We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional / Unreliable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 Arsenal St., Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unprofessional / Unreliable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked this hotel through Choice Hotels and two days before my booking I received a call from Mary (front desk) saying that they needed confirmation of my employment to lock down the rate I receive through Choice Hotel's online booking. I book with Choice Hotels weekly and have never had any issues with my reservation. They said they could not honor my reservation even after I gave them all my employment information. I asked over and over again to speak to the manager and they would not let me. The manager (Priscilla) would not come to the phone, although I heard her in the background “hiding” behind her front desk employee. I will continue to book with Choice Hotels, but never with this Econo Lodge. To be honest I was a bit suspicious to stay there in the first place. I would not waste your time with this unprofessional staff. With the way they treat people, I could only image what their habits of maintenance are like.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge Watertown on Saturday April 13th 2013 and our parents were across the hall. We were all awoke at 2:00 2:30 AM bout lots of yelling and fighting in the hallway. Apparantly it was a party gone wrong. The noise continued for some time and the front office contacted. The desk person was coming over to evict the noisemakers.
The office is in another building at least 500 feet away and DOESN'T have closed circuit camera monitors of the actual hotel area. We came to find out there are camera's but the system is set up in the maintenance room in the hotel buildings not the front desk. Makes sense right ?
A simple wireless feed to the desk area would fix this and realisticly should already exist.
We have stayed at this hotel almost yearly for a number of years and were really disappointed in it. They usually had been very good about seperating the potential partiers from the average traveller. Another guest told us we only heard the 1/2 of it as it had been an ongoing party since 10:00 PM
Next time we are in Watertown I think we'll spend the extra $$$ and stay at the Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZOSOLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I had stayed at this motel on several different occasions and found it to be a pretty decent place to stay.However, this past weekend proved to be the exact opposite experience.The odor upon entering the the room was like a punch in the face. We were awoke our first night with the fire alarm going off at around 1 AM..we can only assume some idiot pulled the alarm for fun.The second night we were woke at around 3 AM with people partying and fighting right outside our room.To top it all off,the cleaning staff avoided our room,there were no fresh towels, linen or anything else.Needless to say, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marx_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you just want a bed for the night and at a reasonable price, this Econolodge will do. My room was pretty drab and showing its age, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bath room was no more than adequate and the tub shower was pretty antiquated — but I managed.
The morning's continental breakfast was again adequate but unexciting. I noticed unopened baking goods stacked in cartons in one corner of the room. When I had breakfast the food counter had run out of bagels, and I had to settle for an English muffin. Just I was leaving an employee arrived, went to a supply box, and retrieved a package of bagels for the counter, but it was too late for me — and anyway, how long had those unopened packages been sitting there.
However staff members I dealt with seemed friendly enough.
My big reservation was with the security. You actually check in in a small office in a separate building at the front of the property on Arsenal Street. Then there's a long driveway leading to the buildings. At night you're very aware of their remoteness from the bustle of the street, also of the darkness. The positive side of this is that you're away from street noise. The negative side is that my building was wide open to anybody, not just registered guests. I would have assumed my building would have locked security entrances which could be accessed with my room key. But this was not the case. Especially at night an unwelcome intruder would therefore be able to freely, and without detection, enter the guest-room corridors. Potential guests, especially women travelling alone, would be wise to take note of this

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed here. When we checked in the person at the front desk was so friendly. Our rooms were clean. Some updates needed but for the price you pay it is great. Close to all shopping. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmiller93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The econolodge was affordable, close to shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is old and the rooms are "tired". The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. P{robably will not return here....


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel was not bad for the price we paid. It was conveniently located on Arsenal St. close to the Salmon Run Mall and other big box stores as well as many restaurants. The hotel has an indoor swimming pool which my Son and I really enjoyed. The complimentary breakfast wasn't the best as it did not include eggs, waffles or pancakes but that wasn't a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#8 of 16 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#7 of 16 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Watertown
Hampton Inn Watertown
#3 of 16 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1030 Arsenal St., Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing