We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adds meaning to the word Family Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Trees at Spioenkop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Three Trees at Spioenkop to your Saves list
Three Trees at Spioenkop
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hapsbell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adds meaning to the word Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have just got back from our second trip and can only wish all 'family friend' resorts were as good as this, our 18month daughter was welcomed as a guest in her own right, with all her own needs meet, parents could really relax! Her toiletries were provided, toys, freshly prepared food ready at a time suited to her, all the staffed cared and looked after her and nothing was ever too much to ask.

This is by no means a placed just for families, the perfection here is that Simon and Cheryl have got the right balance of all guests, no matter what you require, the rest of the guests barely knew our daughter was around (other than the odd cry before bedtime!) But there are activities and relaxation places for everyone.

The food, is all incredible, I would say some of the best food we have eaten in South Africa (we have been here 3 years now), and great wine to go with it! Cheryl you should do a cookbook (with a kids section). We meet some lovely people, were treated as family, saw some great wildlife, learnt a moving story, and all in the most incredible setting.

If you are in South Africa, make sure you add this to your list of places to visit. Our thanks to Simon and Cheryl and the rest of the staff for making our time with you so relaxing and fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, the attention to detail goes beyond your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear H - thanks so much for your kind and wonderful feedback - it was fab to have you back here again - so thanks for the support as well!! Will share with the staff who will appreciate it I know!
kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South AFrica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our 10 day working holiday in the Drakensberg area. We were quite exhausted from all of the activities that we'd been doing and found ourselves instantly relax as soon as we arrived. The attention to detail in every aspect, from housekeeping, to dinner is incredible and very rare to find.
The hosts are wonderful and warm, incredibly knowledgeable and very passionate about their projects. We sadly didn't manage to go on the battlefields tour with Simon as we didn't have enough time but know that he comes highly recommended.
You need at least 3 nights here - 1 just to take in the ambience of your room and verandah ( which I struggled to leave) as well as the rest of the property and then 2 more days to enjoy Spioenkop Game Reserve and the Battlefields tours.
I haven't stopped raving about Three Trees since I came home and will be back for more
This place is very special

Room Tip: Families with children should look into their new unit, Churchills which is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for your great feedback which we highly appreciate - agree that you need at least 3 nights stay here! We do look forward to having you back here and being able to take you up Spionkop next time!

kind regards,
Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had 3 nights at Three Trees at the end of October, and although the weather was not great we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were particularly interested in going on the 2 Boer War Battlefield tours to Colenso & Spionkop, we were not disapointed. Simon was brilliant, he brought the 2 battles to life. He also took us to the spot where Churchill was captured. Food was superb. We stayed in room 6, where the view was stunning (when the weather allowed us to see anything!!). We also walked out into the Game Reserve and saw a Rhino from about 80yds away.....we were made to feel safer by the rifle Simon carried.

Room Tip: Room 6 was furthest from the Lodge and the views from this room may be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for the very kind feedback on Three Trees - and apologies again for the weather - unseasonably high rainfall - as I mentioned before - you don't know how lucky you are!
We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us - and will be sure to share your wonderful review with our staff as well!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had an overnight stop at Three Tree and joined their half day battlefield tour in the morning. Cheryl and Simon were lovely hosts and we truly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is very original and the location is very well positioned, overlooking the Spioenkop Reserve. We had a nature walk around the lodge and spotted many game animals including a mother and baby Rhinos! The lodge pride itself on green and Eco standards and a lot of the products used are very Eco friendly. If you are looking for a qwerky place to stay, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank-you for your fabulous feedback, and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - sorry it was short - perhaps next time....
We are continuing to do all we can to make the lodge as eco-friendly as possible, and do appreciate your noticing our efforts!

kind regards - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and her daughter who I was visiting in Jo'burg and we escaped down to Three Trees for a couple of nights. It was the start of my holiday and my second day in South Africa and I fell in love with it! Beautiful location, wonderful people and such an amazing experience. I have always thought that I would love to go on a safari but had never thought about the fact that most of them are by jeep...the walk in the reserve with Simon on foot was just so special and I am not sure that I would want to go by vehicle having now experienced it by foot. I can't recommend Three Trees highly enough for a relaxing, picturesque escape away from the stresses and strains of life. Delicious food, great wine, a roaring fire and good gin and tonic make for a fab break away. I will recommend to all of my friends.

Room Tip: I had a room looking down through the valley which was spectacular at night in the middle of the thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks you so much for your kind and wonderful feedback - motivating for the whole team here so highly appreciated!! Thanks - Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The view from our cottage's balcony was nothing less of breathtaking. The only reason I could be persuaded to leave my room was the great activities available in the neighboring nature reserves, and the excellent food in the restaurant.

The lodge is build to bring to life the time of the struggle between one of the largest Empires in history and one of the smallest nations in the world, and you feel like you have stepped back in time. The dining room and lounge with its wrap-around porch invites you to sit down in a deep, comfy sofa and flick through one of the many books while sipping a gin & tonic. The staff are friendly and attentive, and all meals are made with local, quality ingredients and a big dose of love!

We did a magical walk in the neighboring nature reserve, where we saw lots of wildlife up close and personal (giraffe, gazelles, zebras and rhino to mention a few) with expert guiding by owner Simon. I also went on an exhilarating horse ride with breathtaking views of the Drakensberg in the distance.

Three Tree Hills is a place to leave all your worries behind, and just enjoy the silence and nature. It is also perfectly situated for day-hikes in the Drakensberg, or excursions to experience the battlefields and local culture.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is the furthest away from reception, with totally uninterrupted views of the nature re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtomsa, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Kat - thanks so much for your fabulous review - we loved having you guys here and I will be sure yo share your review with our staff who will seriously appreciate your kind words! regards Simon and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is truly wonderful. No one should ever hesitate if having a debate around to stay: this place should win everytime. My partner and i are particularly fussy and this place doesnt ever give us anything to complain about - which is very very rare. we've been back for a second visit already. The food is fantastic. The setting is stunning. the lodge is run by a fantastic couple, Simon and Cheryl, and they are fantastic hosts. anyone who stays here (and everyone should at least once in their life) should go on the walking safari with Simon. SImon is the only guide qualified to take people through the reserve so you ahve it to yourself (just sharing with the rhino, giraffe and buck that live there!). the attention to detail in the bedrooms is 5 star worthy - nothing is forgotten. Such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B, Owner at Three Trees at Spioenkop, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
What wonderful feedback! A slightly belated thank-you on our part - we really appreciate your comments, and will be sure to share them with our staff as well - I know they will love to read it!

kind regards - Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Trees at Spioenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Trees at Spioenkop

Address: Rhenosterfontein Farm | Hambrook Village, Bergville 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Trees at Spioenkop 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent backdrop of the Drakensberg Mountains, overlooking the secluded Mfazimnyama Valley of the Spioenkop Game Reserve and in the lee of the famous hill, Spioenkop, lies Three Trees lodge. Perfect half-way stop between Johannesburg & Durban, only 27km from the highway (N3)Spectacular scenery, locally grown Country-style food, fine linen and superb hosts makes this lodge the ideal environment in which to escape and unwind. This intimate luxury lodge is owner-managed by Simon & Cheryl Blackburn whose passion for Africa fills every corner. Guests are welcomed into their home, and invited to experience the warm hospitality in their family run lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Three Trees at Spioenkop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Trees at Spioenkop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.