We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and each visit seems to get better. The hotel is very clean; the reception staff are welcoming and attentive; the houskeping staff constantly pleasant and professional. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful and the staff constatly restock the menu items. This is a great place to stay as it's close the the 81 if you are travelling. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    90
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
91
73
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We live within 100 miles of the hotel. We just needed a quick get away to relax and do some shopping. We booked the King Jacuzzi suite. It was beautiful. Worth every penny. Booking, checking it, and our stay went really well. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was yummy. It's conveniently located near lots of restaurants, shopping, the mall etc. The rooms were very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay if you are just passing through, or if you have need of being in Watertown for a few days. Very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to compose and share such a lovely review. We strive to make all of our guests' stays enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. We are fortunate to have such a genuinely caring and helpful staff who enjoy going above and beyond. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with two friends on Saturday night. We had shopped all day and decided at the last minute to stay the night. Got a good rate checking in and found out it came with a hot breakfast. We went out for dinner and came back to the room. We were awaken at midnight by the voices in the room next to us. The walls are so thin that it sounded like the people were in our room. There was some fight that had taken place and they were going over the details. Their cell phones were ringing and people were coming to their door. I called down twice to ask the hotel to let them know that we could hear everything they were saying. They offered to switch us rooms - why should i change rooms, I'm not causing a problem. They should have moved them. Woke up early int he morning and went for a breakfast. Went back to out room to check out. I may have been a little loud - I hope I didn't wake the neighbors :-)

Hotel was clean, comfortable beds and pillows and good location.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience; we appreciate the time and commitment it takes to to do so. We want you to know that your comments are carefully reviewed and are very important to the operation of this hotel. The way your noise complaints were handled is not this hotel's protocol....we typically investigate the situation and call the guests making the noise. Asking the caller if they would like to move is certainly not the avenue to have taken for which I apologize. Our established procedure has been reviewed and will be enforced. We certainly hope that you will choose to give us another opportunity to provide the kind of stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay, staff were all very accommodating, room was clean and comfortable. Will return in the near future. Great proximity to shopping and can walk to several restaurants as well. Only complaint is the new bank machine in the lobby doesn't recognize Canadian bank cards.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked the room from hotels.com and had no problem at all. Me and my wife drove up to get used to the area and the hotel is located in a great location close to shopping and restaurants. The check in progress lasted 10 minutes and we were the only people waiting. The computer system was really slow and it seemed liked forever. They had to swipe my card three times because their system was so slow and each swipe held $25. I did not hear this because I walked away but my wife said the gentleman checking us in cussed several times. I eventually came back right when he was finishing up and I saw the manager and she looked at me and just kept going. Even though she knew what happened because I saw her walk past a few times and she did not even come up to apologize. The room was clean, good sized, and the bed was a king and felt very good to sleep on. I do recommend that you request a room that is not facing the interstate because I could hear the vehicles especially the 18 wheelers. There is continental breakfast and I always say this no matter where I stay...the food is bad! It is processed and made somewhere else. The only good food in there would be the cereal, yogurt, bread etc. The coffee is not bad for a quick fix until you get your real coffee for those that are coffee lovers. But don't expect to get full off the food. Grab your fruit and cereal to hold you over until you get real food. They do serve cookies around 4 p.m or 5 p.m but I was not there for it. I did not see the pool or gym or anything else.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room that is not facing the interstate because you will hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your thorough and honest assessment of your recent stay. Rest assured your comments are very important to us and enable us to make improvements where needed. We are pleased that you found your room comfortable but terribly disappointed that your check-in experience ws so poor and that you found our buffet breakfast to be not of good quality. Please rest assured that your credit card was not charged $25 each time it was swiped, the staff made sure that it wasn't but the 'cussing' is categorically unacceptable and has been dealt with. As for the breakfast items, brand standards dictate what we can offer but there are things that our staff can do to make sure that they are kept fresh and hot all of which will be stressed at our next meeting. Please accept our apologies for your experience at check-in and we reassure you that action was taken based on your reivew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located right off the I81 exit.near many restaurants. Rooms were very clean, breakfast was decent. Easy check in and out. Good value. Refrigerator in room. I will stay at this motel on my next visit to Watertown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the concise review of your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and are especially pleased that you intend to utilize our hotel when in the area again. Loyalty is our greatest reward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Came for a night with our kids during the March Break. They upgraded us to a king suite free of charge..My only complaint was the pillows in the room- they were too small or something. I would just bring my own next time. The pool was warm, I could see it being crowded if the hotel was really busy, but it was great for us. Pool water was pretty cloudy- not sure if it was because of salt or something. Breakfast was awesome- and the staff was polite and on the ball.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your candid assessement of your recent stay. We appreciate all of your comments; they are helpful in so many ways. We are glad that you found your stay to be for the most part enjoyable. The pillows on our King beds are indeed small and will be upgraded over the next couple of months to king pillows. As for the pool, rest assured that it is kept up to the stringent codes mandated by the NYS Health Dept. All the proper sanitation and pH levels are maintained and tracked three times a day. After heavy usage though, there can be some cloudiness that doesn't present a health rise and that is easily corrected after the pool is closed for the day. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again during your next trip to Watertown NY! Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Address: 1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#3 Business Hotel in Watertown
#4 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Watertown, New York is where great experiences begin at the Gateway to the 1000 Islands . We are in the heart of the Watertown, NY shopping district and located near exit 45 just off of I-81. The areas finest attractions, including Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor and the St. Lawrence River, many local businesses, & Fort Drum are just minutes away. Our plaza includes Ruby Tuesday s, Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Ponderosa, Chipotle, Five Guys, Moe's, Cold Stone Creamery, Planet Fitness, Dollar General and a liquor store.Stay Smart with free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, free local phone calls, High Def TV & a guest business center. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast that includes hot items daily including pancakes and as always our signature cinnamon rolls. If you re on the run, pre-order a breakfast to go bag. Our Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee is available 24 hours in our Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-1000 Islands
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.