We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Except For Breakfast Manager/Server” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Watertown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Watertown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Watertown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Except For Breakfast Manager/Server”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I rented 2 rooms at this hotel for Christmas Eve and Christmas night. It is a typical Hampton Inn . . . . . . . . that is to say: Nice rooms, clean and a friendly desk staff. A good value.

The Manager/Server for Breakfast the day after Christmas did manage to ruin my opinion of this particular Hampton Inn. The breakfast room was crowded when we went down. I soon found out that this was because many of the hot breakfast trays were empty. Yes, empty! It took a 20 minute wait to get the egg offering and during that time the bread and coffee stations ran out. Almost everything took a wait. Finally the young lady at the front counter, an Asian . . . . didn't get her name, came over to help. She helped fill the coffee dispensers, bread trays, etc. The lady who was the Manager/Server of the breakfast area kept moving at a deliberate and slow pace. I have never seen such slow breakfast service at a Hampton Inn. If it had not been for the young lady from the front desk, it would have been even more of a disaster.

There is absolutely no excuse for such breakfast service. Most of the items are precooked and need only to be warmed in a microwave. . . . . . and running out of bread and coffee . . . . . there is simply no excuse other than incompetence.

Don't get me wrong. I AM A HAMPTON INN FAN and I have stayed in 2 other Hampton Inns since this stay . . . . .

Room Tip: In any hotel, I always like a high floor since you miss the lobby noise . . . . . and request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogan_TA, Manager at Hampton Inn Watertown, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. I would like to apologize to you for your recent stay. There is no excuse for poor service during breakfast. I would like you to know that your review will be used as a training tool for our staff. This does not normally occur during breakfast, once again I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    89
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
109
111
19
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

room was bright and cheery had microwave and frig bed was very comfortable cost was reasonable breakfast was ok our first breakfast was scrambled eggs not good but I sent in a review and they assured me that that has been rectified the next 2 breakfast were omelets they were very nice other than that great place to stay not far from salmon mall and good restaurants especially the Texas Roadhouse

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The pillows were wimpy; they need to use a firmer pillow. Other than the pillows, the hotel has a great appearance and comes across as a higher-end hotel. The breakfast options included a bucket of real oatmeal while cheaper and lower quality hotels only offer packets of the instant. We chose this facility primarily because it is a no smoking facility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, NY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Was in like new condition and staff was very friendly. What more could you ask for? Quiet, good location. Only thing that sucked...was the weather, rain instead of snow! Cannot snowmobile in the rain!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogan_TA, Manager at Hampton Inn Watertown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of our location. We appreciate you staying with us during your snowmobile trip. Come back soon. we should have snow for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was staying at this Hotel when an intense snowstorm shut down most of the roads and stranded many people. The staff handled it great, very courteous and informative. They even went out to the grocery store to get some basics for dinner. Kudos to this hotel and staff for handling a difficult situation in a caring and professional manner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am so happy that I made the reservation to stay here for the 2 weeks that I was in town. The check in process was flawless and the staff amazing, from the frontdesk to the housekeeping to the breakfast attendants. Our room was very spacious and fit the needs of myself and son. The hot breakfast in the mornings with so many choices was a pleasant surprise. The cozy atmosphere of the lobby, with the fire always burning made it feel like home. Having the staff there with smiles on their faces always brightens the day. Thank you all for your great hospitality! When I do come back to the Watertown area, I will be making reservations to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogan_TA, Manager at Hampton Inn Watertown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our location. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your time in Watertown. We are glad we were able to make you comfortable, and be your "home away from home." We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We found this hotel to be very good value compared to others in the price range. It was very clean and up to date. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a waffle maker and hot oatmeal available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogan_TA, Manager at Hampton Inn Watertown, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations! We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Watertown

Address: 155 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#2 Family Hotel in Watertown
#2 Business Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Watertown Hotel Watertown
Watertown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Watertown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.