We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique bushveld experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mopane Bush Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mopane Bush Lodge to your Saves list
Mopane Bush Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R 572 | Mapungubwe area, Musina 0900, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Musina
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“unique bushveld experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and can really recommend it..Staff are extremely friendly and efficient. You immediately feel a part of the family. With only 8 chalets it is a intimate environment making friends with fellow guests is easy and seamless. Andrew extremely knowledgeable and passionate about Rock Art. Making it all come alive as opposed to just looking at the paintings.Jethro guided us through the Mapungubwe Site. Again a very knowledgeable and passionate staff member. We really enjoyed our stay and the excellent tours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Lodge & enjoyed every moment. The Manager ,Andrew, guided us through the rich history of the area, showed us amazing Rock Art & safaried us through Mapungubwe National Park. Accommodation was very comfortable, well thought-out & secluded from other Chalets. By mistake,we left a KIndle when we departed & the Staff couriered it to us.....just an example of the outstanding service & personal attention. The food was happily uncomplicated & excellent. We recommend this traditional Lodge without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Four nights of absolute tranquillity and comfort in a remote part of Africa. A 4 star venue with 5 star services!
The chalets are arranged for total privacy and comfort.
Staff always eager to help.
Meals were great! Served in the Boma was a real experience, with Andrew (Manager) and owners, Rosemary and Paul attending and sharing interesting stories and giving helpful advice on attractions in the area.
Highlights were a game drive through Mapungubwe National Park and San Rock Art, both with Andrew as guide. Visit to the Mapungubwe Heritage Site was a true eye-opener from a historical point.
Braam & Elzette

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hectorspruit, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Lodge has the perfect location, only 7 km from Mapungubwe National Heritage park. I spent two night at the lodge with a visit to Mapungubwe Hill, where the first kingdom was discovered, enjoyed a game and scenic drive in the park with Andrew, who has excellent knowledge about the trees, plants, birds and animals of this area. We also visited a San Rock Art site - A must see! I just loved the Baobab Trees! Thank you to all the staff at Mopane, I had a fabulous tme!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it, the rock art, the game drives and the birding were all superb. Our rondavel was fine, the food was great and Andrew and the rest of the staff were brilliant.

The only disappointment was the lack of water in the dam, it's a really good little bush walk to get to the hide but three rather disappointing puddles attracted no game and very few birds on the morning we went.

So all in all it's a great place to stay in one of the less touristy areas of S.A.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

andrew is a 5 star guide.Huge knowledge.Owners need to understand guests needs better.After driving from botswana 9 hours the last thing i want to do register with all the details,sign an indemnity form,listen for 15 minutes how everything operates etc etc.maybe we could do all this after a drink and shower!! We were there with 8 other people and we were not the only ones to notice that there was not enough food for everyone,Seconds were not available,and fruit salad ran out at breakfast.Not good enough considering the price.Location and rooms nice.Should have WIFI considering there location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Right in the north of South Africa, just a stones throw from little known Mapungbwe National Park, this lodge is a gem. Run by Andrew Rae, who was very happy to share his amazing knowledge on any subject of our surroundings, it has a feeling of space and tranquility. The accommodation in rondavels is private and together with the outside shower 'with a view' quite special. Andrew couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable, he took us to view the San rock art and with his up to date knowledge, made the experience fascinating. We didn't choose Mopane to see game, but wanted an experience of the history of the area and together with the wild beauty of the national park, it didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mopane Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopane Bush Lodge

Address: R 572 | Mapungubwe area, Musina 0900, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Musina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Musina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mopane Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully catered and located on Mapesu Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and South African Hotels so you can book your Mopane Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mopane Bush Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.