we settled down to have a look at the menu, only to be told that the kitchen was closed for 30 mins as they were very busy and needed to catch up on the orders. Not ideal, but we decided to hang on, enjoy our drinks and wait for it to re-open as everywhere was pretty busy.

About 10 mins later, we overheard a couple at an adjacent table place an order for food... we caught the attention of our waitress who confirmed that no, the kitchen was definitely closed - and in fact, they now had a power cut to add to their woes. OK... so why, did we then sit there and watch other waitresses come from the direction of the kitchen with plates of hot food? We spoke to the waitress AGAIN, who decided that the kitchen was open after all, and that she could accept our order. Our food eventually came and when it did, it was fine... but nothing special.

Our waitress was unfailingly friendly and polite throughout our visit, but the mixed messages we were given regarding the kitchen were frankly baffling and the service we received was really poor. Not one to rush back to!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoathouse2013, General Manager at The Boathouse Seafood & Grill, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hallo

We have addressed quite a few concerns around the average food and poor service during peak trading days. We are a new team in place and have many inroads to provide quality and tasty food going forward. I hope that you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We waited just under 2 hours for our food, no one even came to update us on why or how long we still had to wait.
Food was very average but definitely not worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoathouse2013, General Manager at The Boathouse Seafood & Grill, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hallo

I'm sorry to hear about the poor service you experienced. New owners came into place on the 1st of December and a lot have changes has been since then. We do realize where the mistakes came from and will improve our service levels for the restaurant during peak times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Seafood & Grill also viewed

Kleinmond, Overberg District
 
Kleinmond, Overberg District
Kleinmond, Overberg District
 

Been to The Boathouse Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.