We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cavern Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cavern Resort & Spa
Save
You added The Cavern Resort & Spa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   End Of D 119 Road 3350, Amphitheatre | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have visited the Cavern twice and highly recommend it as being the perfect place for families to bond, relax, or play together. It is in a beautiful setting in the mountains and is staffed by delightful, friendly aand dignified people who provide excellent service while sharing their land with us. The food is included and is of very high standard. One can be as relaxed or as active as they like as there are comfortable lounges as well as horse riding, hiking etc. Being run by a family makes the resort feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    62
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
72
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were touring KZN and wanted a break to relax after alot of touring of battlefields and animal parks. 3 nights here fitted the bill. A very relaxing place, but you could do more if you wished. The weather stayed sunny, although it was chilly. During 2 full days, we went on 2 walks - one to see the bushmen paintings, one for tea and a biscuit in the mountains. Also went on a beginners horse ride. We had a very relaxing spa treatment each at the forest retreat also. The food was excellent and the staff very helpful and attentive. Entertainment was very low key though. We sat by the pool one time, and there was absolutly no one around, but there is a phone to order drinks, which we did. It's a lovely place and who needs 5 star with a place like this in such a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorval, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Cavern on a safari trip with 7 other people.
The weather was cool and rained a bit but we had a great time. I met the owner who took time to explain how the place came to be. I saw a man telling a group of young men the names of the trees and plants so when he finished I asked if he could tell me the names of some of the gorgeous plants I had seen. He went out of his way to identify the names of the plants I was interested in and more. The food was great and served very well. We had a massage on the forest trail which was a treat. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: We were up the hill in a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This was our second stay at The Cavern- we enjoyed our stay overall but I thought that the service had deteriorated since our previous stay.

Good points about the resort:

-There were plenty of activities and we enjoyed going on the daily walks as well as the wonderful horseriding
-The room was comfortable and had the added comfort of undercarpet heating and very comfortable beds
-Lovely view and beautiful location
- Looks like a great place to bring children (plenty of children's activities and very family friendly)

Could be improved:

- We asked whether a superior room or suite were available (we were in a standard room) - the front desk replied that nothing was available as they were fully booked for the whole weekend. We later met a couple who said they had only booked a suite on the day we requested another room . Even when it was clear that the hotel was no longer full, the front desk didn't bother to inform us that they had other rooms available.

- Staff in the restaurant were generally lethargic and unenthusiastic to serve guests (possibly due to the all inclusive room rate). Although the hotel assigns you a table for the duration of your stay, they erroneously assigned our table to another couple during our stay and didn't bother to apologise to make it up in any way.

Generally the hotel is good but the family seem to focus on returning guests. Since our previous stay was over 7 year's ago, they didn't identify us as returning guests and we seemed to receive a lower standard of service as a result eg the hotel only has comment cards for returning guests. I would not recommend this hotel for superior or attentive service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our tour in the Drakensbergs. Don't normally stay in hotels, preferring self catering, but staying here was the 'cherry on the cake' at the end of our holiday. We hiked most days and booked the packed lunches which were excellent. Staff very pleasant and helpful, especially our guide Chellock who took us to Tugela Gorge. Can't wait to return.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Well this is my first review so please forgive me if it’s bad :)

My hubby and I Spent 4 days at The Cavern. We both enjoyed it immensely. The staff is welcoming and genuine. The food was amazing (3 meals a day included in the tariff)

Every morning after breakfast we went for a walk in the beautiful Fern forest, the views are just breath-taking. As we only had a short time we tried to fit in as much as possible. Which included; a beautiful ride on the horse trail, half a day of pampering at the Forest retreat SPA and my first ever attempt at trout fishing (which was hysterical).

There is also an adventure centre 6km from The Cavern where we braved The Zip Line - which was totally amazing.
All in all it truly was an amazing place; my only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer. We are already planning our next trip there for “Christmas in July” when they have snow in the Drakensburg……I can’t wait.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Cavern is a 3 star 'berg resort that has been run by the same family for 50 or so years - starting out as a rustic guest farm.

It is a great place to be fed and be entertained, and to have the kids fed and entertained in a steep, secluded valley at the base of the 'berg. The resort's 70 or 80 rooms and chalets sprawl up the valley amongst the trees. Activities include tennis, bowls, swimming, guided walks, hiking, picnics, birding, croquet, horse riding etc. There is a spa, with treatment rooms overlooking a private little forest. Note that the rooms do not all have televisions, or telephones - which to my mind is a good thing.

Meals and tea/drinks are in the central complex with a large dining room, bar, various lounges and a games room. We were allocated the same table, with the same waiter for the length of the stay. The table was near the kiddies dining room where kids under seven are served and looked after by 3 or 4 nannies while their parents eat. Interestingly the owners seem to eat all their meals in the main dining room at their own family table.

The Cavern has its own formula which they stick to and it seems to work as there are large numbers of return guests. Traditionally SA families, but now also lots of foreign retirees who seem to come out of season for birding, walking and just relaxing in the mountains. Ask for out of season specials if you are travelling outside of SA school holidays.

We would go back, although I thought the food, which was plentiful, could be improved upon. The limited wine list on the other hand was good, and particularly well priced - and if you didn't finish a bottle at one meal, was kept for the next.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cavern Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavern Resort & Spa

Address: End Of D 119 Road 3350, Amphitheatre | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cavern Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavern Resort & Spa welcomes you to the adventures of mountain holidays. The Cavern, named after the “Cannibal Cavern”, is situated on 3000 hectares of private mountain reserve adjacent to the Drakensberg Amphitheatre World Heritage Site.This holiday offers you daily guided hikes to bushman paintings and rock carvings. For the more energetic, walks are organised to the Tugela Gorge, the second highest waterfall in the world, and to the top of the Amphitheatre (3100m). An extensive range of recreational facilities, from a forest spa, horse trails, trout fishing and mountain bike trails are available. This stunning resort has won numerous accolades. Honeymoon suites, superior suites and standard accommodation are available with spectacular views of the surrounding valleys, indigenous forests and mountains. Honeymoon suites are complete with four-poster beds and fireplaces for cool evenings. The superior accommodation is set away from the resort, in tranquil gardens, with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains. The reserve is home to abundant wildlife including leopard, baboon and eland and over 200 species of birds and 150 species of trees.The Forest Spa, set high up in the indigenous forest, is a relaxing space to unwind in whilst being treated by our therapists. Afterwards the unique Cave Bar is the ideal place to meet for a sundowner while looking over the valley below. Just over three hours from Gauteng and Durban it is the ideal area to spend some time in the mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cavern Drakensberg Hotel Bergville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cavern Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.