We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Watertown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Watertown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Watertown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We will be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Watertown is one of the better Hamptons that I've been to. It's relatively new and it's clean and the staff is great. It's not far from the highway and it's close to the major shopping outlets like Lowes, Kohls, Walmart, Home Depot, Salmon Run Mall, Harbor Freight and our favorite restaurant Texas Roadhouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    89
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
109
111
19
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niskayuna
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Super clean, modern, and extremely comfortable. We really like that most Hamptons now advertise that all bed coverings are changed and washed for each guest. We sometimes wonder about bedspreads in hotels, so this is reassuring. The staff here are very accommodating; the front desk actually volunteered to give us a lower rate than we had reserved it for. Breakfast is typical, but again the breakfast staff are very helpful and cheerful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with extra shelves in the bathroom. We will stay here whenever we visit our relatives in Watertown; I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I will warn you from the get-go - this is going to be long. We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Watertown for one night on the May long weekend (long weekend for Canadians) in a King bed Whirlpool room. Let me start with the positives of the stay. The bed in the room was very comfortable. The room was large and we appreciated having the mini-fridge. The hotel looked clean, and the room was clean. I liked that in the evening we could grab a tea and a muffin in the lobby if we liked. The breakfast in the morning is also delicious, and was one of the top breakfasts I've had at a hotel that included breakfast (aside from B&B's). If all Hampton's Inn have all of this, I will be staying in another one again (but not this location). As for staff, I liked Michael from housekeeping. He had the best attitude of the three employees we encountered, and when we asked if they had any playing cards at the front desk, he looked for us. He found no cards but did find dice, which we played with and returned. He was very easy-going and nice, and the minute or two of interaction I had with him far surpassed the experience of the interactions with the front desk staff I will describe below. Now for the bad: The main issue I had with this stay was the service, although there were a couple problems with the room. The shower stall doors were very difficult to open and close. The top wheel came off the rail and the door got stuck, and we had to jiggle and lift it to get it to go back on the track and moving again. Our friends were staying in the room above us and mentioned they had the same problem. In the whirlpool tub, the cover to the over-flow drain kept falling off anytime we touched it, which was surprising and got to be a little annoying. Our room also very strongly smelled of soap or baby powder perfume, which in a room with no window that can open, becomes almost suffocatingly stuffy. We mentioned this to the front desk when they called to see if the room was to our liking, and an hour later it still wasn't resolved. So rather than wait any longer for housekeeping, we said forget it. There was no other rooms to move us to anyway. Also we found the pool to be cold, like much colder than an indoor pool should be. I also didn't appreciate that in 303 where our friends were staying, they had a chaise lounge, and our room 203 had a big empty space. That would have been nice to have. Also the view out of 203 is terrible (enjoy the view of a wall and the roof!), but again I know that can't be fixed. Service was the big issue I had with this stay. It was very clear within minutes of walking in the door to the front desk, that the front desk agents had issues with one another. They were very short and snippy with each other, and one obviously had a hate on for the other, who didn't seem to care. The whole check-in process was uncomfortable and unprofessional. For example, one agent, upon seeing us come in and that he now had a line up, went to the back room to ask the other agent to come help as there was now a line up. The other agent says she has to count something, which prompts the first agent to clearly say under his breath in a very annoyed tone that that's fine, he'll do all her work for her. This made me and my friends give the surprised "Did he just say that?!" face to each other, as he says this clearly in front of all of the guests. Keep in mind that the lobby is very quiet and we can hear everything they're saying upfront and in the back room. They also had short interactions when I had to go back to the front desk about an hour and a half after check in because my payment information didn't register the first time apparently. While I can't remember their interactions in this instance as vividly as I could checking in, I remember that there was so much tension between them that I almost blurted out "Do you guys hate each other? Because your interactions are very uncomfortable from this side of the counter". While I could see that they both knew their stuff and I'm sure on their own or with other people they're great, but their interactions together was the most unprofessional and uncomfortable behaviour I have experienced as a guest at a hotel. It was enough for me to decide that I will never stay in this hotel again and I would not be recommending it to anybody that asks. I was definitely not satisfied with my stay, and it was not worth almost $200 for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay . The beds are amazing , we also enjoyed the pool and the complimentary breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel. This is the second time I stay in a Hampton Inn and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We highly recommend the Hampton Inn in Watertown. Our entire experience was fantastic from check in to check out. The hotel was incredibly clean and the rooms were beautiful! The bed and the linens were so comfortable and we found the rooms overly spacious. The pool and fitness rooms were fantastic and the kids had a great time! The complimentary evening snacks were overly generous and we couldn't believe how fantastic the breakfast was - for the price we paid we believe we received the best possible value in town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel met the usual standard we get from Hampton Inn. We always know what to expect. We need gluten free food, and were able to get this with the complimentary breakfast. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in town for the night and needed a hotel that was not booked ahead of time. Due to past experiences with Hampton we decided to see what the rate was upon arrival. The front desk staff and others treated us great and additionally, helped out by providing us with dishes and utensils when we brought in our late dinner meal. The hotel itself is clean and fresh as was the room. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Watertown

Address: 155 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#2 Business Hotel in Watertown
#2 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Watertown Hotel Watertown
Watertown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Watertown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.