We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Watertown for a bite after shopping!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
1283 Arsenal St, Stop 1, Watertown, NY 13601-2208
315-782-7828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 135 Restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Watertown for a bite after shopping!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Me and my wife also got the 2 meals for $20 deal as mentioned below. I mean, how could one go wrong? 2 selected entrees with an appetizer. We were accompanied with my parents and they got the same deal as well. Maybe it was an off-day but the onion rings were horrid. We expressed this to our waiter which he surprisingly agreed by just looking at the appearance of them and a 10min later arrived with a new batch. Unfortunately...it looked pretty much alike the previous batch. Anyways, no biggy, just stay away from the onion rings I suppose? Everything else was great value for the price. Me and the family go to Watertown almost monthly and we'll definitely be going back to this location. You have to understand...in Watertown, no offence, it's slim pickens for restaurants strangely. Recently Tripadvisor users named my Texas Roadhouse as the #1 restaurant...but refer to my review on that...couldn't be more opposite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The 2 meals for $20 was a great deal, which included a single appetizer and 2 entrees. Our server was very friendly however when he offered us extra sause, he did not mention that there would be an additional charge on that which ended up being 75 cents. However, overall we had a great dining experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Return visit disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Six months ago, we had a great meal. This time around, not so much. Main courses arrived soon after the appetizers, even though the server promised it would not happen. Asian chicken salad was smaller than usual, topped with chicken that was thinner, its coating dry and totally cold. Hopefully, it was a bad night, not an attempt to cut corners. On the plus side, the pasta with shrimp was well heated and excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been to many Applebees restaurants and the one in Watertown, NY is about average. The food isn't that good and with the other options in this town I probably would not go back here. The steak we ordered was really chewy and the server forgot our salad. We actually have been here twice now to make sure our first experience wasn't a fluke.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Service took a while. We sat for quite a while before our server acknowledged us. She was really friendly once she saw us, but we were already kind of turned off by the whole situation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.