We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run away this hotel is the worst” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 Arsenal St., Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
new jersey
1 review
“run away this hotel is the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

our daughter came home from iraq and this hotel was the closest to fort drum . we traveled 6 hrs to get there w/a 2yr old . this hotel is soooooo dirty . the room smelled the shower didnt work the sheets didnt stay on the bed they smelled people hanging in the hall all night smoking . the only thing that worked was the wireless . this hotel is the [--] i have even seen . i couldnt believe that she had to come and stay there after being in iraq for a year . please drive right by . oh and the best the room was 80 a night you would think it would of at least been clean and the shower work .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    26
    4
    24
See reviews for
21
22
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
14094
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My son was coimng home from 1 yr in Iraq. We had his kids with us. Big Celebration...
Walked into the motel, to our rooms. Hugh water mark stain on the carpet, smelled very musty. Room was old and not too clean. Beds where soft and saggy. Lightbulbs out. Towels had holes in them! Not just warn.. actual holes!! ice machine had exploded all over the floor. Very hard to understand staff at check in. Saved a couple of $$$ was not worth it. Next time will spend the extra $ to be comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

What Econolodge, are you staying in? The one in Watertown,NY is a nice place to stay. Reasonable, clean and very nice people working there. The pool was the nicest pool, I have ever been in. Clean and just the right temperature, at least for me. Would I go back ? Certainly !!!! Best in the area for the price. Only thing lacking, was a bar !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Clean bathroom. Shower, sink and toilet worked fine. Carpet pretty worn. Furniture getting pretty old. Bed soft, but comfortable. Good door locks. Sheets and towels looked good. The room was clean, but not super clean. Dust on chairs and on baseboard show lack of detailed cleaning. TV and remote worked good. Room had a refrigerator, but I didn't use it. Indoor pool looked fine, kids were swimming in it. Halls smelled smokey, but well lit. Breakfast was pretty good and included orange juice, milk, raisin bran, frosted corn flakes, 4 types of cake doughnuts, bagels, English muffins, bread, cream cheese, jelly, peanut butter, toasters. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, this place was fine for a good night sleep, but I wouldn't want to spend my days hanging around there. If you are a germ freak looking for a spotless room with new fixtures this is not for you. This place was average for basic low end lodging, but all the hotels in Watertown are overpriced compared to Scranton (3 hours South of Watertown on 81)

  • Liked — plenty of parking
  • Disliked — smoke smell in halls
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Our mistake , did not view before we booked and paid. Looked at website before we travelled, looked o.k. Our first choice of hotel in that area was full, so this was second choice and too late in the afternoon to drive around. Disappointed as soon as we entered the building, which was situated away from the reception. Renovations were taking place, but the rates did not reflect that. The rooms needed more than a lick of paint. The base of the bed needed to be renewed, didn,t look at the mattress. The bath also needed replacing. Breakfast in the morning was set up nicely, some family members decided to take advantage as this was in with the rates, but we had already decided to go to the Cracker Barrel for breakfast. It did put us off choosing other econolodge motels on our journey, however nice they looked on the outside.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of value for money
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We booked 3 rooms at military rate ($67.00) over the phone. We got charged ($80.00). Counter manager told us that he would correct this. We checked out five days later to find out that they charged us $80.00 a night. They would not fix this until I started to call my credit card company to stop payment.
The swimming pool was greasy and green.
The only flag flying was the Canadain flag. That flag was in bad shape. Very disrespectful to our country and to Canada.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

The hallway smelled like stale cigarettes and bleach.
Security was non-existant, the outside doors did not lock, anyone could enter the building.
The sheets did not look laundered.
There was not temperature setting on the thermostat, first the room was freezing, woke up in the middle of the night sweating.
A cosmetic bag was accidentally left behind, with a birthstone ring still inside. Called the Econo Lodge and they said they had it. The ring and most of the cosmetics were missing when retrieved.

  • Liked — I didn't like the accomodation
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1030 Arsenal St., Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Watertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.