We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nicol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Nicol to your Saves list
The Nicol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Nicol Road, Germiston, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, the noise from the motorway is unbearable all day and night due to the thin windows and huge gaps around the doors, this is not a hotel but block of flats,when I asked to be moved they said there was none available as the others were closed for maintenance. The duvets are as thin as a sheet and the coffee etc is not replenished, the rooms are also in a dire need for a coat of paint. Would never stay here again, the hotel is overpriced for what you get, you would be far better off with a known brand at half the price. Very disappointing and one feels like you have been really ripped off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Nicol, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Please be assured that all comments and suggestions are taken in the best possible way and used in a constructive manner to improve our service and enhance our product offering. Please do feel free to contact me directly should you like to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
2
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Contrary to other reviews, I found the Nicol to be great value and the staff were great. The manager Mark was tireless in answering my questions as was Noluvuvo the receptionist. Nothing seemed to much hassle.
The one tip I have is to request an apartment and not the studio as they are much larger and beautifully done.
Found the coffee shop to be adequate but not great.

Room Tip: reserve an apartment and not the studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, Manager at The Nicol, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your kind words and especially for naming our staff member. however there is always room for improvement and we will strive to exceed your last stay in both service and good memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week of work and would not recommend it. Hotel is located at the end of an unlit street, the hotel itself isn't very well lit and the service was terrible. The staff was not very helpful with any questions or issues. The other reviews are spot on, wifi doesn't work in the rooms, the standard room is small and only 1 outlet for charging items. Hotel is a mix of travelers and full time residents. They have a small cafe but the food wasn't that good. If you have to stay here, opt for the larger room. These have a balcony, full kitchen and living space. The standard room is basically a bathroom and bed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am here for 2 stays over 2 weeks and have found the other poor reviews to be sadly accurate - in particular the one from 21st October.

In particular:
- Many rooms are VERY noisy from the 6 lane highway next door, some colleagues complained they could not sleep due to the noise. I had no problem but I was lucky in getting a quiet room.
- Room was small, about 1m space around the bed and difficult to get the seat back enough to sit at the desk
- Lack of electrical sockets, none available near the bed.
- Service often slow in the reception
- No room service, bar or restaurants - although there are lots of restaurants 5 mins walk away.

Coffee bar servery is nice and car parking is good.

Overall it's a 2* hotel at the most, and if you get a room near the highway bring your ear muffs!

Room Tip: When you book, request a quiet room away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure why this place had been classified as 4 stars hotel. It's barely 3 stars at max. I've stayed in quite a few 4 stars hotels around the world but this is far from the standard (way below).
I stayed at Nicol as it is an "approved" hotel by the company I work for. In all fairness it is a safe area to be in if you are visiting Johannesburg for the first time.

- The hotel has no restaurant; There is a sort of a cafe downstairs (if I can call it a cafe) that serves soft drinks and some snacks - that's what I've seen on the shelves, haven't looked at the menu and I am not sure they have one.
- No place for decent breakfast apart from the above mentioned cafe.
- There is no room service. If you are there on a business trip and you leave the office quite late in the evening (like i was) you won't be able to get something to eat in the hotel. You have to eat out and that's before 9pm when the restaurants close.
- Rooms are very small, the bed is barely 2 steps away from the door. There are apartments as well that have attached kitchen should you be interested in that.
- The first room I was given, the neighbors were having a party that night so I asked the reception to move me to another room, which they quickly did. The second room was more quiet but had ANTS!! So soon enough I figured that no matter how many times and rooms I change they will all have something that I won't be happy with.....
- I recommend you take a room towards the pool side of the hotel, otherwise the other side is super noisy being very close to the highway.

Some PROS:
- safe neighborhood
- secured hotel
- updated rooms (but not very clean)
- underground free parking
- 5 min drive to the Eastgate Mall
- walking distance to restaurants (they close at 9pm)

I will most probably choose another hotel next time I am in Johannesburg.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for two four days stays in January. The first room I stayed in had roaches. The road noise was very bad. The second room had no roaches but was just as noisy.The rooms are quite bare, and not so clean. Little maintenance issues are neglected, broken soap dishes, taps etc. There is no bar in the hotel, the breakfast options are so limited we drove to a cafe each morning to find something to eat.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Really noisy hotel, lots of noise from outdoor walkways and neighbouring rooms. Cold rooms (even with A/C turned off). WiFi not working in rooms, ethernet connectivity not worth bothering with. Phone broken in room. Only one free electrical socket - behind desk. Room not big enough to swing a cat in. Desk and seat is only for display - I cant fit my legs under it.

Coffee area is nice, coffee is quite good actually and the service is very smily!
However the noisy refrigerators make it difficult to talk or hear oneself think.

Still, got two more nights here.... maybe it can save itself somehow.

Room Tip: Try and get one on a higher floor, that don't look into the central atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nicol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nicol

Address: Nicol Road, Germiston, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Germiston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Germiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nicol 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Nicol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nicol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.