We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY RETREAT IN PEACEFUL SURROUNDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Trees at Spioenkop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Three Trees at Spioenkop to your Saves list
Three Trees at Spioenkop
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY RETREAT IN PEACEFUL SURROUNDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in February after a stay in the Midland Meander.
The location is remote but in beautiful unspoilt countryside overlooking a nature reserve and a backdrop of Drakensberg mountain scenery.

The six chalets are very comfortable, each has it's own veranda with scenic views towards Spionkop battlefield site in the far distance. No TV or air con here - but who needs it in this back to nature/Out of Africa environment. The rooms are well laid out with large ceiling fans and a bath with window views over the nature reserve. The bed was the most comfortable in our stay in South Africa.

All meals are taken in the guest house dining room which also accomodates the residents lounge area full of memorabilia, Boer War artifacts, books etc.

The lunch/dinner menu is good and breakfast was buffet style with cooked breakfast to order.

We arranged a half day tour in the Lodge Land Rover along with 6 other guests at the Spionkop Battlefield Site.
Simon catered for all our needs inc chairs, sun unbrellas, water and a fascinating 3 hour description of the Battle between the British Army and the Boers.

Each evening before dinner, drinks were served either in the dining room veranda or at a "sundowner" on the high part of the lodge property overlooking the lower part of the Drakensberg mountaqin range. We were joined by another well known guide/storyteller - Rob Caskie during our stay at Three Trees who added to the ambience/experience.

Simon & Cheryl are excellent hosts and every request was met positively.

An unforgetable lifetime experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Just a short note to say thanks for your wonderful feedback - inspiring for us and all our staff who I know will be motivated when I share it with them

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
66
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our two nights stay at Three Trees was probably the high light of our month long holiday in South Africa.
Hosts Simon, Cheryl and their staff combined to provide for our every need. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food and service was superb. The wildlife in the surrounding nature reserve was amazing. Our only regret was that we were unable to stay for longer.
We hope to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear James - thanks for your fabulous review - we really appreciate your feedback, and of course would love to host you here again one day!!

best regards - Simon,Cheryl & Three Trees staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hosts Cherryl and Simon will make you feel welcome and at ease from the very first moment. The complete staff is friendly and helpful. The cottages have spectactular view from the terrasse, bedroom and bathroom overlooking the game reserve and the mountain Spionkoop. Furthermore the cottages are perfectly equipped with electricity, candles, umbrellas, hair-dryer, fan, even hot water bottle was provided. The full board meals are delicious and refined concerning seasoning and presentation. Wine list offers many good choices and the GinTonic is well mixed. The dinner and lunch served to all sitting at one large table provide a very nice atmosphere and give opportunity to meet the other guests. The individual hikes and mountain bike trails are well mapped and differ from 30min to 3h. The guided game walks are interesting, Simon is very knowledgable about animals and vegetation. On top of that he is also a good entertainer. On our 2 game walks he managed to bring us close to Giraffes, Rhino´s, Zebras and other game. Simon´s knowledge about the historical importance of the valley, especially of the battlefield around Spionkoop is amazing. His tour and explanation about this were very deep and lifely. We just felt like send 120 years back in time.If we ever have a chance to come back to this region, we will definitely stay another 3 nights in this beautiful and warm place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi Guys - thank you so much for your fabulous review - really appreciated after a busy season - motivating for all of us here - Thanks! And we look forward to welcoming you back at Three Trees one of these days!
Kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My kids and I stayed here with my father and his wife for three days over New Years. I can not say enough wonderful things about this little South African B&B. Simon and Cheryl are incredible hosts and met our every need. Simon took my daughter and I out for a late afternoon game walk with the giraffes and rhinoceros. We were 80 meters away from 6 giraffes. Life changing.

The rooms were beautifully simple and the food deliciously satisfying. The atmosphere was homey and somehow extraordinary. Whether it was having English tea on the porch or drinks inside the main lodge I felt like I had stepped back in time, a simple and yet elegant time in South African history.

We only stayed for 2 nights but I could have stayed for a month. Some friends we met there had been there for 10 days and couldn't say enough great things about their whole experience. My father's wife, who is NEVER happy, raved about the place as well.

And just in case it matters (which is did for me)...they have WiFi.

Stay here...its truly one in a million.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear M - thanks so much for your wonderful review - we really appreciate your kind words and loved having you all here! Will pass onto staff - motivating stuff thanks!

kind regards,
Simon & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hapsbell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just got back from our second trip and can only wish all 'family friend' resorts were as good as this, our 18month daughter was welcomed as a guest in her own right, with all her own needs meet, parents could really relax! Her toiletries were provided, toys, freshly prepared food ready at a time suited to her, all the staffed cared and looked after her and nothing was ever too much to ask.

This is by no means a placed just for families, the perfection here is that Simon and Cheryl have got the right balance of all guests, no matter what you require, the rest of the guests barely knew our daughter was around (other than the odd cry before bedtime!) But there are activities and relaxation places for everyone.

The food, is all incredible, I would say some of the best food we have eaten in South Africa (we have been here 3 years now), and great wine to go with it! Cheryl you should do a cookbook (with a kids section). We meet some lovely people, were treated as family, saw some great wildlife, learnt a moving story, and all in the most incredible setting.

If you are in South Africa, make sure you add this to your list of places to visit. Our thanks to Simon and Cheryl and the rest of the staff for making our time with you so relaxing and fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, the attention to detail goes beyond your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear H - thanks so much for your kind and wonderful feedback - it was fab to have you back here again - so thanks for the support as well!! Will share with the staff who will appreciate it I know!
kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South AFrica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our 10 day working holiday in the Drakensberg area. We were quite exhausted from all of the activities that we'd been doing and found ourselves instantly relax as soon as we arrived. The attention to detail in every aspect, from housekeeping, to dinner is incredible and very rare to find.
The hosts are wonderful and warm, incredibly knowledgeable and very passionate about their projects. We sadly didn't manage to go on the battlefields tour with Simon as we didn't have enough time but know that he comes highly recommended.
You need at least 3 nights here - 1 just to take in the ambience of your room and verandah ( which I struggled to leave) as well as the rest of the property and then 2 more days to enjoy Spioenkop Game Reserve and the Battlefields tours.
I haven't stopped raving about Three Trees since I came home and will be back for more
This place is very special

Room Tip: Families with children should look into their new unit, Churchills which is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for your great feedback which we highly appreciate - agree that you need at least 3 nights stay here! We do look forward to having you back here and being able to take you up Spionkop next time!

kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had 3 nights at Three Trees at the end of October, and although the weather was not great we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were particularly interested in going on the 2 Boer War Battlefield tours to Colenso & Spionkop, we were not disapointed. Simon was brilliant, he brought the 2 battles to life. He also took us to the spot where Churchill was captured. Food was superb. We stayed in room 6, where the view was stunning (when the weather allowed us to see anything!!). We also walked out into the Game Reserve and saw a Rhino from about 80yds away.....we were made to feel safer by the rifle Simon carried.

Room Tip: Room 6 was furthest from the Lodge and the views from this room may be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for the very kind feedback on Three Trees - and apologies again for the weather - unseasonably high rainfall - as I mentioned before - you don't know how lucky you are!
We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us - and will be sure to share your wonderful review with our staff as well!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Trees at Spioenkop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.