We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stop for Weary Travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stop for Weary Travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were traveling from PA to Mt. Tremblant, Quebec and needed an overnight break. We picked this hotel because the write-up sounded good in the AAA book. We got very lucky. We got a AAA reduced rate, took advantage of the area of good restaurants, swam in the pool, used the workout room, enjoyed a delicious breakfast in-house, and felt refreshed to continue our journey the next day. We even got a goody bag of snacks which came in VERY handy! Would highly recommend. Susanne and Doc

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    91
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
92
81
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed one night while visiting family in the area. We requested a quiet, non pet, non smoking room on an upper floor. All of this was accommodated.
At check in we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady who very efficiently checked us in while mentioning the ammenities offered. This included ice cream bars until 7PM. Wow!
The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet.
This property really does recognize PriorityClub members with a goody bag waiting in your room.
We did not have breakfast here, other than coffee, but it appeared well stocked with many folks enjoying the free breakfast.
We will stay here again when in the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellleville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here one night on a shopping trip. Hotel was clean, staff friendly. Location is excellent and minutes from all the stores and restaurants. Breakfast was good...love the cinnamon buns. We are early birds and were disappointed that breakfast wasn't served til 7 on weekends. However, we came down at 6:40 and it was ready so that was great. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The only disappointment was that they don't have a hot tub. I guess I should have read the amenities more carefully but assumed that, since they had a pool, they would have a hot tub. I can't think of many Holiday Inns that I've stayed that had one and not the other. Also, I didn't think that the pool was very clean. The only other issue at this hotel is parking. There are very few spots at the front of the hotel. You have to park at the back and walk through the patio and the dining room to get to the lobby. Overall, its a good hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed with family and got 2 connecting rooms. Very spacious, good amenities, and good service. They have different pillow types which was great! Breakfast seemed OK although I only had an orange but kids liked it. Great location! (RATING: 4 out of 5)

When I went to the pool the kids were already in the water. This water looked smokey or hazy due possibly by poor filtration or bad water circulation or worse so I skipped that. (RATING: 1 out of 5)

OVERALL RATING: 3 out of 5 (only because of the pool water).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear 613_Tourist,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you liked our hotel location and room accommodation. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It is our regret that your stay was negatively affected due to the water condition in our pool facility. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of June 15, 2013. The hotel seems very new and is exceptionally clean and in good repair.

Our room was very spacious and well equipped with a host of different appliances. We stayed in room 415 and it had a deep whirlpool tub, a small kitchen sink, coffee maker, microwave, kingbed and other type amentities.

There is an ice dispenser and vending machines on all floors located on the middle of the floor near the elevators.

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Seth who we had at the point of our check-in. Ask the staff desk for choice places to eat and they may have discount coupons as they helped us out with this.

There are several nice resturants in the immediate area of the hotel and on the opposite side of the highway. Try the Bob Evans resturant, if you haven't been to one in the past you will really enjoy it.

If you travelling with kids this is a kid friendly hotel and although our kids are grown there was families there for a weekend stay and a swim in their pool.

There is a large Walmart Supercenter and the Salmon Run Mall if you like to shop. The Salmon Run mall has a JC Pennys, Dick's Sporting Goods and Sears.

I picked this hotel on a whim. There are several others all located close together although I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you perfer a bigger room ask for a whirlpool tub room. We were on the far side (parking lot side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Loved every minute. Staff was great. You can't ask for more. Our room was big and clean. One of the best hotels I have stayed at. Very close to the mall and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be staying here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Holiday Inn Express. Conveniently located. Super Clean Room. with very comfortable double size beds. We did not hear any traffic noise. Tried the pool which was great., temperature was fine for me. Nice touch was the cookies by the front desk, when we got back from a day out. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juices, available anytime.
Hot breakfast is included, with a good choice, including eggs, bacon, cereals, yogurt, cinnamon rolls and make your own waffles. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Eager to please when asking questions. Seth was very pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely book again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor, room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments! We are so pleased that we could provide you with an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Seth truly is an amazing ambassador for hospitality. We hope you will choose to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Address: 1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#2 Business Hotel in Watertown
#4 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Watertown, New York is where great experiences begin at the Gateway to the 1000 Islands . We are in the heart of the Watertown, NY shopping district and located near exit 45 just off of I-81. The areas finest attractions, including Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor and the St. Lawrence River, many local businesses, & Fort Drum are just minutes away. Our plaza includes Ruby Tuesday s, Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Ponderosa, Chipotle, Five Guys, Moe's, Cold Stone Creamery, Planet Fitness, Dollar General and a liquor store.Stay Smart with free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, free local phone calls, High Def TV & a guest business center. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast that includes hot items daily including pancakes and as always our signature cinnamon rolls. If you re on the run, pre-order a breakfast to go bag. Our Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee is available 24 hours in our Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-1000 Islands
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.