We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The rooms in this hotel are clean and the service is great. We stayed just one night but were very surprised that this Holiday Inn Express is so comfortable. The bathrooms are particularly nice and well stocked with good quality products - - even ear plugs! Everything worked and was easy to use. The breakfast choices were not so great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    87
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
88
71
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our family always stays at this HI Express when we're looking for a spot in and around Watertown. The hotel is always clean, service is quick and pleasant and we always know what we're going to get (no surprises). HI Express is a fairly simple hotel but the amenities are always easily accessible. Kids love the pool and we love the quick and easy breakfast. Located beside the Salmon Run Mall, it's perfectly located for shoppers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at this supposedly "green" Holiday Inn on a Beautiful/clear sunny day with a nice breeze. We wanted to open our room window and sleep with just the outside air for the evening. When we went to open the window, we found that the window was purposely designed to only open about 1-2", not allowing enough air to come into the room to cool it down. We called down to the front desk and they told us we had to use the air conditioner since the windows were purposely rigged not to open too much. We then tried to use the air conditioner for the evening and found it to be a cheap model where the fan went on/off all night, not allowing us to get too much sleep. When we checked out the next morning we were told that is a Holiday Inn property policy not to allow the window to open very much.

Are you kidding me - a grean hotel that doesn't allow you to open the windows and not use the air conditioning?! We felt like caged animals and not allowed to feel at home since we open the window there all of the time. I will NEVER STAY AT A HOLIDAY INN AGAIN due to this stupid policy!! Felt like - we are not allowing our stupid guests to open the window due to liability issues - again, are you kidding me - am an adult professional, not some stupid kid. Stay away from this and ALL Holiday Inns - they are back in the 50's policy-wise, not green anything....

Room Tip: Don't Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear STEBAY711,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. Many IHG properties are franchised, independently owned and operated. In this case, the hotel management and ownership determine their own policy regarding the opening of windows, this is not a policy effecting all Holiday Inns. IHG is not involved in the development of these individual hotel policies. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

New hotel just opened early Oct 2011. Nice property in very good location, sits right on the access to 81 N & S. Property has a small indoor pool and hot tub. 4 stories, on-site restaurant, business center, close to Salmon Run Mall and most of the newer restaurants in town.

Our room was typical Garden Inn - living room, separate bedroom, bath. Since it's new, there are no real negatives. Great sleep number beds. The staff is friendly, they cannot always answer your questions immediately but will get the answer within a short time. Restaurant serves breakfast buffet (however you cannot serve yourself the hot items) plus you can order omelets, french toast, other requests from the grill. Breakfast is $10.95 if not part of your room 'plan'. There is plenty to eat, if you order from the grill, it's prepared quickly and served very hot by one of the many servers. All are friendly having plenty of time to stop and visit with you. Did not eat there for lunch or dinner so cannot comment on those meals.

I would stay there again. All in all it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO RANCHO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were so surprised & made to feel so welcomed. Special goodie bags & towels folded in the shape of little hearts! Can you believe that from a Holiday Inn Express?! These were wonderful people & they ALL went the extra step to provide a great experience for their guest.
Thank you to the Watertown Holiday Inn Express! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the elevator. No smoking was such a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Would recommend Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown- New York Easy check in, very comfy beds and great pillows,Free breakfast was nice. Very clean and great location for shopping in Watertown NY

Room Tip: 1st floor room near the indoor pool can be noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This is a very beautiful place to stay. Staff is very friendly. The room was spaceous, clean and quiet. They were also decorated very nicely, not like a normal hotel room! We did request a room on the front side to stay away from the noise on I-81. Only problem was the extreme crowding in the breakfast area. Would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands

Address: 1290 Arsenal Street, Suite 1, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Watertown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watertown
#4 Family Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Watertown, New York is where great experiences begin at the Gateway to the 1000 Islands . We are in the heart of the Watertown, NY shopping district and located near exit 45 just off of I-81. The areas finest attractions, including Boldt Castle, Sackets Harbor and the St. Lawrence River, many local businesses, & Fort Drum are just minutes away. Our plaza includes Ruby Tuesday s, Starbucks, Buffalo Wild Wings, Ponderosa, Chipotle, Five Guys, Moe's, Cold Stone Creamery, Planet Fitness, Dollar General and a liquor store.Stay Smart with free wireless & wired high speed Internet access, free local phone calls, High Def TV & a guest business center. Begin your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast that includes hot items daily including pancakes and as always our signature cinnamon rolls. If you re on the run, pre-order a breakfast to go bag. Our Smart Roast 100% Arabica coffee is available 24 hours in our Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-1000 Islands
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.