We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berghouse and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berghouse and Cottages
Save
You added Berghouse and Cottages to your Saves list
R304 Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust, Bergville 3354, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Bergville B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Berghouse and Cottages. Wish it had been longer. We stayed at the Thokomala Cottage (12 sleeper). Spectacular views overlooking the mountains, a private lapa area right next to the house where we enjoyed a braai one night and a potjie the next. On the other side of the house we could pat the ponies, a highlight for my kids. There are wonderful MTB trials (15kms) from the lodge which I attempted one morning. Needless to say it was quite hilly but well marked and lots of fun! The hiking trials were also great. The cottage itself was cosy and neat and was magical having the logfire burning during the winter evenings. The only negative I could pick on was the stair case up to the family room. We had planned on sleeping there with our two little ones but the staircase was extremely steep and unsafe for toddlers and there was even a sign to say that no children under 14 were to use the steps. Despite the steps, the family room was nice and spacious. We will definitely be back in future. Vaughan and Chantal were so kind and helpful, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for having selected to visit us at the Berghouse and Cottages,as well as for your recent review.We enjoyed meeting you all.We hope that you will return sometime soon.
With warm regards from us all at the Berghouse and Cottages,Northern Drakensberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were three people that stayed here in February 2014 and came rather late that evening. Chantal even phoned to check whether we were OK.

We had the privilege to stay in Thokomala - a large house at the bottom which had the luxuries of home. The house was well equipped with cooking utensils and anything one might deem possible.

There was sherry as a welcome drink in the house and we could even make filter coffee for us in the morning. The house had a spectacular view over the Amphitheatre and the big dining table with candlelight made one reluctant to leave for bed. They even had a little braai area under a thatch roof next to the house, which we unfortunately didn't have time to use.

Both Vaughn and Chantal were incredible and made us feel like old friends when we left - thank you!

We will be looking forward to visit you again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind remarks.We look forward to your return visit sometime soon.
With warm regards from the Berghouse Cottages and Staff,in the Northern Drakensberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Phezulu cottage is an ideal couple getaway and with loads of activities you can be as busy as you want. The place is littered with stunning views along the many hikes and trails. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and most kind review.Thank you again for selecting the Berghouse and Cottages to spend your time away.We look forward to your return sometime soon.With warm regards from the Northern Drakensberg,Vaughn,Chantal and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very nice and cosy cottages. You're surrounded by nothing else than Mountains. Very big garden with lots of animals (horses, dogs) so we would definately recommend it for families with kids. Breakfast is served at your room in a basket, a very nice detail. Breakfast and dinner (optional) by the resident cook are fabulous. If you go there, we would advise you to have at least one breakfast and dinner. Close to Royal Natal Park, but you do need a car. Shops/ATM and gas station are not nearby so remember to stack up before you go there.

Room Tip: Thandani cottage is nice for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit in June 2014,and for selecting the Berghouse and Cottages to spend your time away.Your kind review was much appreciated.We look forward to your return visit sometime soon.With warm regards from the Northern Drakensberg,Vaughn,Chantal and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay in the Northern Berg! The views are spectacular - could not ask for anything better. You can really come to rest on this beautiful farm that has all the self catering facilities you need. Best value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn P, Owner at Berghouse and Cottages, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and kind remarks about the Berghouse and Cottages.We look forward to hosting you again on your return visit.
With warm regards,the Berghouse and Cottages staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

There's this dog. His name is Punch. What a dog! He'll go with you on a walk or just chill on your stoep.
The cottages are very neat and you'll find everything you need.
Very close to MTB routes and would make a great stay for families, couples or nature lovers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very lovely accommodation set up in the hills of the Drakens. A windy but beautiful 3km drive into the property takes you to the top.

Unfortunately for us the weather wasn't kind as both days were extremely wet and cloudy, when the sun popped its head out however you could see just how stunning your surroundings are.

Just remember that it is self-catering so be well-prepared; the closest towns with amenities are ages away! So make sure you have enough cash and supplies on you when you arrive so you're able to set up the fireplace and relax.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berghouse and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghouse and Cottages

Address: R304 Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust, Bergville 3354, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Bergville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bergville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Northern Drakensberg,all cottages enjoy spectacular mountain views.Offering bed and breakfast as well as dinner.All cottages are fully equipped for self catering.Halfway between Johannesburg and Durban.Numerous activities offered on site. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berghouse and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.